Skip to content

FOUND! “Open Open Open.”

July 27, 2013

One thing about the internet is if you wait around long enough, eventually something you’re looking for will get uploaded onto youtube. For years I quoted the “open open open” lady from the Mervyn’s ads in certain contexts (like looking through a glass window) but eventually people stopped laughing and instead looked at me strange, they had no idea the reference.

I finally found the Mervyn’s lady!

and again here:

Ok, they’re not THAT funny, but they were pretty ubiquitous in Atlanta in the early 90s, so I’m glad they finally turned up. Now if I could just find that Pioneer laserdisc karaoke version of Charlene’s “I’ve Never Been to Me”……

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 29, 2013 12:16 pm

    I loved this “open open open” lady. I still say that when I get to the store before they open. It’s my “where’s the beef?”

Leave a Reply

