Skip to content

Wednesday Jukebox: Songs In the Key of Stevie

May 18, 2011

This past Friday was the 61st birthday of Stevland Hardaway Morris, better known to the world as Stevie Wonder. Given that last week we focused on Will Smith (who doesn’t mind a Stevie sample), it seemed like a good time to listen to the original source to help us get over the hump of the week.

It’s hard to pick one favorite Stevie Wonder song, or even a small handful of joints, but this is definitely on the shortlist of favored albums, period. If you’re looking to set the tone for a good weekend day, put this on first thing in the morning while making coffee, cleaning, or dancing in your PJs.

This was a karaoke standard for me for awhile that I’ve temporarily retired so I won’t stop loving it.

Here’s my favorite 60s Stevie……

…..and this is my favorite 80s Stevie.

A few weeks ago I posited that Wonder’s version of a classic Beatles song surpasses the original, and Snarky’s Machine recently reminded us of “jammin’ on the one.”

Happy Birthday, Stevie Wonder! I know this song was written for Dr. King’s holiday, but today you can give it up for yourself.

~~~~~~

What’s your favorite Stevie Wonder song, memory, or pop culture reference?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    May 18, 2011 1:12 pm

    I’m so glad you led with As! It is exactly my favorite Stevie Wonder song. I’m a big fan of the whole double album, which I still have in vinyl somewhere in the world, even if I only listen to it on my iPod now. When my sister had her first daughter in 1993, I made her a mix tape (I was young, okay?) and I led, of course, with Isn’t She Lovely?

  2. May 18, 2011 1:22 pm

    You read my mind. I was riffing on him this morning with this ditty:

    Great Wednesday Jukebox!!!

  3. May 18, 2011 3:59 pm

  4. May 18, 2011 4:01 pm

  5. IrishUp permalink
    May 18, 2011 4:30 pm

    Stevie Wonder could not have picked a better stage name! He really is wonderful. And “As” is also my favorite from SITKOL.

    Although I wasn’t even alive when Stevie first recorded “Fingertips”, I seem to remember seeing him do it on American Bandstand, or maybe Dick Cavett when I was a wee tyke, although I could be conflating memories. Anyway, a favorite song for my whole life:

  6. May 18, 2011 8:22 pm

    I love this song so much. Deep cut action from Stevie.

    I see you, Karen black.

  7. Grew Halmar permalink
    May 19, 2011 5:07 am

    What a fabulous video clip about Songs! It is exactly my favorite Stevie Wonder song. Thanks buddy 🙂

  8. unscrambled permalink
    May 20, 2011 5:01 pm

    “Sir Duke” is my brother’s favorite, so it is my favorite because I have a whole collection of memories of superfun kid living room dance parties. Can’t listen to the song without smiling, though that would probably be true without the memory attached.

  9. Q.V. permalink
    May 23, 2011 10:26 pm

    My worst most confusing break-up ever was when Gregory Charles’ Songs in the Key of Charles stopping running on CBC. The show was basically this intensely talented musician chatting through some great songs while singing and playing his favourite key changes, then he would spin the tune. Then he would chat and sing and play some more, then spin another tune. Stevie Wonder was his inspiration. It was usually on when I was driving 15 miles home in the dark after a double shift, and I’d continue to listen in my house while wondering what I’d have to do to be one percent the musician he was. Gregory, we will always have Radio One.

Leave a Reply

