Skip to content

Wednesday Jukebox: Big Willie Style Sounds Like My Mom’s Record Collection!

May 11, 2011

It’s hard to believe there was a time where Will Smith’s name above anything guaranteed fun. I Robot was the genesis of Smith’s Julia Robertesque “dour” period (Mary Reily and all those glum movies she made post Kiefer break up/Pretty Woman), and of his dour period I, Robot is bested only by I Am Legend in terms of bleak unwatchability. (I mean both are great, but well they ain’t ID-4!) The release of Men in Black III is still a year way, which is a long time to keep revisiting Smith’s more upbeat fare. More importantly, it’s been over five years since he dug through his mama’s record collection, dusted off a disco track and turned into a summer anthem. You know what? I kind of miss ol’ samplelicious Will. It was like getting two songs in one!

“He’s the Greatest Dancer” – Sister Sledge

Will used this cut to create his party starter Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It. I was never a fan of the original until Will sampled into to infamy.

“Forgetmenots” Patrice Rushen

You can easily determine the age of the patrons perusing the canned goods aisle based solely on whether they sing, “Send me forgetmenots” or “Here come the Men in Black”. Bounce wit me (bounce with meeeee!)

“And the Beat Goes On” – The Whispers

Interestingly, even though I have run many a fake flight of stairs at the gym listening to “Miami” I still can’t help but singing, “And the beat goes on…”. Probably because “Miami” feels as phoned in as “Switch” (even though I like that song!).

Are you eagerly awaiting the grand return of party starter Will? Or will you be eagerly awaiting Seven Pounds II?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 7:31 am

    summertime!

  2. May 11, 2011 9:16 am

    Whoa. That’s that joint one of the Rocky movies. I totally thought that’s what Big Willie sampled. I’ve always wanted to know what this Rocky song was!!!! Thank you.

  3. May 11, 2011 9:19 am

    Admire the spirit, but that song was kind of meh. The original is untouchable.

    Wait, I thought this song was about Trey????? Not Jaden. Oh no. That’s harsh.

  4. May 11, 2011 9:20 am

    Took an hour just to get the car seat in right…

  5. eieioj permalink
    May 11, 2011 9:44 am

    Let’s not forget his sampling of this:

    For this epic:

    I’ve actually been thinking about Wild Wild West lately, because I just saw Thor and had to explain to people who Kenneth Branagh was by saying “Remember the bad guy from Wild Wild West? Yeah, he’s a classically trained Shakespearean actor and director.”

    Awesome post!

  6. May 11, 2011 9:49 am

    I love “Wa Wa West” soooo much. I think it might be his most successful.

    it also samples…

  7. May 11, 2011 9:50 am

    Wild Wild West is available on instant, so I finally watched recently. I was thoroughly entertained, especially if you watch is as a steampunk film.

    Remember when Sisqo and Will Smith left Stevie on stage after performing at the MTV Movie Awards?

  8. May 11, 2011 9:53 am

    Remember when Sisqo and Will Smith left Stevie on stage after performing at the MTV Movie Awards?

    Yes! Awkward.

    Wild Wild West is good up until we’re force to ask the harsh question, “Why is that black guy running thing in oldie times?” and are answered with a mellow harshing monologue that Will looks uncomfy delivering and Kline looks uncomfy hearing. Everything was going right up until then. Will and Kevin had fabulous chemistry.

  9. IrishUp permalink
    May 11, 2011 10:02 am

    I was crushing hard on The Fresh Prince, when Will Smith got cast in “Six Degrees of Seperation”, and poof, stick a fork in me, I was done. I keep waiting for Will to find a way to blend the chops he shows at times (6DS, Ali) with the fun stuffs. “Enemy of the State” was right in there, but IDK, missed it by *that* much, somehow.

    I was sure that “Just the 2 of Us” was for Trey, too. Even says so on the Wiki, fwiw. That’s kind of a special song in my family b/c it came out right around when my dad passed, and we older sibs played it for baby bro.

    My fav from his DJ Jazzy / Fresh Prince days:

  10. May 11, 2011 10:07 am

    Oh whew. I was getting nervous. Sometimes I feel like Trey gets overlooked. He’s what like 24 now?

    how sad is it that Jada can’t even convincing act like she’s Will’s wife. She’s cute as a minute, but her acting isn’t much.

  11. May 11, 2011 3:22 pm

    I kinda liked Hancock, which managed to combine the dour with the funny. Also I thought Will Smith and Jason Bateman worked well together.

  12. Emmitt permalink
    May 11, 2011 3:44 pm

    Huge nostalgia moment right here. Big Willie Style was actually the first CD I ever owned.

    Also Hancock is the best thing Smith’s been involved with in ages. I kind of take it as a personal offense when people knock it and so I have to defend it as the smartest pop movie on race relations we’ve had in a while. Everything else Smith has done these last few years is a pandering piece of fluff. Come on, Seven Pounds? In the words of Uncle Phil: “Do I look like a white guy named Ward?!”

  13. May 11, 2011 3:46 pm

    I absolutely love Hancock, but it’s DOUR! Still, love the chemistry between all three leads and wonder if they’re going forward with the purported sequel.

    I won’t even touch Seven Pounds.

  14. May 11, 2011 5:54 pm

    I was really surprised by Hancock – it paid off not reading anything about it beforehand. I liked all the leads and the relationships were not run of the mill. The special effects weren’t good, but I was intrigued by the story. I tried to watch Seven Pounds but got bored about seven minutes in. A serious case of “I got better things to do!” made me switch to something else on Netflix.

  15. evmaroon permalink
    May 11, 2011 6:19 pm

    Seven Pounds depressed the hell out of me, and The Pursuit of Happyness bummed me out for the rest of the day. Yes, I am really looking forward to MIB III!!

Leave a Reply

