Skip to content

Quick Pats of Butter: Look Once, Think Twice

May 3, 2011

~ The news has been flooded with fervor surrounding the death of Osama bid Laden and I have my filter shields up full power to help deal with the chaos, so only news from trusted sources gets let in, like my friend Jerri who tipped me off to this bit on GossipCop.com about Dwayne “The [Trademarked] Rock” Johnson:

Johnson tweeted, “Just got word that will shock the world – Land of the free… home of the brave DAMN PROUD TO BE AN AMERICAN!” What’s interesting about Johnson’s excited tweet is that it came roughly 45 minutes before news confirming bin Laden’s death began leaking to media outlets.

Damn, The Rock really does show up everywhere and knows everyone.

~ For my fellow map aficionados out there, the History Channel has a new show premiering tonight called How The States Got Their Shapes, which is about, well, smart reader, you can figure it out. I am all over this idea, but I’m less geeked about it being hosted by Brian Unger. That guy has been on cable getting on my nerves since the 90s. Couldn’t they have gotten AJ Hammer instead? Well, perhaps my heart will soften to him if he does a good job in handling the topic.

~ OMG Paul Thomas Anderson has announced his new film and it’s a volcano movie!!!! Oh wait, my bad, it’s actually Paul W. S. Anderson (director of the Resident Evil flicks). I get those names mixed up a lot, though not their work. Now I want to make a mash-up film: There Will Be Zombies.

~ NeNe Leakes and her emotional sledgehammering got Hope cut from Celebrity Apprentice this week, La Toya Jackson made a case to be re-hired, and Richard Hatch who was voted off a few weeks ago was just sent back to prison for tax violations. As a newbie to the franchise, I was not expecting such entertaining melodrama. If you watch the show, I promise that not only is it a particularly riveting season in what stars’ personalities are being revealed, you would be highly unconcerned about Trump’s presidential bid or any of the other nonsense surrounding it. But maybe that’s just me, who also remembers the awkward hosting of SNL by Steve Forbes years ago.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 12:07 pm

    Steve Forbes! FLAT TAX, bitches. I am so fascinated by the Arnoldification of The Rock. It’s like he took that metaphorical baton toss in The Rundown seriously! Brian Unger is so incredibly annoying. Man, I have missed, “Quick Pats of Butter”!!!

  2. evmaroon permalink
    May 3, 2011 12:16 pm

    I suppose it’s going to take a while to really unpack all of the shitstorm around bin Laden’s death. Already we’ve swapped birthers for “deathers” and I’ve got far-flung relatives asking to “see the body.” Sure, I’ll watch a show on how the states got their shapes, if only for the likelihood of revisionist history. Maybe I can start a list of how propaganda-ized each state’s story is!
    Oh my god, I’m too jaded even for myself…

  3. May 3, 2011 12:29 pm

    I’ll watch a show on how the states got their shapes, if only for the likelihood of revisionist history

    say more? I would assume this program is less about the history of the state itself, and more about showing specifically how boundary lines emerge organically, and then how governments bodies either validate or eradicate these determined boundaries of communities.

    maybe I’m a sucker for trusting the History channel at least a little bit, it’s based solely on enjoying their show Life After People.

  4. May 3, 2011 12:30 pm

    Thank you for being my “what happened on that Apprentice panel?” news source! (hahaha). Although, this Sunday was the first time I flipped over to it (20 minutes before the end), and the newsbreak for the other situation was a welcome moment of dramatic tension. I’m not sure how long I could stand to watch Star Jones roll her eyes into the back of her head.

  5. evmaroon permalink
    May 3, 2011 12:46 pm

    @raymondj: I’m just guessing, really. I watch a decent amount of the History Channel myself, but lately whenever I see anything about US history, it’s smacked of a bit of whitewashing [sic] to me. I’ll give the show a chance, I swear!

  6. May 3, 2011 12:48 pm

    the week before last’s episode was MUCH better, this one was hard to see Leakes be so clumsy and vicious. I kinda wish she would hire me to be her personal coach, I feel like whenever I see her get into it on TV, I’m thinking of how she could have played a situation better and to her advantage.

    Call me, NeNe!!

  7. May 3, 2011 1:02 pm

    Sure, I’ll watch a show on how the states got their shapes, if only for the likelihood of revisionist history. Maybe I can start a list of how propaganda-ized each state’s story is!

    According to the press release it’s just going to be about their shapes and it doesn’t seem to be as concerned with whatever dramedy contributed other than to acknowledge it existed. Frankly, I’m looking forward to learning about the borders without all the charged baggage that comes with it. It can be draining on a POC who is also somewhat of a map nerd.

  8. May 3, 2011 1:06 pm

    I wish I had History Channel just to see this show on the state borders. I wonder if there is a book. I’m curious to see how much natural landmarks played a role – out west it certainly has!

  9. evmaroon permalink
    May 3, 2011 1:06 pm

    @Snarky: I’m looking forward to the show, because I love maps, too! And their 4-color minimum standard.

  10. IrishUp permalink
    May 3, 2011 1:52 pm

    YAY for QPoB!

    Won’t Hawai’i be getting the short-shrift there? Then again, this will make a nice change from the xtian-y “Shroud of Turin” “Noah’s Arc FOUND” stuffs History Channel has been in to.

    “What’s interesting about Johnson’s excited tweet is that it came roughly 45 minutes before news confirming bin Laden’s death began leaking to media outlets.”
    I guess The Rock can smell what Obama’s been cookin?

  11. May 3, 2011 2:16 pm

    @IrishUp – heheheheeeee.

  12. May 3, 2011 3:23 pm

    I love anything to do with maps. My favorite part of the old American History books was watching how the US map changed. At least, until I learned that there were, yanno, people living in most of those places already.

  13. angie permalink
    May 3, 2011 3:31 pm

    i wish nene would call you. xoxoxoxo!

  14. May 3, 2011 3:48 pm

    I just realized I had a typo that totally change the meaning of my Celebrity Apprentice report – NeNe got HOPE cut from the show, so next week will be more showcase showdowns.

  15. Q.V. permalink
    May 3, 2011 4:16 pm

    That map show idea is out of control, I am so curious about the landscape and political reasons for the surveyed boundaries. My hometown is built on a swamp because land speculators bought up too much of the original townsite (which was not a swamp) and made it too expensive to build there.

    Maps with borders are interesting. They are like a single frame in the filmstrip of colonization and conflict. Just this morning, while putting together a kid’s world map puzzle, I decided we should try to memorize bodies of water instead of borders.

  16. May 3, 2011 6:30 pm

    Maps with borders are interesting. They are like a single frame in the filmstrip of colonization and conflict.

    Even though I wish the show could just be about maps and borders, I am curious to see how things will be handled. History channel tends to be dispassionate so at least it will approach factual accuracy.

  17. Lani permalink
    May 5, 2011 8:39 pm

    I once read that Oklahoma got its panhandle because a surveying error left that strip of land un-stated. The Texas borders had already been finalized, so the US government just stuck that bit on the end of OK and called it a day. Wikipedia has a much more factual and less entertaining version of events. I wonder how the show will handle it!

    (Pun not intended but I suppose it’s worth a har har anyway…)

  18. May 6, 2011 3:09 am

    LOL at “handle”.

Leave a Reply

