Skip to content
5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 1:43 pm

    Oh, I LOVE him! My favorite performance of his is in the awesome Flirting With Disaster, which is just FULL of amazing performances. But he plays the straight laced, gay cop with such tenderness! And he’s damn funny. I may need to watch this again today… I couldn’t find the scene where he and Josh Brolin play good cop/bad cop, but here is the trailer…

  2. April 30, 2011 4:06 pm

    Omg, I totally forgot he was in that. I love that movie too! Awww Mr. Jenkins!

  3. May 3, 2011 11:10 am

    One of the things I loved about The Visitor was how based on the preview, the cover, the plot synopsis, it could easily have been one of “those movies”, some serious message film with superficial grasp of whatever issue they’re purporting, but because it was Jenkins, I gave it a chance, and I’m so glad I did, the film is much better than expected.

  4. tanyadiva permalink
    May 3, 2011 5:43 pm

    Yes yes yes on Flirting With Disaster!! What a great lost movie.
    He makes everything better….

  5. AnthroK8 permalink
    May 21, 2011 9:08 am

    So. I did my fieldwork on refugees and asylum seekers, many of whom were pegged for DEPORT-O-RAMA. When I saw the Visitor I was recently back from the field. And I LOST MY SHIT. Like, cried and cried and cried. It was what you might call close to home movie watching.

    So, I love the film because of that. In a Can’t Really Watch It Often way. I feel that way about Hotel Rwanda, too.

    Interestingly, I saw the film with my roommate at the time who is a lovely person and was a different place at the time than me. Her reponse to the ending was “why didn’t he go out and become a raging activist and CHANGE THE WORLD??!!”

    And I thought, “no, the ending of that film is perfect.” For one thing, that is how immigration and human rights intersect. All the Nice White Activism you can muster as an individual is as a ripple of sand against an incoming wave. That is what happens when a well intentioned person with privilege who is used to getting stuff done because systems are made for them tries to get something done in a system that doesn’t care about their privileges.

    And also, I think that personal transformaton of Jenkins’ character is so nescessary for him to go through first before whatever kind of system-changing super-heroism my roommate expected him to do is even to be hypothetically possible.

    I would be interested to know how a person of refugee status/ asylum seeker reacted to the film- no one I asked had seen it. I should make a point to ask more people next time I have a chance. Because, I expect in a lot of ways that shock of “IT’S NOT FAIR” that audiences of Jenkinses had would be… old news, I guess, to them.

    I loved him in that film. Without him, the script wouldn’t have had the impact it really needed to shine. It’s my favorite Richard Jenkins performance, for personal reasons. But I do think it’s also one of his strongest.

    Fun Fact I Found Out: The dude who wrote The Visitor was That Journalist on Season V of The Wire. David Simon: his tentacles are everywhere.

Leave a Reply

