Skip to content

Who is that Actor: Salli Richardson-Whitfield

April 24, 2011

Like Rihanna and Deborah Cox, I am more familiar with Salli Richardson-Whitfield from her various coifs – thanks to black hair care magazines I consume – than her better known profession, which is acting. In fact the first time I was innately aware of Richardson-Whitfield was in her brief appearance as Will Smith’s wife Zoe in the film I Am Legend! Yet her, IMDB page boasts an impressive number of credits dating back to the early 90s.

When I first became aware of her I assumed she was simply relegated to duties as the “pretty black wife” on both the small and big screen. To some degree that seems her fate on the big screen, but on the small screen Richardson-Whitfield’s range is better reflected in a diversity of roles, including her current on the SyFy series Eureka.

I think my favorite Salli Richardson-Whitfield tidbit is her hosting duties (with her husband) for Time Life’s Zestify Midnight Soul infomercials!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 9:47 am

    you said Zestify.

  2. April 24, 2011 9:59 am

    It is absolutely one of my new favorite words.

  3. evmaroon permalink
    April 24, 2011 3:21 pm

    Is that what I do when I’m grating a lemon rind? Thanks for the post, Snarky, I remember seeing her around the pop culture universe but don’t know a thing about her … until now.

  4. Kia permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:34 am

    I first noticed Salli (and her cute short haircut) in a CBS show called Family Law. I really liked it at the time but wonder if it would hold up.

    And she’s married to one of my first celeb crushes-Vanessa Huxtable’s Robert!

  5. April 25, 2011 11:38 am

    KIA!!! Oh snap. She married to ROBERT! That’s awesome.

  6. April 25, 2011 11:39 am

  7. April 25, 2011 11:50 am

    I hum this song about once a week.

  8. April 25, 2011 1:39 pm

    Robert (Dondre Whitfield) hasn’t aged, like, at all.

  9. April 25, 2011 2:00 pm

    I know, right! It’s pretty scary. I wonder if his voice still cracks when he gets around a girl he likes.

  10. May 3, 2011 8:01 pm

    I remember her and Jada Pinkett (pre her turn as three name celeb) vying for K. Wayan’s “affections” in a Low Down Dirty Shame. Affection had nothing to do with it in Richardson’s case though.

Leave a Reply

