Skip to content

5 Artists Who Should Sing the Next Bond Theme

April 21, 2011

As the Bond 23 production chugs along at its notoriously secretive pace, there has already been mention of who should sing its theme, a highly coveted honor previously bestowed on musical luminaries including: Shirley Bassey, Tom Jones, Lulu, Duran Duran and Gladys Knight. While the previous two themes have been met with mixed to negative reception, it hasn’t been enough to dampen the anticipation for serious Bond enthusiasts. Critics were tad kinder to Chris Cornell’s bad ass “You Know My Name” than Jack and Alicia’s inspired “Another Way to Die”, I think both were on the right track. Cornell’s track hits me in all the right Bassey places. As for Jack & Alicia it’s as saucy and frustrating (in a good way) as Lulu’s “The Man with the Golden Gun”.

1. Bjork – Bjork is my front runner. Honestly, I can’t figure out why she hasn’t been tapped to sing a theme. You don’t necessarily have to be a Bjork or Bond fan to see this is a marriage made in musical heaven. A mid tempo ballad a la “Nobody Does it Better” all Bjorkified would be brilliant. Actually, I’ve always thought “Hyperballad” sounded like a Bond theme!

2. Prince – Oh the royal purple one has been raising his profile whether it’s through his well publicized aversion to technological advance or his electrifying performances. Ten years ago or even at the height of his 80s fame I wouldn’t have suggested Prince, but as he’s transitioned into Denny’s Early Bird special eligibility I am becoming more fond of him singing a Bond theme.

3. Grace JonesFrom Bond Girl to Bond theme singer? How cool would that be? Oh sure, us Grace-o-philes talk a good game when it comes to defending our idol against the slings and arrows of outrageous Gaga conflation, but we need something else! We need our Grace shutting down a “Moonraker” like slow jam!

4. Seal and Sade duet – Oh please, what did you think “Kiss From a Rose” was, if not an inescapable, heavily rotated audition. And Sade. Well what is there to say? But Seal and Sade together? It might tear a hole in fabric of time and space, but I’m willing to risk it.

5. Shakira – One of the hallmarks of a good Bond theme singer is international appeal, a distinct style and talent! What has long been lacking, however, since perhaps P-Mac’s “Live and Let Die” is FUN! Shakira could bring a bit of unabashed hip shaking fun to the classy, sometimes stuffy proceedings. La lo la lo la la, indeed!

Honorable Mention – Siouxsie Sioux!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 10:24 am

    So I was all set to come in going ‘Bjork!’ after we were talking about this yesterday, but holy guacamole, Grace Jones is the one. I don’t know why I didn’t think of that. Ooooh yes.

    To add another name to the mix, though, Robyn? She can do some interesting things with that voice and I could definitely see her rocking a slow ballad with just a hint of sauce.

  2. April 21, 2011 10:26 am

    I second the nomination of Bjork. She’s got world-class appeal, she’s fun, and she’s got a powerful set of pipes that could do justice to a bombastic theme. Plus she could even write it — Army of Me was pretty close already, imo.

  3. April 21, 2011 10:31 am

    @s.e. – Robyn is a great choice. So many people want to toss out whatever new hotness is out there without really reflecting on the Bond legacy! I might have to add Rob Zombie. Ha.

  4. April 21, 2011 10:46 am

    I agree with all of these! They’re perfect. I’m coming up with my own songs for them in my head. Bjork: “The Innefable Mister Cold Slacks!” Prince: “Panty Spy” Grace: “Beautifull Killer”… This is fun!

    Not just because it’s his birthday, but I think he has the fun factor going on too. IGGY POP! Reunite him with Bowie to produce and do back-up vocals and get Iggy crooning again. It could be delicious.

    My female dream Bond singer is Ann Magnuson! I can already see her rocking a red velvet dress and balancing that fine line between homage and half-assed cheeze.

    Others:
    Kim Deal
    Aloe Blacc
    The Tindersticks
    The Strokes
    Janelle Monae
    Jarvis Cocker

  5. April 21, 2011 11:28 am

    Oh! I was all team Bjork as you know but Grace Jones. I mean, GRACE JONES. I would love Janelle Monae doing this too, but not before THE GRACE JONES. I have no eloquence around anything Grace Jones.
    I’m sorry Bjork, as much as I would adore you being shot from a giant gun wearing something feathered while singing the Bond theme in your inimitable style, you’re just not Grace Jones.
    It seems the number of times I say her name directly correlates to my stomach butterflies at the idea.

  6. April 21, 2011 12:28 pm

    Not just because it’s his birthday, but I think he has the fun factor going on too. IGGY POP! Reunite him with Bowie to produce and do back-up vocals and get Iggy crooning again. It could be delicious.

    I was thinking about Mr. Pop as well. He made #11 on my list. I’m also kicking myself for not naming The Strokes. Elegant, trashy and classy in a Bondian sort of way. Poplife, as always you keep me on my game.

    @Octavia – Bjork and Jones are who really got the party started for me in terms of thinking about how to make a slamming track. Either one would be delicious. I think they’d probably even do a pretty smashing duet!

  7. April 21, 2011 1:01 pm

    A wonderful chorus of Grace Jones, Bjork, Bowie and Iggy Pop… Though I suspect that would cause the actual film to be a let down.

  8. April 21, 2011 1:55 pm

    @Octavia – HA! So true. so true.

  9. marlene permalink
    April 21, 2011 2:06 pm

    Shakira. Hands down.

  10. April 21, 2011 6:00 pm

    I’ve been jonesing for a Bjork Bond theme after hearing this years ago:

    now excuse me while I go add this to the other post about covers!

  11. April 21, 2011 6:48 pm

    Annie Lennox!

  12. April 21, 2011 9:45 pm

    this is her gothy audition for it.

  13. April 21, 2011 9:49 pm

    Omgoth, it’s like the goth For your eyes only!

  14. April 21, 2011 10:08 pm

    I totally had the cassingle.

  15. Q.V. permalink
    April 21, 2011 10:13 pm

    @raymondj Stop it! We can’t pass ourselves off as 25 if we are talking about cassingles!

  16. April 21, 2011 10:15 pm

    are you kidding? I’m so excited that I get to be a crotchety grandpa in my 30s!!

  17. April 21, 2011 10:16 pm

    Cassingles! I won’t even front. When I jettisoned my physical music collection I kept most of my LPs and ALL of my cassingles. One day someone will covet Swing Out Sister (who’d also be great for a bond theme) “Notgonnachange”

  18. Q.V. permalink
    April 21, 2011 10:49 pm

    I once paid $4.95 for a song (and worked an hour to make that) and now I won’t buy a single thing from iTunes. I’d rather listen to the radio and cruise garage sales for cassettes going for 1/100th the price they were new in 1992.

  19. April 21, 2011 10:53 pm

    yes!!

  20. April 21, 2011 11:04 pm

    Is it just me or does everyone have the cassingle for “Another Night” by Real McCoys?

  21. evmaroon permalink
    April 24, 2011 3:23 pm

    Bjork, definitely! Does anyone around here think that Portishead could set up something sweet for Bond?

  22. April 24, 2011 7:50 pm

    Bjork, for sure.

  23. Q.V. permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:06 pm

    I read from an unreliable and easily-edited-by-anyone source (perhaps you’ve heard of it?) once that k.d. lang has already been involved in a Bond project, just hasn’t done the titles. My standards for representation in pop culture have plummeted, it might satisfy me for someone who is not a real Eskimo (but has played one on screen) to be so honoured.

Leave a Reply

