Skip to content
25 Comments leave one →
  1. aliciamaud permalink
    April 11, 2011 9:47 am

    One of my favorite Six Feet Under moments (though I have many) is from Back to the Garden, when Claire comes down the kitchen stairs, spies Ruth gazing out the window and singing along to the Joni Mitchell tape, and has this moment of deep realization that her mother is so much more than she had ever considered–a three-dimensional person with an inner life Claire is not always privvy to, a woman who still holds the girl she once was inside her, a human being who might feel slighted by Claire’s choice to idolize her aunt instead of her mother.

    I felt the song choice (Woodstock?) was perfect, and the small moment of wonder for a daughter that a mother is a human being completely seperate from her child–not just intellectually understanding that, but knowing it in her bones–was one that really resonated with me.

  2. evmaroon permalink
    April 11, 2011 12:27 pm

    I love when the Mom got addicted to that self-help group and started using houses as a metaphor for her life, and nobody understood what the hell she was talking about. And I love Liv Tyler’s toilet.

  3. April 11, 2011 12:48 pm

    @Ev – “I’m speaking fiercely from the I!” Ruth was my favorite character. I couldn’t help it. I loved her hokey mix of bitterness and optimism. I loved how old fashioned she was while also being interesting in opening herself up to new ideas, experiences and people.

    Do not get me started on Joanna “Logan’s Run” Cassidy. She was so fabulous as Brenda’s hyena of mother I wished she’d gotten her own spin off.

  4. April 11, 2011 12:50 pm

    Also, I LOL’d because I was watching an second season ep of Dirty Sexy Money and noticed that Nate Fisher was arguing his case before that house metaphor self help guru from season 2 of SFU.

  5. April 11, 2011 12:52 pm

    “You’ve reached David and Keith. We’re too gay to come to the phone right now!”

  6. April 11, 2011 1:32 pm

    Yes, aliciamaud! I think SFU did a particularly good of exploring the complex relationships between parents and children as they age and learn more about each other. I really feel like one of the things the show did best was character growth; the characters weren’t trapped in amber like they so often are on television and we really got to see them evolving.

  7. aliciamaud permalink
    April 11, 2011 1:38 pm

    Totally. I remember watching that scene (and others) and feeling real pride for Claire, in that “oh, little sister is growing up” way.

  8. April 11, 2011 2:38 pm

    ok, let’s just go there and post the infamous finale. in case any fans need to cry a little this Monday!

  9. April 11, 2011 2:43 pm

    I loved the Landmark storyline too, Ev. And Alicia, I had forgotten about that scene between Claire and Ruth, until you mentioned it, I loved it too.

    One of my other favorite parts of the series is how I took turns loving or hating a character, sometimes from episode to episode or season to season. I mean, I never really hated them, they would just annoy or frustrate me. The ability to show all the sides of (most) all the characters is why I felt so personally connected to the show, which I feel is the mysterious greater sum of all the technical craft pieces (storytelling, directing, acting).

  10. aliciamaud permalink
    April 11, 2011 4:24 pm

    I will have to wait and watch that after my mascara has been washed off for the evening, and I have one more appt. to go…but I remember the sweetness of laughing through sobs at the perfectness of Brenda slipping away while Billy was still blathering…so, I guess, noticing that not EVERYONE changed for the better…or even at all.

  11. evmaroon permalink
    April 11, 2011 4:35 pm

    Ah, Billy. Billy, Billy, Billy. Played to perfection. I kept expecting him to snap when he did his turn on Law & Order.

  12. hsofia permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:07 pm

    Oh wow, this was a great show. I stopped watching right at the beginning of season 3 or 4 – I got tired of Brenda and Nate’s relationship and had a hard time watching them tear themselves and each other apart. But a year later I resolved to give it another go and enjoyed the rest of it.

    Favorite episodes – oh … gosh. I enjoyed seeing Claire with that self-absorbed art school boyfriend played fantastically by Ben Foster. He was hilarious and so ridiculous. Her break up scene with him was awesome.

    I also liked everything having to do with the mom, Ruth. I just loved Ruth. She made me think of my own mom a lot in how she is the hub that keeps all the spokes of the family together. I loved when she did unexpected things and fell in love and took LSD, and chastised everybody.

    And I enjoyed Claire a lot. We’re nothing alike and her attitude drove me nuts in the beginning, but I grew to love her. Ruth, Claire and Federico were my favorites. When Rico demanded to be let in on a piece of the Fisher family action, I was like YES! I thought he should have played more hardball. When he screwed up with his marriage, I was all NOOOO. Then he and Vanessa got back together – YES! I am pissed that we don’t see Freddy Rodriguez in more things. Same with the dude who played Keith – where the hell is he?! The racism in this industry … Keith was pretty hot. I always looked forward to seeing him. I dated a guy for a while who looked very much like him, which was probably why it took me too long to end it.

    Also, the episodes with Rainn Wilson as that creepy student, LOL.

  13. hsofia permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:08 pm

    Also, the ending of the show – still makes me verklempt. I have that song on my “Top Rated Playlist” of my phone so it plays a lot when I’m driving. It still breaks my heart that they have Keith die by violence. I just feel like he shouldn’t have gone out that way. Another black man down.

  14. aliciamaud permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:51 pm

    @hsofia–I was so sad about Keith’s demise, too. But when David is at the picnic in the finale and glances up and sees him there? That look on his face is the entire reason I have not yet watched Dexter, though many friends have told me to. I just can’t bring myself to do it.

  15. April 11, 2011 9:54 pm

    Dexter doesn’t ruin David! Michael C. Hall inhabits each character quite differently. That look Keith gives him when he catches the football is always where the tears well up for me, too.

  16. Hsofia permalink
    April 12, 2011 12:55 am

    I got choked up too when elderly David sees a young Keith catching the football. They were soul mates. Michael C Hall is great as Dexter. He is totally different. I’ve seen him on stage, too, and he is totally different. A truly terrific actor.

  17. aliciamaud permalink
    April 12, 2011 7:04 am

    Ok…maybe I will give it a try after all…it’s not that I doubt his talent…just my ability to let go of the past character…it’s a hangup for me with characters I fall in love with, like, say, Robert Duvall forever being Augustus McCrae.

    Then again, as beloved as he is, I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone say Duvall “inhabits each character quite differently”. (:

  18. berdawn permalink
    April 12, 2011 11:14 am

    “is that some Quaker thing? you bring a casserole after you fuck someone’s husband to death?”

  19. AlwaysDad permalink
    April 25, 2011 1:46 pm

    I missed out on the SFO series when it was on. I just finished watcing the series and I can;t seem to find enough to satisfy my emotions on ther series. I loved the characters, and their development over the 5 seasons. I’ve been on You Tube Daily to watch the ending. In all my years I’ve not found a better ending to any show, or one that has stayed with me so strongly. The scene where David sees Keith catching the football and the look on Keith’s face so so amazing. It was like he was right there with him all the time, and he would be there with him in his death and for the rest of their beings. Thats what I saw in one look. I loved the show, and hope more of the characters end up on Tv or movies more often.

    I was also a huge Dexter fan before the show, and Michael Hall made me quickly forget he was Dexter.

  20. April 25, 2011 5:23 pm

    Ha. Dwight and Ruth were one of my favorite awkward couples on the show. I also was kind of weirded out, yet fascinated by Nate and Lisa. It was such depressing pairing, yet it made sense given Nate’s inability to commit to anything and as a result ending up getting ensnared in some bullshit.

    Billy and Brenda used to work my nerves, but eventually as they started to create separate lives for themselves I liked them both a lot better. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Brenda’s mom, who was always so hilarious and mean and inappropriate.

    But a special place in my heart goes to Brenda’s hooker friend, Melissa played by Kellie Waymire who died suddenly in 2003! She was so darling and sharp on Six Feet Under.

  21. April 25, 2011 10:57 pm

    Kelly Waymire died? Oh that is so sad. I didn’t realize that.

    Also, I think it was Ecstasy (not E) that Ruth took by mistake.

  22. April 26, 2011 8:08 am

    I was about to tease you for not knowing that E is Ecstasy, but then I realized it was just a typo, you were correcting your earlier comment saying it was LSD! and yeah, I believe it was E and not acid that made its way into the aspirin bottle.

  23. April 26, 2011 9:13 am

    Did they ever really reveal who really took it? It seemed like it was a running joke on the show. Someone would take aspirin (or what they thought was aspirin) and get all lovey with the rest of the family.

  24. April 26, 2011 2:10 pm

    raymond – yeah, I meant (LSD) not (E) in the follow up comment. I hate when my corrections need corrections, but only for about a second.

  25. April 26, 2011 2:26 pm

    next time I’ll just wield my editorial power stick and fix it!

Leave a Reply

