Skip to content

Wednesday Jukebox: Show Us Your Saxuality

April 6, 2011

Yeah, I said saxuality. What, you forgot that hit song from Candy Dulfer‘s album? This week’s jukebox theme is pop/rock songs known for their delicious saxophone solos. I’m not talking about John Coltrane, Earth Wind and Fire or even Kenny G; I’m talking about songs without a primary horn section that decide in a moment of overwhelming passion and fervor to let a horn blower take a verse or a bridge, to lay all that emotion out on the line in the most earnest way possible. Oh sax solos, irony killed you, but hasn’t deemed you worthy of resuscitation….yet.

Let’s drop the needle and see what sax solos we have for you.

Gerry Rafferty passed earlier this year on January 4th, so this song got a brief bump back up into the internet consciousness then. Most everyone knows this song, just not the name. And despite it bringing back strong sense memories of Miami Vice episodes, this classic saxophone track is actually from 1978! Rafferty had a vision and we just followed it.

The next year Supertramp followed Rafferty’s lead and put a sax solo in the middle of this hit.

Which Hall and Oates song with a sax solo should I choose?? I went with this one, because I still like to play people the opening bars of this next to the opening chords of Stevie Wonder’s Part-Time Lover and make them guess which is which.

Remember Sting? I mean, ok, he’s still around having lots of hot sex with his wife, which is awesome, but I can’t say I’ve intentionally listened to his music since the 90s. Fun fact: Brandford Marsalis is the one playing the horn on the track.

Everyone was hot for Michael Hutchence, but I always had a crush on Kirk Pengilly – then again, I’ve always preferred nerds over bad boys.

~~~~~~~~

What are other favorite pop and rock songs with saxophone solos? I know Billy Joel has about 10 of them!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 9:48 am

    Sax at 2:12!

  2. April 6, 2011 10:23 am

    Omg I totally owned Candy’s album. She had a song called “Peaches”.

    Gerry Rafferty!

    This is a great Wednesday Jukebox.

  3. April 6, 2011 10:28 am

    I couldn’t resist! Sorry :(!!!

  4. April 6, 2011 10:32 am

    Clarence!!!!!

  5. April 6, 2011 10:33 am

    This sax solo always makes me think of La Mommie turning the corner into the driveway of Kiddie Kampus.

  6. IrishUp permalink
    April 6, 2011 10:40 am

    Great stuffs! I was going to post Quarterflash too! I’ll take Duran Duran’s “Rio” instead (comes ~2:56)

  7. April 6, 2011 10:41 am

    ugh, I hate how all the videos are restricted. why do they even let us think it’s “embeddable”?? Trying to find replacements….

  8. April 6, 2011 10:47 am

    I have to find this website that lists and critiques sax solos from a saxophonist’s perspective. I stumbled upon it in the middle of the night months and months ago while looking for something else. The only thing I remember what they said about “You’re a Friend of Mine” which was: “It’s more of 80s solo in a saxophone song!”

  9. April 6, 2011 10:49 am

    Wow, I forgot how blaring the saxophone in this song is. How come both George and his gf have Lady Di hair?

  10. April 6, 2011 10:49 am

    I’ve always liked this sax-heavy 80s hit from Men At Work:

    I love the cheesy, cringe-worthy, early-days-of-MTV video — complete with awkward cameos by all the band members who are not the quirky and charismatic Colin Hay.

  11. evmaroon permalink
    April 6, 2011 10:51 am

    Maneater! Ahhhhh! Nice one, Raymond! I was gonna clamp down on Careless Whisper myself, and then, there it was. How about this slow burner?

  12. April 6, 2011 10:53 am

    Glenn Frey! Back in the day, I used to think that was him doing Baker Street, actually.

  13. April 6, 2011 10:57 am

    I’ve played that Quarterflash video twice already this morning. How many more before lunch?

  14. April 6, 2011 11:09 am

    I love an obnoxious sax intro. That video is like someone put every early 80s video cliche in a bag, shook the bag and then poof: video!

  15. April 6, 2011 11:12 am

    I’ve always thought the sax was intrusive and cheesy in this song.

  16. IrishUp permalink
    April 6, 2011 11:43 am

    How can I forget “Forget-Me-Nots”. I was mad Will didn’t keep that great sax for “Men In Black”…

  17. IrishUp permalink
    April 6, 2011 11:46 am

    Snarky’s, was this it?
    http://imacomputa.org/sax/

  18. evmaroon permalink
    April 6, 2011 12:15 pm

    I love Harden My Heart, but I’ve never seen the video before, and whoa, I forgot about the whole weird videos of the 80s era! Raymond, I hope you’ll consider a post on that. Anyone remember Owner of a Lonely Heart?

  19. April 6, 2011 12:15 pm

    OMG. YES!!!! The writer is sooo snarky in the best way possible: backed with experience in the field.

  20. Salom permalink
    April 6, 2011 1:55 pm

    Does “The Wanderer” qualify? Cause if so that’s mine.

  21. Salom permalink
    April 6, 2011 1:57 pm

    Hmm. Maybe this will work?

    and if not,

  22. April 6, 2011 4:03 pm

    Dion!! Classic sax solo.

    Also, @IrishUp, one of my favorite lines: “Unmemorable song + Super dramatic sax solo = Success.”

  23. unscrambled permalink
    April 6, 2011 4:11 pm

    My first thought was “Careless Whisper,” and naturally this prank, a potential candidate for That Meme You’ve Been Ignoring.

  24. April 6, 2011 4:24 pm

    @unscrambled – LOL!

  25. April 7, 2011 3:45 am

    Lovely party!

  26. April 23, 2011 11:46 pm

    this sweet sax solo popped up on my ipod today.

Leave a Reply

