Skip to content

Take a Walken on the Wild Side

March 31, 2011

If you’re wondering what’s up with the clustercuss of celebrity birthday posts I should tell you as an aries, we are definitely a self centered bunch when it comes to birthdays. For example, it might be Thursday to you, but for me it’s the most important day of the year: my birthday. Now there are certainly numerous celebrities who share this dubious distinction: Al Gore, Richard Chamberlain, Ewan McGregor, Herb Alpert, TV’s Mr. Feeney and TV’s Mr. Kotter. While each of them is special and possibly demanding in their own right, I pretty much think it’s the coolest thing in the world I happen to share a birthday with Mr. Christopher Walken. I mean does anyone dislike this dude? He makes us laugh, he makes us cry and he makes us scared to get into car with him on a long, dark night.

Walken winning his Oscar for The Deer Hunter. It was one of those wonky years where there was no other acceptable winner besides Walken. Haha. Even when being earnest, it’s like he’s parodying himself. Who loves you, baby – indeed!

My favorite scene from Annie Hall. It makes me laugh so hard. I’m sure I’m not supposed to be laughing at the absurdity of the situation, but damn it is sure hilarious.

I could watch Walken dance all day. I don’t know what it is about being born on March 31st that makes folks want to dancing for no reason any time and any place

It’s kind of played out, but for the 2 people who haven’t seen this SNL skit, it’s pretty freaking hilarious. It’s hard to pick just one SNL skit of Walken’s, but this is probably my favorite. Explore the space, baby!

Walken strapped himself into some serious interesting blond hair to play the Bond villain to end all campy Bond villain in A View to a Kill. I’ll leave you with my favorite Christopher Walken quote ever.

    “IN THE BOND movie I had my hair dyed an impossible yellow color, and that became my motivation in a lot of scenes: I had a secret subtext, which I never discussed with anybody. Every time I had a scene with somebody I’d be thinking: What do you think of my hair? Do you like my hair? Do you like what they did to me? That they made me look like this? So next time you see the movie, every time I torture somebody I’m really thinking, You see what they did to me with this hair?”

Happy birthday, Mr. Walken!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 7:49 am

    …I am never going to be able to watch View to a Kill the same way again.

    Happy birthday!

  2. March 31, 2011 9:23 am

    Happy Birthday fellow Aries!

    Love the video for “Weapon of Choice.” It always takes me back to that weird twilight between the 90s and the 00s.

  3. unscrambled permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:59 am

    I love this video of him cooking.

    I feel like Raymond showed it to me? I love the fact that the man has a regular ass kitchen, and clearly loves food. AND he’s an Aries? Hell yes!

    Also: he was one of the only things that made the way too tropealicious (The Irish–They’ve Suffered So + every gangster movie cliche minus any Marty-style stylishness) yet entertaining enough “Kill The Irishman” worth watching–redbox quality otherwise.

  4. March 31, 2011 11:08 am

    Also: he was one of the only things that made the way too tropealicious (The Irish–They’ve Suffered So + every gangster movie cliche minus any Marty-style stylishness) yet entertaining enough “Kill The Irishman” worth watching–redbox quality otherwise.

    LOL. So true. I will watch anything with Walken. It always goes, “Ooh, Christopher Walken’s in it. How bad can it be? I mean his part will be good.”

    Have you seen The Maiden Heist? It’s adorable! Good cast. Small film. tropelicious, but a cute little film.

    It’s as cute as the trailer makes it seem.

  5. March 31, 2011 11:28 am

    yay Aries! one of my favorite Walken performances is as the detective in Scotland PA – there is a scene of him playing the maracas that I think about and quote all the time, but I can’t find a clip of it! I might have to get the movie and upload it myself.

  6. March 31, 2011 11:32 am

    He’s the only reason I watched The Country Bears movie.

  7. Lani permalink
    March 31, 2011 12:02 pm

    Snarky, just when I think you can’t get more awesome you go and reveal that you share a birthday with Christopher Walken. Happy birthday fellow Aries!

  8. March 31, 2011 1:13 pm

    I know a lot of people don’t like the musical version of Hairspray but it did have some wonderful performances, including those by Walken (as Wilbur Turnblad) and the Queen (as Motormouth Maybelle).

    A twist or a waltz, it’s all the same schmaltz…

  9. unscrambled permalink
    April 1, 2011 5:36 am

    Snarky: looks adorable (AND it has Marcia Gay Harden–who I should have posted about on the post w/r/t the awesomeness of Damages, given her smoking hotness)!

    Yay for Aries and our birthday self-obsession!

  10. Q.V. permalink
    April 3, 2011 10:39 am

    Happy Birthday, Snarky’s Machine!

    And, not to go all CBC goldfish on you, but Richard Farnsworth was nominated at the same time as Christopher Walken? Matthew from Anne of Green Gables?!

Leave a Reply

