Skip to content

Wednesday Jukebox: Pay No Attention to the Gibb Behind the Curtain

March 16, 2011

The Brothers Gibb have come to be associated with their polarizing disco domination of the mid to late 70s, but often overlooked is their stellar song writing abilities. These cats can write them some songs. Even songs you didn’t realize were in fact theirs! Case in point…

“Islands in the Stream” To be sure, Kenny and Dolly took this song and made it their own, but a careful study reveals all the Gibbtasticness contained in each note of music and infused into each lyric.

“Love You Inside and Out” Back when I could still tolerate Nip/Tuck, I flipped out when I heard this cover of “Love You Inside and Out”. Feist’s voice is breathy and brilliant. It embodies everything Barry Gibb (and co.) envisioned for the song.

“Chain Reaction”. I’m seeing Diana, but I’m hearing nothing but Barry Gibb. It’s not just the backing vocals; it’s everything from the intro, verses, bridge, chorus and fadeout. It’s pure Barry Gibb. I totally do that Diana Mahogany arm thing whenever I walk through a pair of double doors. How could I not?

“I Just Wanna Be Your Everything” Big brother Barry penned Andy’s classic silky disco hit from 1976. Andy shut it down too! RIP Andy Gibb.

“Heartbreaker” All three brothers had a hand in Dionne’s biggest smash of the 80s. Damn, doesn’t she still sound fabulous? The Bee Gees originally wrote it for themselves but passed it along to Dionne, who they were huge fans of. I like their version too.

“What Kind of Fool” Of course, I’ve got the Babs and Barry angle covered! From the iconic 1980 album Guilty.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 10:57 am

    Damn, that Dionne clip from just a few years ago DOES sound great. Heartbreaker is a karaoke favorite. And that Feist cover is what pushed me over the line into calling myself a Feist fan!

    This is also one of my favorite Barry Gibb-penned songs, that I appreciate for merging both Frankie’s and Barry’s styles together.

  2. March 16, 2011 11:03 am

    I think Barry wrote this one for Andy too?

  3. March 16, 2011 12:33 pm

    Miss Dionne makes it looks so damn easy. It might just be the warm up suit she’s wearing. Snap. I didn’t know they penned “Grease”. I knew there was a reason it’s my favorite song by Frankie Valli and from the soundtrack!

  4. March 16, 2011 12:43 pm

    Also, Everlasting Love is my favorite Andy Gibb song!!!

  5. March 16, 2011 12:51 pm

    Couldn’t resist this one!

    I see you, powerful key change.

Leave a Reply

