Skip to content

Who is That Actor: James Remar

March 15, 2011

James Remar

While there are no shortage of worthy candidates for the series, often times I find myself falling back on the same dude: James Remar. But instead of going with that instinct, I tell myself to “save” Remar for a rainy day. Well guess what, folks – it’s RAINING! I put a call on twitter for suggestions expecting to hear names like Richard Jenkins, Michael Beach, Bruce A. Young, William Sanderson, Jane Adams or – from the old schoolers – everyone’s Italian mama, the late great Julie Bovasso. Instead much of the feedback it was overwhelmingly Remar centric.

From @ash966:

James Remar does tend to materialize in 88% of the pop culture I actively consume. From The Warriors where he played the vest sans shirt clad Ajax:

And homeslice has been in just about everything. In a month’s worth of pop culture consuming I spied Remar in:

The Cotton Club
A 9th season ep of The X-Files
48 Hours
An episode of Walker, Texas Ranger
RED
the 9 minutes of Jericho I could tolerate.
CSI: Miami (actually the only episode of this particular outpost I’ve ever watched)

Handsome in a deliciously smarmy way, Remar tends to play handsome, deliciously smarmy characters. One of my favorites is of course, that cheeky bastard of a boyfriend Richard he played to the hilt on Sex and the City. In a sweet and moving scene:

Oh how I loved Richard and Samantha together. Some of the most hilarious Richard moments come from the fifth season episode entitled “Luck Be an Old Lady” (one of my favorite episodes of the series). But my favorite Richard moment is:

Nobody takes a $10 drink to the face as charmingly and hilariously as James Remar!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 10:07 pm

    Can I nominate Roma Maffia and Colleen Camp and Margo Martindale for this series? I feel like I see one of them on every single show or commercial or movie. And big love for James Remar, who I occasionally confuse with Michael York. The suave hair! The cheekbones!

  2. hsofia permalink
    March 16, 2011 1:08 am

    @MsPeel – Margo Martindale! I had to look up the name, but that face I’ve seen everywhere!

    I like James Remar a lot. He has that look of a person who is being 80, maybe 90% honest but wants you to believe it’s 100%. And his last name tickles me, for some reason. I keep thinking there must be more to that name than just Remar. I just saw him in a few episodes of Battlestar Galactica, where he played a sidekick to the character of Tom Zarek – he tried to scheme against Apollo and … lost. And he’s very good in Dexter – again, not telling the whole truth, but with the earnest eyes.

  3. March 16, 2011 12:55 pm

    I have stayed away from Dexter for fear it might be too gory and graphic for me, but with this Remar situation, I might have to give it a tumble!

    Roma Maffia is on my list! Rest assured! She’s coming up.

  4. March 16, 2011 1:09 pm

    It definite has gore, but it’s also highly stylized which makes it less graphic (to me), and one of the most interesting parts of Dexter for me is watching someone with deep trauma walk through the process of recovery. When I started the pilot, I was doubtful I could ever see David as a killer because of my affection for Six Feet Under. But now it’s harder to remember Dexter used to be a gay funeral director.

    Remar is especially good in the first two seasons of Dexter, but they weren’t writing him very well in season four (or whichever season that was with John Lithgow, I don’t watch the show ‘live’), his character was annoying me, almost as much as Rita.

  5. hsofia permalink
    March 16, 2011 1:16 pm

    @raymondj – exactly everything you said! I can’t deal with too much gore, so in the first few episodes of Dexter I had to close my eyes if I even felt like anything was happening. Season 4 has John Lithgow; season 3 had Jimmy Smits. I LOVED Season 3.

  6. evmaroon permalink
    March 16, 2011 2:04 pm

    It’s Dexter’s Dad!!!! I’m with Raymond and hsofia on this one…there was a lot wrong with Dexter in season 4 outside of John Lithgow’s amazing performance, but it’s not Remar’s fault. Terrific tribute, Snarky!

    Gotta go watch Red again now.

  7. April 1, 2011 5:03 pm

    I’ve had a crush on Remar since I saw the Warriors as a kid. I’m glad he’s still working even with his shirt on.

Leave a Reply

