Skip to content

Who is that Actor: Stacey Travis

March 13, 2011

If you recall the scene in Ghost World where Steve Buscemi’s character attempts to eat ice cream while his real estate girlfriend tries to get him to dance to Ashford & Simpson’s “Solid” in her showcase showdown furnished apartment then you have seen Stacey Travis.

Here’s Travis, in familiar snooty lady territory in Julie Brown’s “Girl Fight Tonight” video. I love this song.

Travis always seems to show up as a nervous spouse, concerned citizen or a pushy busybody. She also seems to spend a lot of time with a, “it’s smells like feet” look planted on her face. I don’t know what it is about her face, which is pleasant, that compels casting agents to put this classically trained actor in so many bit parts, but there it is.

By far my favorite Travis appearance is in Bandits where she plays a nervous hostage who puts saffron in her spaghetti sauce, dazzling Billy Bob Thornton and sobbing at regularly scheduled intervals.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 4:46 pm

    She’s wonderful! I loved her performances both in Bandits and Ghost World, but (as I do with a lot of character actors) I never realized she was the same person. Looking at her IMDB entry, I noticed she had a (presumably small) part in a film with Gene Hackman called Heartbreakers. I’ve never seen this but I know you’re a big Hackman fan, is this worth watching?

  2. March 15, 2011 5:06 pm

    Ooh. I don’t think I’ve ever seen Heartbreakers!

  3. Jewel permalink
    March 15, 2011 7:59 pm

    Very good idea to profile all these actors I see all the time and don’t learn their names. You could do a whole month on OZ characters, I just saw JK Simmons in an insurance ad.

  4. City Dweller permalink
    May 26, 2011 10:55 pm

    I think Stacey is always great, I loved her in Ghostworld and caught some TV work where she was held hostage on ‘The Riches’ and was excellent. I saw her most recently in’ The League’ playing a judge that was into S&M with Nick Kroll and a small film I caught on cable with John Malkovich playing Kreskin called ‘The Great Buck Howard’. Stacey was very funny in role as a dingy clueless anchorwoman on a morning show driving Malkovich crazy. She should be on something we can see every week like Weeds or a one hour drama as she could bring edgy humor.

Leave a Reply

