Skip to content

33 Days: 5 Winners Who Should Give Their Oscars Back!

February 23, 2011

Robert Redford – Directing – Ordinary People As much as I love Bob and as much as I love OP, Martin Scorsese directed the hell out of Raging Bull. Still cannot believe Uncle Marty was DENIED!

Jamie Foxx – Acting – Ray Jamie Foxx rode a wave of sentimentality sweeping through the 77th Academy Awards. Unfortunately, the more deserving winner – Don Cheadle – was completely washed away.

Alan Arkin – Acting – Little Miss Sunshine Arkin the father is a treasure to be sure, but his work in Sunshine was no match for the tour-de-force performance given by Mark Wahlberg in The Departed

Tom Hanks – Acting – Forrest Gump Another Oscar? Oh please. This award rightfully belongs to Mr. Morgan Freeman for his work in The Shawshank Redemption

Penélope Cruz – acting – Vicky Cristina Barcelona This award had Viola Davis’ name all freaking over it. Sorry, Penny.

I know you have your own favorites so fess up!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Emmitt permalink
    February 23, 2011 11:14 am

    I’m just going to spit it out- Juno for Best Original Screenplay. In my fantasy world, Ratatouille was the actual winner.

  2. February 23, 2011 11:21 am

    I’m just going to spit it out- Juno for Best Original Screenplay. In my fantasy world, Ratatouille was the actual winner.

    Ha. Amen.

  3. evmaroon permalink
    February 23, 2011 2:53 pm

    I’m with Emmitt!

    I’d have picked The Crying Game over Unforgiven , easy.

  4. February 23, 2011 3:24 pm

    I think the narrative is a smidge tighter in Unforgiven and the direction was much much better. But in terms of performances, it’s a dead tie in my book. though I think Whitaker and Davidson are a bit stronger supporting ensemble than Hackman and Freeman. Still overall, in keeping with my rules of winning a Best Picture, Unforgiven holds up a lot better on recent screenings than The Crying Game, because the Crying Game wagers all of its emotional heart on the “surprise” which distracts from the emotional weight of the story, which was incredibly compelling.

  5. February 23, 2011 3:26 pm

    I should also note I do not like Miranda Richardson and I love westerns. So that should be factored in as well.

  6. evmaroon permalink
    February 23, 2011 3:36 pm

    My gosh, you made an excellent case, Snarky. Maybe I’m overly negative on Eastwood, who is one of my least favorite directors out there. And I like a good Western, I swear. In fact, I’m thinking of hosting a Western movie marathon this spring… any recommendations?

  7. February 23, 2011 7:10 pm

    I’m right there will you, Ev. I want no part of Eastwood unless there is a western, monkey or grizzle cop on the screen.

  8. Joanne permalink
    February 24, 2011 10:00 am

    It took me until about 6-7 years ago to appreciate Mark Wahlberg as an outstanding actor and finally move past the Marky Mark days (and underwear ads). He’s amazing, and he did shine in The Departed.
    Thanks for the great comparisons!

  9. February 24, 2011 11:04 am

    I would have echoed the Crying Game/Unforgiven part years ago, because I LOVED the Crying Game seeing it in the theaters as a relative naive young’un, but I think now I find it sort of terrible and offensive and don’t want to see Stephen Rea vomit when presented with a trans person he supposedly cares for.

    I do second Viola Davis, that one made me pretty mad. Here are some others!

    Melissa Etheridge needs to hand that Best Song Oscar over to Henry Krieger for “Listen” from Dreamgirls. I was so mad that Dreamgirls let three songs get nominated to dilute the vote!!

    Also that same year, Children of Men should have won best cinematography. I love Pan’s Labyrinth too, it deserved art direction and make-up, but CoM had WAY better camerawork and shots, including the “one-take” scene of the shooting in the car.

    Speaking of Forrest Gump, would we choose that movie now over Pulp Fiction or Shawshank for best picture of the year? Not likely.

    Robin Williams shouldn’t have won for Good Will Hunting, which was basically a grown-up version of the character he played in Dead Poets Society – I wanted Robert Forster in Jackie Brown! That same year, Julianne Moore was robbed of Boogie Night and it went to Kim Basinger in La Confidential. She was doing a Veronica Lake impersonator and happened to be well-lit! C’mon people! I know I frequently think Moore is robbed, but that one is the most egregious.

    Gladiator should hand back every Oscar, I’m not even bothering to look up what else was that year, but I know there’s something better.

    Oh! Adrien Brody! He has been fooling people, the best role I saw him in was this past year’s Predators when his ham complimented the dish. He shouldn’t have won, it should have gone to Jack Nicholson for About Schmidt (in exchange for his As Good As It Gets trophy).

    damn, I love this topic.

  10. February 24, 2011 11:12 am

    Robin Williams shouldn’t have won for Good Will Hunting, which was basically a grown-up version of the character he played in Dead Poets Society – I wanted Robert Forster in Jackie Brown! That same year, Julianne Moore was robbed of Boogie Night and it went to Kim Basinger in La Confidential. She was doing a Veronica Lake impersonator and happened to be well-lit! C’mon people! I know I frequently think Moore is robbed, but that one is the most egregious.

    Ding ding Ding. Couldn’t believe Forster was denied like that. That was completely messed up.

    Agree on The Crying Game too. Rea pretty much plays the same character in every one of his early 90s appearances with the exception of Ready to Wear, Unforgiven is still incredibly watchable today. I haven’t watched The Crying Game since it was released in theaters.

    Julianne Moore is forever robbed. I don’t understand it at all. Magnolia was Oscar worthy, Boogie Nights (of course ) and her work in The Hours was much more interesting (to me) than Kidman’s.

  11. ediesuperstar permalink
    February 24, 2011 4:33 pm

    Besides Gladiator and Forrest Gump (both of which I think should never been nominated for anything), I think that Gwyneth Paltrow should hand back the Oscar she won for Shakespeare In Love (SIL). Kate Blanchett was clearly robbed. Also SIL should not have won Best Picture, Elizabeth was clearly the better film. And Alexandra Byrne was robbed for costume design (for Elizabeth) as well. If you don’t remember, SIL won for best costume design.

Leave a Reply

