Skip to content

Your Friday Five: Exciting and New

February 18, 2011

Weekends are never fun/unless you’re around too

This is my biggest band crush in a looooong time. XOXOXOXO

Next week, I’ll finally revisit 2010 and drool all over the albums and songs that I really dug now that they’ve all had a chance to sink in. This week though, here are five new burners for your ipod, discman, turntable, and tape decks. New and upcoming stuff to get you excited about making a list for 2011.

  • Tyler Jon Tyler – This is the kind of band that I wished littered every other suburb’s garages. Adorable, slightly pissed, and catchy as that stinkin’ cold that knocked me on my butt for three days straight. Blogs are knocking each other over to fling comparisons at these kids, but forget all that because the songs are really, really good and I think Tyler Jon Tyler are more than the sum of their influences. The proof is in the youtube pudding: Two vids, because I love these guys.
  • “Weekend” by Smith WesternsJesusgod, it looks like three extras from a Gregg Araki movie walked into a magical mall and were blessed with a Class 7 Hot Dog on a Stick Spell for heightened abilities to rock some power pop. I don’t ever want to go back to high school ever, except when I’m listening to this song. (F you EMI, let people listen to some damn music so that they will BUY IT)
  • The Cave Singers have a new album coming out next week! So here’s a teaser tune from the new slab. They’ve expanded on their sorta modern high lonesome folk rock (man, I hate myself for typing that, but that’s what popped into my noggin) by adding choirs and a warmer production feel. I’ve been riding my bike around back streets listening to this album quite a bit. Excited to get my mitts on a copy of this on shiny vinyl.
  • How awesome is it when someone you’ve admired since you were in high school continues to be a class act AND pump out really fantastic art? Well, thank you, PJ Harvey, for being that person. The new album came out this week. And it is fantastic.
  • I Fry Mine in Butter faves Cut Copy also have a new platter out to get your toes tapping. “Take Me Over” is Cut Copy burping out what could have been a She’s So Unusual B-Side. Pure fun and synth smiles. You can check out their newest video at Vimeo, right HERE. (I fully endorse any video that features dudes doing the awkward shoulder dance in front of some synthesizers and keyboards. Nice visual Olan Mills twist too.)

BUY MUSIC/BUY ART/SEE SHOWS/CHECK OUT AN OPERA/GO TO A GALLERY/MAKE THINGS/FEED YOUR SOUL

(It will pay you back. I promise.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 1:55 pm

    Recs for new listening material are always excellent. So easy for me to get into a rut. And I’m stoked to see PJ Harvey still bringing it after all these years.

  2. February 18, 2011 2:40 pm

    I really showed my age in this post! But it’s ok, I believe the children are the future…

    PJ has had her fair share of caca over the years, but man, her signal to noise ratio is so good!

  3. February 18, 2011 3:07 pm

    I love when an artist has been on my mind for a few days and then I learn they have a new album out! It’s like I could hear the cosmos whispering PJ Harvey’s name…..

  4. February 18, 2011 3:22 pm

    @raymond: Yes! Wouldn’t it be cool if the cosmos’ voice sounded like PJ Harvey?

  5. evmaroon permalink
    February 19, 2011 9:15 am

    Poplife, your recs are an ever-increasing percentage of my iPod…thanks for these!

  6. February 20, 2011 12:04 am

    I’m going bonks for that Cut Copy single. Oh man. I didn’t think anything could touch Bright Like Neon Love, but this is taking me everywhere I wanna go!

  7. Irma Veep permalink
    February 20, 2011 6:50 pm

    I haven’t heard of any of these people. I have been looking for new music, so thanks, Poplife.

Trackbacks

  1. Tyler Jon Tyler / Blog Archive / Shameless, reviews, interview

Leave a Reply

