Skip to content
13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 11:02 am

    Definitely The Devil Wears Prada–I wish the Best Actress award would go to more comedic roles in general. Also I recently re-watched The Bridges of Madison County and she was was fantastic in it. I

  2. February 2, 2011 12:34 pm

    I thought she was fabulous in her half of Julie and Julia, which I will only watch again in an edited “Just Julia” version. Stanley Tucci was also outstanding.

  3. eieioj permalink
    February 2, 2011 12:52 pm

    I thought she was fabulous in her half of Julie and Julia, which I will only watch again in an edited “Just Julia” version. Stanley Tucci was also outstanding.

    Yes to this. A thousand times yes.

  4. April permalink
    February 2, 2011 12:55 pm

    don’t really get the Meryl thing. She plays the same character in most movies and isn’t good at being comedic. she’s annoying and overhyped.

  5. February 2, 2011 1:46 pm

    I thought she was fabulous in her half of Julie and Julia, which I will only watch again in an edited “Just Julia” version. Stanley Tucci was also outstanding.

    Third this. I wish someone would come up with a DVD cut of this version.

  6. metermouse permalink
    February 2, 2011 2:50 pm

    I know this isn’t really “oscar material” but I love her in Death Becomes Her. She seemed to really have fun in that role. I haven’t seen the movie in ages though, I wonder how it holds up…

    Oh and I totally agree with the Julia only version of Julie and Julia! I was so excited for the movie to come out and I just couldn’t understand why everyone was like “yeah… it’s good-ish” or “it wasn’t BAD”, then I saw it, no wonder! Half the movie is horribly annoying! As if you need a blog as a reason to make a movie about Julia Child, that woman was amazing!

  7. February 2, 2011 3:15 pm

    Meryl and Tucci should make more movies together.

  8. February 2, 2011 3:21 pm

    Chiming in to say agreed about a “Just Julia” version of the Julie and Julia. When I re-watched the movie, I just fast-forwarded through all of Julie’s scenes anyway.

    Have Meryl and Tucci made other movies together besides J&J and Devil Wears Prada? I feel like they have but can’t remember what (if any).

  9. hsofia permalink
    February 2, 2011 5:30 pm

    I actually like Amy Adams as an actress, but the Julie part in Julia and Julie – who CARED?

    Also, I am not as gaga over Meryl as most others seem to be, but my favorite role of hers is probably Silkwood. Her character in Adaptation made a strong impression on me. I like her best when she’s unpleasant.

    Re: Death Becomes Her – I keep confusing it with She-Devil and honestly can’t remember which is which or if they had different plots. But she was fun in at least one of those movies (possibly both). I’ve seen too many snoozefests and stinkers with her in them, though … House of the Spirits, Music of the Heart, and even though I haven’t seen it, I’m going to say Mamma Mia.

  10. Lani permalink
    February 2, 2011 7:45 pm

    @hsofia: I love her in Silkwood too, and Cher as well as Snarky mentioned in an earlier post. Really like that movie in general, but it’s one of the Requiem for a Dream type for me (ok, not quite that bleak) where I find it hard to rewatch.

    Also agree with everyone about The Devil Wears Prada and Julie and Julia. And metermouse, I’m with you–why not just make a movie about Julia Child?? She’s way interesting on her own, no need for other stuff in the way, ugh.

    Snarky, thank you for calling out that Australian accent, though. As much as I love Meryl, that accent is ATROCIOUS.

  11. February 3, 2011 8:59 am

    omg, don’t you hate on Mamma Mia! I could watch Meryl dance in overalls for days.

  12. February 3, 2011 1:04 pm

    Love Momma Mia, but can’t abide what Meryl did to a defenseless Aussie accent in Cry in the Dark.

  13. February 3, 2011 4:27 pm

    I couldn’t even get through that movie in one sitting, it was too distracting.

Leave a Reply

