Skip to content

33 Days: The Enduring Myth of ‘You like me, you really like me’

January 25, 2011

[33 Days is the length of time between when Oscar nominations are announced to day of the kudocast (Feb 27). During the next, um, 33 days I will bring you a different Oscar related film, performance, script or controversy. The emphasis will not be on lengthy analysis of any entry, but a brief summarization of my thoughts on the topic.]

“You like me, you really like me” is the oft erroneous paraphrasing of Sally Field’s Best Actress acceptance speech for the 1984 film Places in the Heart. Similar to the another often misquoted iconic line, “Greed is Good” (actually Gekko said, “Greed FOR A LACK OF A BETTER WORD is good.”) the more familiar misquote obscures the meaning, intent and impact of the actual quote. read the rest…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 3:51 am

    It is funny how these “famous” quotes get misquoted. Although Sally was game enough to play along when she presented (can’t embed the clip unfortunately, but go look)!

    And Yay! With my long belated first post of 2011 I get to undercut a two time Oscar Winner with their own material!

    http://stax-o-wax.blogspot.com/2006/10/sally-field-star-of-flying-nun-1967.html

    Please to click through and listen to Sally Field as Sister Bertrille singing!

    As Felix Unger would have said… Oscar! Oscar! Oscar!

  2. January 25, 2011 10:21 am

    I just want to say I’m really looking forward to this series. There are so many “iconic” Oscar moments, and like Sally Field’s speech, I’m sure that what we remember isn’t quite how it actually happened.

Leave a Reply

