Skip to content

Who is that Actor: Saul Rubinek

January 20, 2011

Character actor Saul Rubinek has been in just about everything. In the last couple of weeks I’ve caught him in: The Bonfire of the Vanities, Unforgiven, Wall Street, And the Band Played On (one of my favorite roles of his) and Leverage. This dude is always working, though there were a couple of films I was surprised to discover he wasn’t in. Those include the character actor heavy JFK, The Untouchables and Silverado.

On the fate of his short lived series Warehouse 13, which I’ve never seen!

Rubinek getting smacked down by Morgan. Bonfire of the Vanities

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 9:53 pm

    I think Warehouse 13 has just been renewed for a third season so not so short lived, so … yay for Saul. It’s a fun romp.

  2. January 20, 2011 9:59 pm

    Whew! I looked at the listing and it appeared to be canceled. Thanks for the head’s up, Amanda. Do you watch the show?

  3. January 21, 2011 9:34 am

    I think I saw h is picture in the dictionary, next to the word “hapless.” He’s got the best “who, me?” face.

  4. January 21, 2011 6:34 pm

    Aw, I love Saul. I couldn’t get into Wherehouse 13 though, but I’m glad he has work!

  5. January 22, 2011 10:32 am

    I’ve watched it on and off though it seemed to get very serialised at some point so I was missing big chunks of the mythology and its on my list to catch up on (its a long list). CCH Pounder is in it. It started pretty dubiously as a more slapsticky X Files rip off but got a lot better.

  6. January 22, 2011 10:22 pm

    He was great in The Equalizer! Love CCH Pounder, too.

  7. evmaroon permalink
    January 24, 2011 3:52 pm

    Hasn’t he also been on most of the detective procedurals out there? I can see him as a smarmy lawyer in my memory banks…I love Saul! And gosh, I keep loving this series of yours, Snarky.

  8. January 26, 2011 1:38 pm

    I have been harboring a crush on Saul since his Equalizer days. I have no idea why.

  9. January 30, 2011 3:22 pm

    @Jennifer – Saul is so adorable. Have you seen his performance in And the Band Played On? It’s one of his best. So natural is his performance.

  10. January 30, 2011 3:32 pm

    …and his stellar turn as the somewhat tacky, sweaty University of Las Vegas grad lawyer and one time courter of Daphne on Frasier…

  11. Maven permalink
    February 24, 2012 9:09 am

    I have had a crush on Saul Rubinek ever since I saw him on ST: TNG. When I saw him on WH13, my crush evolved, and I became a full-fledged fan girl. Like many others this has happened to, I have no idea why.

  12. sinky permalink
    June 24, 2012 3:55 pm

    This is so weird that I’m finding this interview with this actor (I forgot he was Canadian) because I just saw him in TRUE ROMANCE—he was the only actor in there whose name I couldn’t recall right off,in a cast full of well-known actors. After spotting his name in the credits, I recognized it right off, and I only remember seeing him in a little indie Canadian film that I liked (it’s called THE QUARREL) that only has him and another actor in it, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. He looks good for his age, I’ll give him props on that! Might check out this WAREHOUSE 13–sound like the kind of stuff I used to watch.

Leave a Reply

