Skip to content

The Year of Frying Butter, Raymondj Edition.

December 30, 2010

It’s December 30th, it’s time for lists!  Frantic almanac style write-ups of the year, and why should I be any different?  Our little pop culture blog has only been around since March of this year, but with so many pop culturists who’ve contributed, there are some quality deep cuts and hits to choose from.  I decided to pick 3 of my own posts to highlight, as well as what blog posts of my compadres have been the most memorable to me as reader.

It Looks Like Your Sweater’s Attacking You – The one about my Casio keyboard, the television sitcom I Married Dora and Elizabeth Pena’s career.  I also unintentionally predicted the demise of Caprica at the end!

Adult Contemporary Dreams: Dion v. Streisand – The one about Andre Agassi’s memoir, Barbra Streisand and my obsession with the Tell Him music video. Also thought of by me as the blog post I’ve been wanting to write for years, I just was waiting for the tennis player to release his autobiography so I could properly frame it.

Oh, had I been Agassi’s ghostwriter, I would have lingered so much longer on that.  What was she wearing?  How was her Streisandicure?  What Celine song was it?  Did Barbra make any movements with her mouth, any furrowed brow, any look of curiosity?

The Murphy Crown of Glory – Because I never cease to enjoy staring at the illustration by p0plife….it makes me moon in the exact same way Candace Bergen’s hair did on the TV.

Enough tooting my own horn!  Speaking of p0plife, her Friday Five editions often kept me going, but this one in particular has stayed with me the longest, in part because of the photo at the end.  I don’t look at Ben Affleck the same after NYCPenpusher’s post for his Movies Made So Stars Can Do It! series detailing all of the man’s filmic dalliances.   Everett’s breakdown of Marc Cherry’s slapping of Nicolette Sheridan made me snortle and TashaFierce’s play-by-play of Mega Shark v. Giant Octopus had me howling (I think of that flying shark ALL THE TIME!).    S.E. Smith came on board this fall to hit home runs every Friday afternoon, but ou’s post on funeral industry advertisements has a special place in my heart.   And PopScribblings had us all fessing up to our ticks and quirks related to pop culture.

Then there’s our commander-in-chief, Snarky’s Machine, who is both the engine and lifeblood of FryButter.  I narrowed it down to three:  Everything I Know About Life I Learned by Watching Mahogany, explaining important life lessons we could all use a refresher in;  There is Jerry Mac In Everyone, an ode to misheard lyrics we’ve all embarrassed ourselves with; and La Mommie: A Tony Scott Film, her touching, sharp, and informative Mother’s Day post.

~~~~

Now is your chance to plug away — what of your own blog posts were favorites from this year?  Or if you’re more of an avid reader, what are favorite blog posts in general from 2010 that didn’t dissipate into the ether once you stepped offline?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2010 1:34 pm

    The sweater attacking you post was one of my favorites of yours. Can I save my absolute favorite post of yours until my own year of frying butter? Thanks for the shout out and for a really great post idea. I will be drafting mine asap! What a lovely way to cap off a year, rather than listing the same top ten movies/books/songs that all the critics have been agreeing about for nearly a year!

  2. December 30, 2010 1:37 pm

    I’ve got say, I really miss Weird Science Wednesdays! Some of those puppies were hilarious.

    Truly, being on board with so many smart, sassy folks with such a broad spectrum of pop culture interests is so much fun, and one of the things I love most about Fry Butt is that I look forward to comments as much as I do to posts, because people always have more great stuff to add.

  3. December 30, 2010 1:37 pm

    oh, you can flatter me any time or any way you want.

    I would love to hear all the posts that everyone remembers best of each other!

  4. evmaroon permalink
    December 30, 2010 1:49 pm

    What a sweet and wonderful idea! I’m a big fan of your DWTS series, Raymond, but that’s obvious, I suppose, since it’s your long-standing gig. I also really enjoyed your US state song mix, though I am loath to admit I haven’t turned them into an actual playlist on my iPod.

    I really marvel at s.e.’s Glee criticism, even though I know s.e. is getting darn sick of it as a topic.

    Nobody writes about the Fontanaverse like Snarky! I also think she writes about detective procedurals better than just about anyone.

    Popscribblings had me at Bizarre Love Triangles. She spoke truth to ridiculousness!

    I really want poplife to write about wine and wine consumerism. Really, really, really. Then the next time I’m slapping myself for living in Walla Walla I can at least mock those around me with new ammunition.

    Fellow Yankees fan NYCPenpusher makes me think of the days of yore for television, but the icky undercoating, not the reverant Wasn’t Jack Paar Fantastic stuff. I hope he keeps writing that series in 2011!

  5. eieioj permalink
    December 30, 2010 2:49 pm

    It was fun to go back and read these!

  6. December 30, 2010 3:25 pm

    @eieioj – it was so fun to reread everything folks have written here. I’m in awe of how much awesome in contained in our archives. We rule the school.

  7. December 30, 2010 3:26 pm

    I was waiting every week for each installment of your 50 States mix-tape but I loved how patriotic ya’ll got when it was all over: http://ifrymineinbutter.com/2010/12/11/shes-queer-for-uncle-sam-the-52-state-pick-up-mix-epilogue/

    My contribution to pop culture commentary this year (since you brought up “Who’s the Boss” in the “I Married Dora bit) was: http://norikosrandombits.blogspot.com/2010/10/whos-boss-all-grown-up.html

    And to bring a little outside influence, some pop culture, some not so much, but these are some favorites from my blog roll:

    humans are funny: http://www.humansarefunny.com/2010/10/truth-will-set-us-free-and-also-make-us.html

    and this from the publishing world: http://blog.nathanbransford.com/2010/08/you-tell-me-where-are-your-reading.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+NathanBransford+%28Nathan+Bransford+-+Blog%29

    one of my students (this gives a pretty solid idea of what a day in room 229 is all about): http://thebigblog2011.blogspot.com/2010/11/shavons-blog-not-yours.html

    and my favorite one-line blog: http://throwingcookies.blogspot.com/2010/10/superstition-and-sports.html

    Thanks for a fun recap, Ray!

  8. December 30, 2010 3:57 pm

    I am still loling at the sweater post! Xena bless, Fry Butter. We bring it on the real.

  9. December 30, 2010 4:01 pm

    Our catalog is so deep and vast! I am similarly marveling at us. Let’s give it up for ourselves one more time.

  10. December 30, 2010 4:42 pm

    HA! I will always be grateful to J-Cam for bringing his dorky white guy flavor to street talk. Only J-Cam can make a praise meant for others yield threefold for himself. He’s the man.

Leave a Reply

