Skip to content

Perhaps We’re All Originally From Denmark: Short Film of the Week

December 28, 2010

This week’s SFW selection is much different from Rejection (though both are hand-drawn illustrations, my personal preference).  The Danish Poet by Torill Kove won the Oscar in 2006, though I stumbled upon it in 2008 as an extra on a dvd of nominated shorts.  I hardly ever go digging around in the special features section, but that day I did.  What if I had never clicked on that menu?  What if I’d never seen this lovely story of fate and muses and Scandanavian families and poets who write better when happy, not sad?  The film is narrated by Liv Ullman, the muse of Ingmar Bergman, and it makes me tear up every time I watch it.  I’m a sap, I know.  Watch and see if you are too.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 1:02 am

    Between this film and your famous couples post, I’m definitely feeling the love, Raymond!

  2. December 28, 2010 8:45 am

    you gotta keep the snark balanced with love, otherwise you start to forget why we pay attention to pop culture at all, right?

  3. Citizen Taqueau permalink
    December 28, 2010 1:23 pm

    This is really sweet. Thanks for posting!

  4. December 28, 2010 8:48 pm

    I am loving this. This warmed my heart.

  5. December 30, 2010 5:36 am

    Beautiful! I love the fairytale quality. I love the animals, with all the personality they show. I love stories that involve writing, and the way one person’s words can touch another person. I love outrageous hairdos and the people with the guts and skill to rock them. I love the organic feel of the hand-drawn art (melded seamlessly with the occasional high-tech camera move). I love Ullman’s narration, and the way the characters may sound like her, but they each talk like individuals. But most of all, I love these people. May we all have luck like theirs.

  6. Berdawn permalink
    December 30, 2010 10:24 am

    A local theater shows the Oscar nominated shorts (live action and animated) each year and this was in the first one I attended. I’ve been hooked ever since. thanks for bringing it to a wider audience!

  7. December 30, 2010 12:51 pm

    That is a good habit to have, Berdawn, I need to follow your example and go to the screenings here, too!

  8. evmaroon permalink
    December 30, 2010 1:51 pm

    I have a little tear of happy. And now I can’t wait for next week! You’re not going to run out? How many Danish short films can there be?

Leave a Reply

