Skip to content

My Spoon is Too Big: Short Film of the Week

December 21, 2010

While revisiting some of my favorite episodes of Stick Figure Theatre from Liquid Television, I saw a link to Don Hertzfeldt’s short film, “Rejected”.  I’ve watched it several times already, but couldn’t help but click on it again anyway.  This short film was nominated for an Academy Award in 2000, though it took a few years for it to become a cult hit, because of numerous film festivals and the internet.  Most people still haven’t seen it, but there are a significant number of people who will automatically answer “I am a banana” if you say to them “My spoon is too big.”  It will make more sense after you watch.

Warning:  SFW stands for Short Film of the Week, but not necessarily Safe for Work.  This puppy has enough “adult” content to make some cable network executives sweat about airing it, though there’s no actual language or nudity — just some absurd and dark inappropriate jokes that will hopefully make you snort.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 10:51 am

    I have a vague memory of this and chalked it up to some dream and here it is on Fry Butt! Oh this is too much heaven.

  2. December 21, 2010 11:17 am

    I forget that the internet can be used to locate so many random short films I’ve seen through the years. I’m still trying to track down one called “POM” that was about this dyke auditioning for a Texan cheerleader squad!

  3. December 22, 2010 5:00 am

    Nice one! Though I almost wish the apocalyptic final segment wasn’t there. It’s a doozy of an ending, but it also gets away from the straight-up mockumentary feel, the idea that the guy really did make all of these clips in the sincere belief that they were what his clients wanted. Still… nice one.

  4. December 22, 2010 9:04 am

    I’m still trying to track down one called “POM” that was about this dyke auditioning for a Texan cheerleader squad!

    You mean Dr. T and the Women?

  5. Lani permalink
    December 23, 2010 11:02 pm

    I am incredibly tickled to see this film featured on FryButt. My brother and I will still occasionally shout “My spoon is too big!” at each other over the phone in pitched falsetto voices and then giggle like 12 year olds for 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

