Skip to content

Your Friday Five: A Last Minute Gift Guide for the Popnerds in Your Life

December 17, 2010

Wait, what day is it again?

Homer is always easy to shop for.

If like me, you work in the retail or the service industries, the months of October through December just become one weird, swirling blur. And like me, you probably tell yourself every year that you WILL make something really kick-ass for everyone in July, or buy a bunch of gifts in September. And like me, you probably didn’t. So here’s a handy Friday Five last minute gift guide for all those band geeks, record collector scum, and comic book guys in your life. You’re welcome!

  • Sorry, Virgin Islands not available...

    For the Office Supply Geek: Field Notes Country Fair 3 packs! I am the most annoying type of Office Supply Geek. My pens, pencils, notebooks and other ephemera not only need to be beautifully designed, they need to be robust as a mofo. They need to be able to hold up to the chaos that is the inside of my messenger bag and my apron at work. They need to be able to take the ink of a rich, thick rollerball pen and not bleed or tear. Field Notes make my absolute favorite pocket notebooks. They are expertly designed by the awesome and huggable looking Aaron Draplin of Draplin Design. The Country Fair editions come with all sorts of nifty trivia about all fifty. State Bird. State Flower. Population. Good stuff. 10 bones for a three pack (and they usually throw in cool stuff like pens, pencils, thick rubber bands and badges). They also come in the seasonal Balsam Fir, the gothic Raven Wing, and the totally bitchin’ Neon Ice Pops pack. Something for everyone.

  • Black light not included, man.

    For the Art Snob: Seripop Prints and Subscription Pack! Ok, ok… the Subscription Pack is kinda spendy, but they have tons more eyeball and brain melting art and rock ‘n’ roll posters to please. Prices go anywhere from a mere 15 bucks up into the 250 range. Affordable art!

  • Take me to your leader.

    For the Mad Scientist: Isotope T-Shirts! Entomology! German railway maps! Russian Cosmonauts! A drawing of lungs! A nuclear power plant diagram! A caffeine molecule! Dogs and cats, living together!

  • But is vinyl a girl's best friend?

    For the Record Collector Scum: Soundscreen Design’s Vinyl is Forever series of products. Hoodies! Bags! Show of your sleeve with the Pixies B-Side reference with a short T! Proudly declare your analogue love!

  • Veggies are cool!

    For the Home Cook/Foodie: Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plenty. Mr. Ottolenghi is a chef who had done a column in the Guardian on cooking with vegetables. The column was such a success that they collected them into a beautiful cookbook and added more recipes. The photos are absolutely gorgeous and the recipes range from simple and rustic to a little more complex and elegant. Tasty as all get out.

  • Ironic trucker hat is not so "fresh".

    For the Comic Book Geek: Comically Vintage Crap! The Tumblr of the same name has a shop and they’ve bunged a few of their most popular posts onto anything they could. I mean, does your comic nerd really need some classy Batman cufflinks? Or another Spiderman shirt?

Sorry.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 2:14 pm

    I am the most annoying type of Office Supply Geek. My pens, pencils, notebooks and other ephemera not only need to be beautifully designed, they need to be robust as a mofo

    Me too. those freaking field notes are the living end? Thank you for mentioning them. I didn’t know of them (I know, right?) I am lusting, like whoa. Ha. I love your use of “spendy”.

  2. December 17, 2010 4:49 pm

    I have gotten pretty much my entire team at work addicted to field notes. I got everyone an Oregon one and now they have all started ordering them regularly to use at work. Spiral bound notepads are for amateurs.

  3. December 17, 2010 4:57 pm

    I have gotten pretty much my entire team at work addicted to field notes. I got everyone an Oregon one and now they have all started ordering them regularly to use at work. Spiral bound notepads are for amateurs.

    For serious. I might have to give my Rhodia block a vacay while I test drive those because they are spectacular.

  4. December 18, 2010 2:31 am

    These are some nice, affordable grab bag gifts for the office party I’m going to Monday! Just in the “Nick” of time!

  5. hsofia permalink
    December 18, 2010 4:18 am

    Field Notes always tap into my fantasy of being an amateur botanist!

    Btw, the links to the book “Plenty” and the Comically Vintage Crap are sending me to the vinyl is forever t-shirts site.

  6. evmaroon permalink
    December 19, 2010 12:25 am

    I love the Seripop Prints! Awesomeness. And I will check out the Field Notes now, thanks! And here I was all excited about the Moleskine city guides. Gosh, those are so three years ago in comparison.

    Also, fan of Etsy here. I love checking it out for the t-shirts. And I also have been a champion of a few arty/crafty online catalogs for a few years, so I love getting new sources…

  7. December 19, 2010 1:15 pm

    omg, I want the 50 State box set of Field Notes to keep a record of both amazing and terrible things I’ve done in every state!

Leave a Reply

