Skip to content

A Pop Culture Christmas Wishlist

December 16, 2010

I don’t ever remember believing in Santa Claus,  so I’ve never drafted a Christmas gift wishlist and sent it to the North Pole. But if Santa actually existed, here’s what I’d ask him for this year.

(Since this is related to pop culture, I won’t be asking for world peace, which is what we all need, or a new sofa, which is what I need.)

Clean house at Dunder Mifflin, or close the Scranton branch altogether.


There was a time I used to enjoy The Office, but that was a time when I was still on the 3 DVDs per month plan on Netflix. The show is now old, uninspired and for the most part, difficult to watch. It should have wrapped up after the wedding episode.

Since NBC makes too much money from the show to end it, I say overhaul the cast. Let Pam and Jim be inspired by Michael Scott’s impending departure and escape already. (How long would they really want Dwight in their lives anyhow?) Upgrade supporting players like Phyllis, Stanley and Creed, who are capable of more than eye-rolls and one-liners.

Or show the documentary crew in an episode! An episode from their point of view would be interesting. Who knows–maybe Meredith has been having an affair with the cameraman, which would account for her continual lack of screentime.

Give Shirley from Community more to do.


I have grown to love Community this season, and plan to write about at the show at length, but the one thing I wish the show would do is stop sidelining Yvette Nicole Brown’s character. I fear she will be the Khandi Alexander of the show, and there will be a “Shirley Moves On” episode next year because the writers just don’t know what to do with her.

It seems the writers will be writing more for Shirley, since she slept with Chang a few episodes ago, and there has to be blowback from that. Hopefully it will lead to a deepening of her character, rather than cause her to become as ostracized from the group as poor, wheelchair-bound Pierce.

Do not move Parks and Recreation from its timeslot again.


It might seem like I’m obsessed with NBC programming, and to a degree, this is what happens when you don’t have cable. At any rate, I’ve really missed this show and really look forward to seeing Adam Scott and Rob Lowe integrated in the cast.

Free episodes of The Soup on Hulu.


(Again, when you don’t have cable…)

It’s the only way I’ll know that shows like Parking Wars and Bridalplasty exist. And it’s the only acceptable way to watch Jersey Shore.

Give Kristen Bell a movie role worthy of her talents.

I was able to re-watch the first two seasons of Veronica Mars this year, and it was such a treat to watch Kristen Bell play such a smart, funny and vulnerable character. To look at her IMDb page is to lament how much her talent has been wasted on the big screen. When in Rome? Ugh. You Again? Argh. It’s like she’s getting Katherine Heigl’s romantic-comedy sloppy seconds–and there’s no way she deserves that.

Give me the time to watch Deadwood, Tell Me You Love Me and Breaking Bad.

So many critically acclaimed shows, so little time. I’ve been meaning to Netflix these shows forever–in fact, I held on to a Breaking Bad disc for a month and a half before returning it unwatched. Sigh.

Prince tickets.


I can’t live in a world where Elisabeth Hasselbeck gets to see a Prince concert, but not me. I mean, I can and I will, but I won’t like it one bit.

This.

(Just in case Santa actually does exist, I figured it might be worth throwing in.)

What’s on your Christmas wishlist this year?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. aliciamaud permalink
    December 16, 2010 9:45 am

    I’m totally with you about Shirley. I think she’s hilarious, and each dimension they have added to her has made her more interesting. I loved seeing her with her (smart, kind, prankster) kids, and have appreciated it when she has called people out for desexualizing her (or objectifying her, if you’re Pierce), as when Abed imagined her as a baby…it does seem like they are setting up for some blowback for the hook up with Chang–there was some mention of a pregnancy test a couple of weeks ago, and that she would have been ovulating on Halloween…she made some excuse about reconnecting with her ex-husband…I’m not sure I would be psyched if they go the pregnancy route…but again, every time she has more to do, I’m happy.

  2. eieioj permalink
    December 16, 2010 9:46 am

    My wishlist looks like yours in regard to NBC programming. Also, I would ask for Outsourced to be cancelled. And for Top Chef to have another great season instead of the mediocre crap it’s been feeding me.

    Also, I would ask for my city to get more music acts that aren’t pop country and janky rap. But it’s hard when you’ve had musicians arrested for “lewd behavior” and banned from the city.

  3. December 16, 2010 10:15 am

    Khandi Alexander!! Please, let’s not have that happen to Shirley. Or to Khandi anymore, either, for that matter. This wish should extend to Donna on Parks & Rec too — more screen time and depth! I would also add that I want Parks and Recreation to return in their second season prime, sans fat jokes.

    And maybe you should prioritize watching Deadwood just because Kristen Bell appears in an episode.

  4. aliciamaud permalink
    December 16, 2010 10:50 am

    I wish to be able to watch Six Feet Under and The Wire for the first time. It’s fun rewatching, but oh, that first time.

  5. December 16, 2010 11:13 am

    I want to see Miranda Bailey get a love interest who’s not a loser. And more sex on Grey’s Anatomy in general.

  6. December 16, 2010 11:38 am

    @aliciamaud @raymondj Re: Shirley/Catherine/, TV shows include minority female characters to diversify their casts, but then don’t give them anything to do because they don’t know how to write for them. I think it was less than 5 times that Catherine had her own storyline on Newsradio. I hope things will turn out better for Shirley (and Donna, even if she’s not in the opening credits.)

    @raymondj Thanks for the heads up, that helps the prioritizing of watching DVDs!

    @redlami I think this new guy for Bailey will last until the end of the season–which is not a good thing. She needs a guy who’ll stick around period!

  7. December 16, 2010 11:47 am

    I wish to be able to watch Six Feet Under and The Wire for the first time. It’s fun rewatching, but oh, that first time.

    Me too. me too.

    Great topic!

    My list:

    A great role for Kyle Secor. revising all of H:LOTS has reminded me of how amazing he is. Would love to see him do something on a HBO. Maybe a big juicy role on Boardwalk Empire.

    That the Ethan Hawke pilot for Fox is half way decent, so I won’t have to justify why I’m watching it. I mean I’ll watch Hawke in anything, I love him that much.

    That the Big C gets some better scripts because I’m about to abandon it. It’s painful to watch Laura Linney be squandered in these bad scripts/plots. Ditto for Board to Death. Though it got a lot better this year.

  8. December 16, 2010 12:11 pm

    This was a wonderful collection, and I agree with every point you made.

    I want McGarrett (still can’t bring myself to actually use that actor’s real name) to get either shot, tossed off a skyscraper or become a human volcano sacrifice on Hawaii Five-O, so that Scott Caan and Daniel Dae Kim can take over as the show’s leads.

    I want Fox and FX to swap their prime time lineups, so that everyone can see those shows, and not have to be bothered watching those shows.

    I want Undercovers back… somewhere… anywhere!

    I want a game show that’s actually fun to watch.

    And related to that last one… I want a network to pick up the pilot I’m pitching.

    Will I get any of these things? Well… I would settle for the last two…

  9. December 16, 2010 3:30 pm

    @snarkysmachine I’ve heard bad things about The C Word (I think the words “treacly” and “annoying” come up a lot), which is too bad because Laura Linney is awesome.

    @NYCPenpusher Love the Fox/FX lineup switch. I feel like I’ve missed out on some good TV because I haven’t watched the FX channel since last decade (or at least it feels that way.)

    And good luck with the pilot–that’s awesome!

  10. hsofia permalink
    December 16, 2010 5:31 pm

    I don’t have a pop culture Christmas wishlist this year, so I’ll just send a copy of yours to Santa!

Leave a Reply

