Skip to content

Who is that Actor: Glenne Headly

December 15, 2010

Glenne Headly had me at, “Oh I’m sorry, am I destroying distant worlds?” which she uttered to her then real life husband John Malkovich (they divorced in 1990) in the film Making Mr. Right. I love that movie and used to watch it repeatedly as a teen. I immediately connected Headly to another 1987 film – Dirty Rotten Scoundrels – which I screened with my sister one afternoon at the Bad Children’s Theater. If Tom Berenger is the king of “The Bad Children’s Theater” fare, Headly, is probably its queen. This isn’t to suggest she’s not a great actor. On the contrary, but she does tend to appear in more quirky and often times low budget far; the kind of films TBCT tends to heavily feature.

Despite Headly having a more earthy presence, I used to get her mixed up with another baby doll voiced blondish actor Carol Kane! But by far my biggest Glenne Headly myth, which was only recently debunk was that she was in the band Steppenwolf, which she was not. She was, however, in the Steppenwolf Theater Company founded by Gary Sinise, TV’s Woodman! and actor Jeff Perry.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 10:25 am

    Without Glenne, Dick Tracy would have been flat and heartless. She can really add the spice needed to jazz something up. Like a pimento…

    And: Oh, Ann Mag!

  2. December 15, 2010 10:30 am

    She is so adorable and her comedic chops cannot be beat. I’m so bummed she wasn’t in latter episodes of Monk because I loved the chemistry between her character Karen Stottlemeyer and, of course, Ted Levine as Leland Stottlemeyer. Actually, my favorite episode of hers was “Monk and the Captain’s Marriage”.

  3. December 15, 2010 12:39 pm

    Chicago represent!! Ok, that was a decade before I got here, but still.

    I want to go to a Hollywood Mensa luncheon and sit at a table with her and Sharon Stone Geena Davis.

  4. December 15, 2010 1:15 pm

    I want to go to a Hollywood Mensa luncheon and sit at a table with her and Sharon Stone Geena Davis.

    Lulz. I love you!

  5. December 15, 2010 6:59 pm

    GH was the bartender who cut Mulder off in Fight the Future, too. A short but memorable scene.

  6. December 16, 2010 8:28 am

    @TG – “Looks like 86 is your lucky number.” Ha. I use that all the time.

Leave a Reply

