Skip to content

First Look: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides!

December 10, 2010

Disney’s lucrative Pirates franchise is like the gift that keeps on giving. Today some new snaps surfaced of the hardest working man in showbiz – Johnny Depp – as Jack Sparrow. Oscar winner Penelope Cruz joins the crew as Anjelica , a rival who is also looking for the fountain of youth. So what do you think, does Disney need to give these movies rest?

I tend to find Depp lovely, albeit overexposed. I haven’t managed to get past the twenty minutes of the first film. I’m sure I’d enjoy all of them, except I’m not really into pirates or Orlando Bloom so maybe I wouldn’t. What do you think? Are you a huge fan of the series?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 11:55 am

    I like the franchise. They really do feel like amusement park rides and as long as I keep my expectations low they’re a lot of fun.

    Any Nighy enthusiast will have to watch Dead Man’s Chest for his turn as Davy Jones. Unlike other Davy Joneses, he doesn’t sing, but he does play a mean organ.

  2. Hsofia permalink
    December 10, 2010 1:17 pm

    I liked the first one; the second and third I am unable to differentiate in my mind. One of them had a seriously WTF series of scenes involving oogabooga Islanders who worship then try to sacrifice Jack. It was like Star Wars I all over again, where I sat in my theater seat trading baffled glances with my companions, wondering who the hell OK’d this mess. The special effects were really good. I think the voodoo priestess lady (in 3?) was good even if I didn’t feel entirely comfortable with the role. Only other things I recall from 2/3 are Geoffrey Rush and the sound editing.

  3. December 10, 2010 3:22 pm

    there’s also this ridiculous scene in the third one (or second? I conflate 2 and 3 as well) where the pirates are caught and put into two groups in two cages — one that was pretty much all white dudes, and one that was pretty much all the various brown dudes. guess which cage plunged to it’s death off a cliff? don’t get me wrong, i’m not watching the Pirates movies for tips on re-integrating a post-colonial world or whatever, but c’mon, do you have to be so damn blatant sometimes? having said that, I found the first one enjoyable and the other two perfectly pleasant afternoon movies you can doze in and out of.

    shh, don’t tell, but I’m more excited about National Treasure 3.

  4. December 10, 2010 3:32 pm

    there’s also this ridiculous scene in the third one (or second? I conflate 2 and 3 as well) where the pirates are caught and put into two groups in two cages — one that was pretty much all white dudes, and one that was pretty much all the various brown dudes. guess which cage plunged to it’s death off a cliff? don’t get me wrong, i’m not watching the Pirates movies for tips on re-integrating a post-colonial world or whatever, but c’mon, do you have to be so damn blatant sometimes?

    LOLOLOL

  5. IrishUp permalink
    December 10, 2010 5:40 pm

    Love pirates, Love Johnny, loved the PotC ride at Disney, fan of the franchise. What I really like about the PotC movies is that they are always expanding the Swashbuckling tropes. The swordplay and banter are my favorite parts of Swashbucklers and the swordfight on the rolling millwheel in PotC 2 is such fun. As is the turning the boat over in 3, etc. Kiera and Johnny and Orlando, not to mention Rush and Nighy, do a solid job with the banter.

  6. December 11, 2010 2:13 pm

    Avast there! More dirty ol’ pie-rates. Disney is certainly trying to plunder the precious booty of the fans of Depp! And they always have some new-fangled gimmick. I’ve only seen parts of this series of films, never one whole one all the way through, so I guess you could say I missed the boat on this one.

  7. December 11, 2010 2:32 pm

    Nobody’s been able to explain to me what it has to do with that guy on the ride who says, “I’ll give you two of my heads for one of yours.”

  8. Q.V. permalink
    December 11, 2010 3:05 pm

    I practice selective queer-centric reading sometimes and I spent $10 of my hard-earned money seeing one of these in the theatre after a local critic said Jack Sparrow had some queer content. Anyone remember that moment, or was it wishful thinking?

  9. December 11, 2010 3:25 pm

    Omg, did the critic really believe eyeliner was queer?

  10. Q.V. permalink
    December 11, 2010 5:06 pm

    The best I can figure is it was a comment Jack Sparrow made to Elizabeth Swann when she was dressed up in dudewear on the dock. I would hate to watch the movie again (really) to find out the exact words, but it was good enough for me.

  11. Q.V. permalink
    December 11, 2010 5:10 pm

    Oh, Hi, Internet! I don’t have to watch it again, this was the dialogue the critic was referring to.

    Jack Sparrow: [with his back to Elizabeth, thinking that she is a
    man] Come to join my crew, lad? Welcome aboard!
    Elizabeth Swann: Im here to find the man I love.
    Jack Sparrow: [startled] Im deeply flattered, son, but my first and
    only love is the sea.

Leave a Reply

