Skip to content

What Did Pop Culture Make You Fear?

December 9, 2010

Fry Butt’s own Raymond J wrote about Troll and then the awesome Alex from Film Forager reviewed Troll 2 and while neither movie gave me the shudders, it did make the ponder the things I have become afraid of thanks to pop culture introducing them to me. Oh that transition was the pits! But I gave some cool peeps link love so it was worth it.

James Brolin and his undies in The Amityville Horror

1. Hard headed, determined white home owners

If I’ve learned anything about what kinds of people to stay away from it’s those pesky, earnest white DINKs (dual income no kids) who never freaking leave, even when the house tells them to! If I happen upon a couple who proudly declare themselves to be folks who never walk away from equity I run away from them.

2. That freaking silver death ball from Phantasm

Thanks to Phantasm and that creepy “Tall Man” I don’t even like silver Christmas balls anywhere near me.

3. Writer’s Block

I already live in a rural area that gets a lot of snow. I already don’t spend excessive amounts of time with other people. Me and the people I love –  in hacking distance –  don’t need me to catch a case of writer’s block. I saw that movie and since I don’t drink, I wouldn’t even distract myself with trips to the imaginary bar!

Now it’s your turn? What did pop culture make you fear?

39 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 5:13 pm

    Cornfields. Films such as North by Northwest, Children of the Corn and Field of Dreams have me petrified of getting lost in one of these and being ‘ounded to death by cropdusters, creepy kids and Kevin Costners.

    Now I know why I find the snitch in the Harry Potter films so disturbing… because it looks so much like that ball from Phantasm!

  2. Anie permalink
    December 9, 2010 5:32 pm

    I am afeared of funeral homes (Phantasm) the woods of any state(Blair Witch, Friday the 13th’s, any other woodsy movie) and the projects (Candyman)

  3. December 9, 2010 5:37 pm

    I second cornfields! Though it’s the sort of fear that makes me kinda want to do a corn maze, to scare myself intentionally….but only in day time.

    If I see someone I know across the street, and one of us crosses traffic to meet each other, I’m afraid to make eye contact less I witness them hit by a car (or get hit by a car myself). This is directly because of tv and movies and those “shock” scenes.

    speaking of linking it up, this made me recall one of my very first posts for frybutter: Why I Hate Mr. Coffee

  4. December 9, 2010 6:30 pm

    If I see someone I know across the street, and one of us crosses traffic to meet each other, I’m afraid to make eye contact less I witness them hit by a car (or get hit by a car myself). This is directly because of tv and movies and those “shock” scenes.

    HAHAH. Yes!

    Add to the list:

    last night phone calls. Nothing good ever comes out of those.

  5. December 9, 2010 9:45 pm

    I couldn’t think of anything at first so I was going to make a joke about Carrie making me fear menstruating women. Then I realized that Rutger Hauer still makes me very fearful of hitchhikers

  6. December 9, 2010 11:53 pm

    They’re all gonna laugh at you! They’re all gonna laugh at you.

  7. December 10, 2010 1:19 am

    Pennywise from Stephen King’s IT didn’t ruin all clowns for me — just Bozo.

  8. December 10, 2010 1:48 am

    They all float down here. Oddly, It made me afraid of Tim Curry.

  9. December 10, 2010 1:48 am

    Lol, Pennywise didn’t ruin clowns for me, as frightening good as it was, it ruined Tim Curry in EVERY other role for me. I watch Legend or Annie and instead of Darkness or Rooster I picture a clown and giggle a little. I know it would be funnier if I pictured them in a garter belt but no, the visual of the sinister clown will forever be connected with his voice. The worst part is his voice is everywhere.

  10. December 10, 2010 2:31 am

    The worst part is his voice is everywhere.

    Can I get a what what?

  11. December 10, 2010 2:33 am

    I have to say Nicholson looks pretty snazzy in that turtleneck. He doesn’t look too bonks, just lightly so. Must be early in the film.

  12. December 10, 2010 9:49 am

    now that you mention it, I do always say “they all float down here” whenever Tim Curry enters the screen in anything. or one of these classic lines:

  13. IrishUp permalink
    December 10, 2010 10:20 am

    CLOWNS ARE BAD ELEVENTY!!!! (not just It, but Something Wicked This Way Comes, The Clown Murders, Spawn, Killjoy, Killer Clowns from Outer Space…..).

    Nthing Phantasm and funeral homes – I have had an “episode” at a funeral home, directly fed by this movie.

    Cruise ships. Deathly afraid of them, thank you (original) “Poseidon Adventure”.

    General rule: Don’t ever EVER read the damned thing OUT LOUD. PARTICULARLY if it is in an old dusty book, scroll, locked in a box, or in a language no one speaks anymore. FFS.

  14. December 10, 2010 10:30 am

    MIRRORS. Oh i love to give myself the shudders by writing “Karen” backwards in a mirror.

  15. IrishUp permalink
    December 10, 2010 10:51 am

    redrum REDRUM!!!

  16. December 10, 2010 11:13 am

    General rule: Don’t ever EVER read the damned thing OUT LOUD. PARTICULARLY if it is in an old dusty book, scroll, locked in a box, or in a language no one speaks anymore. FFS.

    Omg. Melty face. Do not want!

  17. aliciamaud permalink
    December 10, 2010 11:15 am

    Bee’s nests coming back to life

    Waking up at 3:45 am. (Thanks, Emily Rose.)

    The calling to be a nun. This set-in after asking some questions about The Sound of Music in 2nd grade. Understanding its onset to be somewhat like flu symptoms, I spent about a year falling to sleep every night praying “Please don’t let me get The Calling. Please don’t let me get The Calling.”

    Pop culture and Catholic upbringing pack a mean 0ne-two punch.

  18. eieioj permalink
    December 10, 2010 11:19 am

    Oh, Snarky, you beat me to mirrors. I live in a big old Victorian (which is haunted, but not by anything bad..if that were the case, I would be outta here. I’ve seen enough scary movies.) that came with 2 big-ass mirrors facing each other. They creep me out. I know they’re technically there to keep spirits trapped (yeah, we’re THOSE crazy Southern people), but man..they freaky. Actually, any reflective surface creeps me out, because of the C-Man movies. Note: I can’t even type out the name of the movies in question. They also gave me an irrational fear of Tony Todd.

    Dark hallways are on the list. Paintings, which I think comes from watching Dorian Grey and Night Gallery as a child. Also, garbage disposals, because of John Carpenter’s Body Bags.

  19. aliciamaud permalink
    December 10, 2010 11:25 am

    @redlami and @raymondj : We used to play a game called “The Corn Monster” that involved chasing each other through cornfields, kind of like tag, except with no real rules except running in terror, and listening frantically over your own raspy breath and pounding heart to distinguish the sounds of your own footfalls and rustling from those of whomever (or, as it quickly morphed in your mind “Whatever”) was chasing you. I’m am 95% certain if someone made me play today I would sob hysterically and scream “Don’t make me! You win! You win!”

  20. December 10, 2010 11:45 am

    This is probably not the same kind of fear you’re referencing above, but it was still just as real to me when I was a child. I’m from the north; and when I was little we moved from up north down to Georgia. The only reference I had for the south was ‘The Dukes of Hazzard,’ so I was more than a little anxious about the transition.

    So, yes, pop culture made me afraid of “The South.”

  21. December 10, 2010 12:24 pm

    What a great post! I have a real fear of the woods, just because 99% of horror movies seem to take place there. Friday the 13th, Cabin in the Woods, Blair Witch, Watcher in the Woods–just a few examples of the fact that nothing ever good happens in the woods.

  22. December 10, 2010 12:47 pm

    Running out of gas or driving a beater. Always a harbinger of doom in movies.

  23. Hsofia permalink
    December 10, 2010 12:49 pm

    Lonely cabins in the woods.

    Talking dolls.

    Janky mountain roads without side rails.

    Stuff rustling in bushes off hiking paths.

    Men who carry knives. Saw a dude in an El Pollo Loco near Portland who had a good-sized switchblade dangling from a loop in his pants and I kept my eye on him. Couldn’t wait to get the hell away from him. In the movies, only sneaky guys who play dirty carry blades.

  24. eieioj permalink
    December 10, 2010 12:55 pm

    Shaving. Because of the movie Cabin Fever.

  25. Hsofia permalink
    December 10, 2010 12:57 pm

    Also: driving across railroad tracks. I usually pause as I approach them and then speed over real fast, as I’m terrified of the car stalling on the tracks.

    Also, falling asleep in the bathtub. Because when I wake up there will be a hitman or serial killer standing over me.

  26. Anie permalink
    December 10, 2010 12:58 pm

    Uber quiet people that take people’s guff (Carrie). or wear masks (Jason/MMyers)

    and they are “all gonna laugh at you”!

  27. December 10, 2010 12:59 pm

    @Anie – yeah I don’t like those “quiet” types either. That just means they’ll zap you with their thoughts just to look at you.

  28. December 10, 2010 1:41 pm

    Amphibious rodents. Because I need my johnson.

  29. IrishUp permalink
    December 10, 2010 3:09 pm

    “Pop culture and Catholic upbringing pack a mean 0ne-two punch.”
    QFT

    @hsofia, I am with you on talking dolls, or for that matter, talking electronics.

    @eieioj OMG – Remember that Night Gallery WITH the moving picture?? SHIVERS.

    I also have an unreasoning fear of quicksand. Thankfully, it has not turned out to be as ubiquitous as I was lead to believe.

  30. December 10, 2010 3:10 pm

    not drawing the blinds/curtains over a window at nighttime. seeing into that black inky nothingness, knowing the person on the outside can see me perfectly, I’m always waiting for a scary face to get two inches from the glass and scare the bejeezus out of me.

  31. December 10, 2010 3:20 pm

    Amphibious rodents. Because I need my johnson

    What do you need that for, dude?

    I’m wary of basements and don’t understand why anyone would need to go into one if female, attractive, late at night and under the cover of darkness. I’m doing the laundry now so I don’t have to go down there all weekend!

  32. December 10, 2010 3:26 pm

    In college a friend and I used to “Nerak” roll each other all the time. The best was the time I wrote “Nerak” in lipstick on her compact mirror, which she opened during an inopportune moment during a performance of a play.

    “I FRY MINE IN BUTTER!” indeed.

  33. December 10, 2010 4:29 pm

    “Pop culture and Catholic upbringing pack a mean 0ne-two punch.”
    QFT

    second! also, IrishUp, I hear the quicksand thing. funny how when you learn about it as a kid, they fail to mention WHERE it is located. I thought a sandbox could turn evil at any moment.

  34. aliciamaud permalink
    December 10, 2010 4:51 pm

    Seagulls.

    Because of the creepy ones in The Talisman (“when Jackie was six”), which my parents read aloud to us one spring when they decided we should give up tv for Lent, speaking of the pop-culture-Catholicism-one-two.

    Also, I second raymondj’s inky black windows…I saw like 5 seconds of a horror movie in 7th grade at a slumber party where that happened and stared at the ceiling for the rest of the night while the other girls slept…in a sunroom that was all windows. Shudder.

  35. IrishUp permalink
    December 10, 2010 5:26 pm

    “I thought a sandbox could turn evil at any moment.”
    LOL – I had this too, esp. because my moms wouldn’t hardley ever let me play in sandboxes as a kid! Then she explained it was because of the cat-poop (urban sanboxes+feral cats)! PHEW, I figured if the cats didn’t sink in them when they pooped, the MUST be safe.

  36. December 11, 2010 2:22 pm

    Hm. Well, I’m glad that most people aren’t completely afraid of clowns!

    However, I’ll mention the elephant in the room that everyone has clearly avoided, and that’s:

  37. eieioj permalink
    December 11, 2010 4:33 pm

    Rosemary’s Baby has made me fear overly friendly elderly people.

  38. Claire permalink
    December 13, 2010 4:24 am

    Yep, also scared of looking out of windows at nighttime and ocean swimming. And I absolutely can’t watch arty, black and white movies on VHS ever since Ring.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention What Did Pop Culture Make You Fear? « I Fry Mine In Butter -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

