Skip to content

Who is that Actor: Lauren Tom

December 8, 2010

Lauren Tom as the infamous coffin dwelling siren Emma Zoole

Prolific voice actor Lauren Tom has always been “Emma Zoole” to me. In fact, for a long time it was hard for me to reconcile her work as Zoole on a handful of season three Homicide: Life on the Street episodes and all the voices she does for shows like King of the Hill and Futurama. Det. Tim Bayliss was so distraught when Emma Zoole dumped him, he robbed a liquor store at gunpoint when the clerk wouldn’t spot him $.11! That’s what I call a memorable character.

Speaking of memorable. Here’s Tom doing a table read with fellow cast member of Futurama. So fun!

Of her extensive on-screen work, Tom is perhaps better known as a behind-the-scene voice actor with an impressive range of vocal stylings. In looking at the list of characters she’s voiced I was pretty stunned by the sheer volume of her work. I do remember Tom’s stint on both The Cosby Show and The Fact of Life. I suppose her most well known on-screen credit is probably for the film adaption of the Amy Tan novel The Joy Luck Club.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 11:45 am

    I can’t believe I never put it together that she does both Futurama and King of the Hill! It’s so clear to me now.

  2. December 9, 2010 12:07 pm

    I love Amy!

  3. Regina B permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:10 pm

    It may be naive of me, but I think it’s amazing that she voices the entire Laotian family.

  4. Regina B permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:11 pm

    (on King of the Hill…)

  5. December 9, 2010 12:26 pm

    I thought he did Ted Wassanasong, but that’s Mike Judge. I love Ted’s voice. It really is like smooth jazz.

  6. December 11, 2010 3:55 pm

    Really, this opens up another possible series: who is that voice actor! Thanks for the great tribute to Lauren.

Leave a Reply

