Skip to content

Your Friday Five: Awesome Stuff

December 3, 2010
by

Duck walk…

  • This was allllll over the music nerdy webs this week. Perhaps you’ve seen it already, but it’s so good you should watch it again! The Rolling Stones’ “Gimmie Shelter” is deconstructed to separate each track. Above is Mary Clayton and Mick Jagger’s vocals only track. This is how it’s done. Get all music geeky on the rest of the tracks over at Dangerous Minds.
  • Classy times.

    Tumblr of the Week goes to Aloha Friday. Don’t you wish everyday was Friday? When you could blow off those stupid teachers at school, or toss back a few drinks and forget all about your micromanaging boss? Aloha Friday posts found photos of people not having any cares. Nostalgia! 80’s hair dos! Beach towels! Prom photos! Goofy hats! Unfiltered cigarettes! Bikinis! Good times! (There are a few photos with nudity ((gasp!)) so some of the content is NSFW!) Aloha Friday is brought to us by the genius behind the greatest tumblr of them all: Three Frames.

  • Mariah put out a new Christmas album! But “All I Want For Christmas (Is You)” is so perfect that I’m having trouble bringing myself to listening to the new one. Revisit this. Do it! This may be my favorite Christmas song ever. Seriously. Who am I kidding? I can never just choose one. So I’ll do a Friday 5… or 10, or 15 next week…
  • Get me a cup of hot joe and put a blanket on me. Put that plate in front of me and leave me alone.

    I made these Triple Ginger Cookies from Heidi Swanson’s 101 Cookbooks this week and they are AMAZING. Three, count them three types of ginger inside these chewy devils. Heidi writes super easy and super tasty recipies. She cooks “clean” (no artificial or overly processed foods), and somewhat healthy. She has a great cook book… check it out.

  • I send you off with this. Awesome X 100,000,000,000,000….
15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 2:25 pm

    I love “All I Want for Christmas is You.” I first heard that song as sung by then-eleven year old Olivia Olson in Love, Actually

  2. December 3, 2010 2:30 pm

    Oh that was such a cute scene! How cute were both of those kids?

  3. December 3, 2010 2:41 pm

    I go back and forth between Mariah’s version and Olivia’s. It’s hard to choose. It’s like trying to choose your favorite member of Wham (Deon Estus, in case anyone asks). Poplife, as always, these entries put the best cap on a work week and a nice start to the weekend. Thank you!

  4. Lani permalink
    December 3, 2010 2:41 pm

    “All I want for Christmas is You” is my favorite holiday tune for sure, well “Sleighbells” too. That scene in “Love Actually” was great, and I could not believe Olivia Olson was actually singing it! She has an incredible voice.

    “Gimme Shelter” is probably my favorite Stones song, and I was reading an article not too long ago about Mary Clayton’s amazing vocal work on it. That and my partner has been learning it on guitar recently so I’ve been listening to a lot of it! Thanks for linking that deconstruction, it’s always fun get into the guts of that kind of thing.

  5. December 3, 2010 2:42 pm

    Everyone think good thoughts for the Queen of Soul who’s under the weather.

  6. December 3, 2010 2:55 pm

    I can’t imagine a world without her. Aretha and Roberta have been the salve for my troubled soul for so long.

  7. December 3, 2010 3:14 pm

    Also, that version Gimmie Shelter makes feel as though I’m in a Scorese trailer, which is a good thing!

  8. December 3, 2010 3:25 pm

    Mary Clayton is SHUTTING IT DOWN ©. I’ve listened to this thing like 30 times this week. I love that in the deconstruction you can practically hear Mick drooling over her voice.

  9. December 3, 2010 4:03 pm

    Awesome indeed. The only things missing are some of those delectable Triple Ginger Cookies…

  10. December 3, 2010 4:05 pm

    Mary Clayton is SHUTTING IT DOWN ©. I’ve listened to this thing like 30 times this week. I love that in the deconstruction you can practically hear Mick drooling over her voice.

    For serious. I love attempting to replicate her vocals in the shower. Of course, my imitation pales and is largely auditory hell.

  11. December 3, 2010 4:09 pm

    Oh Miss Clayton!!!

  12. December 3, 2010 4:28 pm

    Oh man, color me embarrassed, I meant Merry!

  13. December 3, 2010 8:18 pm

    Another in the deconstructing thread…. BOWIE. “Moonage Daydream”

    http://www.dangerousminds.net/comments/deconstructing_moonage_daydream_hear_david_bowie_in_the_studio_1971/

    “Put yuhhhh rayguhhhn to maaahhhh heeeeaaaaaahhhhd!”
    So awesome!

  14. December 3, 2010 8:23 pm

    Ronson’s guitar track is killing me. I love all the soft, little flourishes and slides.

  15. December 3, 2010 8:26 pm

    I’m having similar problems with Mariah’s new xmas album — how could it ever surpass the perfection of All I Want for Christmas is You?! it’s just impossible.

    I would be so down with top 5 christmas songs post. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

