Skip to content

Everybody’s Franco-American

December 2, 2010

(from Perez Hilton, obvs)

James Franco has the high school’s best smile.  He is no rebel without a cause, just the Golden Globe winning star of a James Dean biopic.  He fights Spiderman, captained a battalion, and flies with the Blue Angels.   He slept with Harvey Milk, wrote Howl, sold pot to Judd Apatow, and made art in Port Charles.  Then he posed for a photo in drag and chewed off his own arm to escape death.   James Franco could be anywhere.

Welcome to an episode of Franco Watch.

+ Don’t believe any of the negative rumors about “bedlam” on the Inside the Actor’s Studio set where James Franco dueled with James Lipton to see who gets to keep using the name James.  Lipton did say it was a boisterous crowd, but that they all “had a great time together“.  Lipton also reports that he is “He’s very clever. He’s got four master’s degrees, and he just signed up for his Ph.D. at Yale.”  He’s coming, New Haven!

+ You probably know by now that James Franco will be live on television this winter hosting the Oscars (along with Anne Hathaway), so now everyone is speculating on his plan to save the Academy.  Movieline asks a couple of questions about the strategy to engage “Generation Y” in their piece, including whether Franco is such a “star” after all.  Blaspheme!  Keep an eye on Movieline, some performance art by James might happen there soon.

+ James Franco was just announced to star with Ben Stiller in Noah Baumbach’s new film, While We Were Young.  He will be playing – get this – a hip person!   In Other News, Jennifer Jason Leigh filed for divorce from Noah Baumbach last week.  Coincidence?!?!  Well, okay, yeah, it probably is.  I guess not everything is Franco.

~~~~~~~

Keep your eyes peeled for James Franco….he could be anywhere.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 2:48 pm

    In Other News, Jennifer Jason Leigh filed for divorce from Noah Baumbach last week. Coincidence?!?! Well, okay, yeah, it probably is. I guess not everything is Franco.

    LOL. Thank you for the heads up. I am slowly warming to this cheeky mofo. Dammit!

  2. December 2, 2010 2:49 pm

    Um, I’m going to go out on a limb and say that you’re a James Franco fan.

  3. December 2, 2010 2:54 pm

    @Krista, I don’t even think we have a choice in the matter. It’s Franco’s world and we’re just lucky enough to live in it.

  4. December 2, 2010 3:01 pm

    Krista, actually I’m not! but I see it all around me. I am compelled to document the ubiquity. Franco would want it that way.

  5. December 2, 2010 3:40 pm

    Franco needs to be put on our money.

  6. tracijean permalink
    December 2, 2010 3:40 pm

    I wouldn’t have minded if he’d stayed Daniel Desario forever. All this other stuff is just distracting.

  7. December 2, 2010 5:21 pm

    @tracijean As I was reading this, I was thinking how crazy it is that Daniel Desario of all people became so ubiquitous just a few years after Freaks & Geeks was canceled.

    I like his adventurousness and willing to try anything, but he’s close to being overexposed in a “Taylor Swift winning every single award in 2009” kind of way.

  8. December 2, 2010 6:13 pm

    @Snarky’s Machine – Ah, I see. Thanks for enlightening me. 😉

    @raymondj “Franco would want it that way”? Ack! Seriously, though, I hear you.

  9. aliciamaud permalink
    December 2, 2010 6:23 pm

    @Snarky’s Machine: I think you are right to hang in there with Franco. All my favorite uncles were Daniel Desarios when they were teenagers (and I was a baby going for ice cream with them strapped into their junkers with their Kim Kelley girlfriends)…and they all turned INTO Bruce Willis-types…inclusive of both hairlines and harmonicas. Give him some time.

  10. evmaroon permalink
    December 2, 2010 6:29 pm

    Don’t forget that he has a secret relationship with a blow up doll. 😉

  11. aliciamaud permalink
    December 2, 2010 6:34 pm

    Kimiko has a *name*, evmaroon. Show some respect. 😉

  12. December 2, 2010 8:14 pm

    @aliciamaud: HA! and I believe she’s a pillow, not a blow up doll.

  13. evmaroon permalink
    December 2, 2010 8:44 pm

    Pillow, blow up dolls, whatever. I’m glad you two are so well versed with the community.

  14. December 3, 2010 2:33 am

    http://www.monstersandcritics.com/people/news/article_1602810.php/James-Franco-headed-for-Broadway

    Just in case you don’t think screen acting actually counts as TRUE acting!

    Yeah… Franco is like Visa… he’s everywhere you want to be.

  15. December 3, 2010 6:48 am

    Except unlike Jaws, there is no ominous music to warn us of his arrival.

  16. December 3, 2010 9:10 am

    Heaven help us if he ever takes singing lessons. Or shows up on DWTS.

  17. December 3, 2010 9:59 am

    I do believe Franco does sing, or let’s hope he can if he’s headed to broadway.

  18. December 3, 2010 9:59 am

    omg, I didn’t even think about him doing a music, but of course that is the natural progression. he’ll pick up a guitar and sing with Jimmy Fallon and the Roots soon enough.

  19. December 3, 2010 10:02 am

    I think Franco should front Dogstar.

  20. aliciamaud permalink
    December 3, 2010 11:38 am

    But as an Irish tenor!

  21. December 3, 2010 2:36 pm

    @Snarky: Dogstar! I just spit coffee everywhere. I also spit coffee at the title of this post. I like Franco, it’s true. Couldn’t really tell you why. Yes, I liked him on Freaks and Geeks. But I dunno, I just want to pat him on the head and put him in a headlock then get a beer or something. It’s weird.

  22. December 3, 2010 6:07 pm

    p0plife! I’m glad you liked the post title; it made me laugh when I thought of it. Today at the grocery store I saw a can of Spaghettio’s and noticed they are now owned by Campbell’s, so now that joke means we’re OLD.

  23. December 3, 2010 7:39 pm

    Franco is like an adorable puppy that keeps wanting to play fetch when you’re tired of tossing that soggy ball.

Leave a Reply

