Skip to content

DWTS: Thank G-d.

November 24, 2010

The Dancing with the Stars finale was stretched over two nights, on Monday there was an hour and 15 minutes of dancing (ABC ended the show at an odd time to help convince people to stick around for Skating with the Stars which premiered afterwards), and then after the voting on Monday night, Tuesday night’s show had two more dances by the 3 finalist couples, including an instant dance.  All the past season’s contestants came back and danced for us, Xtina Aguilera did a song from Burlesque to promote the movie, but I have no idea if any of the performances were any good, because I’ve been taught that it doesn’t matter anymore, the popularity contest dominates.  All I could do was watch while wound up waiting for the results.  Bring on the damn results!

If you missed both nights, just watch this 3 minute clip of all three couples doing an Instant Cha Cha and that will pretty much bring you current.

And after all the brouhaha, who won?  Happy Thanksgiving, America!  The lady from Dirty Dancing.  Bristol wasn’t even runner-up!  That went to receiver of my votes, Kyle Massey.  He didn’t deserve the mirror ball trophy, to be honest, though I do have a soft spot for him dancing his freestyle to Tootsie Roll, which was the most popular song at my high school prom.  ATL forever!!

But ultimately, Jennifer Grey can end her career now comfortably with the mirror ball trophy on her mantelpiece.  Congratulations to Derek Hough for being the first professional to capture 3 wins as well.  I have been a little bit of a Grey hater this season in my recaps, because I’m not sure I’ve posted more than one clip the whole 11 weeks, so here’s the season 11 champion for you:

Well-played, ABC, on driving up your ratings, getting everyone up in arms, then following through on your effort to make Bristol Palin the Kelly Osbourne of the season — she only got as far as 3rd place as well.  In a few months, all the rage will die down and I’ll find myself getting excited when the names are released for the next season’s cast.  You sick bastards, there’s no quitting you.  Tune in next week to see if I end up getting sucked into watching Sean Young do some ice dancing.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 9:50 am

    Thanks so much Ray for your recaps and your insights to the show and the dancing. You definitely made this fun and sliced and diced the competition like a surgeon uses a scalpel, cutting away all the useless bits and finding the stuff that was crucial! Many congrats for that all season long!

    I knew Bristol would not win and really of the top 3, third was the only appropriate result. Popularity can count for a lot, and a ballot box voting bloc can carry you pretty far, but the best dancers do win out, and certainly Kyle and Jennifer both far excelled compared to Ms. Palin. I suppose we’ll never know just how close those votes were on the evenings when she was in the bottom and might have gone home much earlier… but it was certainly a happy ending for ABC that she didn’t!

  2. evmaroon permalink
    November 24, 2010 11:22 am

    Raymond, I feel your pain. And yet you’ve gone and made me actually find a soft spot for this show after years of crusty indifference. Bravo. Next time I find a mirror ball in my proximity, I’ll grab it and send it to you.

    Yes, Jennifer Grey was the only outcome for this season that would have made sense. Like you pointed out, she had surgery in order to do this competition! No one else had SURGERY, sheesh!

  3. November 24, 2010 12:00 pm

    There was a collective “Yes!” in the house last night when third place was announced.

    Kyle was also my main vote getter. Even though I knew he wouldn’t beat out Jennifer Grey, it was important to me that he out-place Bristol Palin. (Otherwise my hours spent watching the show would have been in vain.)

  4. renniejoy permalink
    November 24, 2010 12:39 pm

    I loved seeing Mark put in the cage ( I know it was his idea, but still). 🙂

    One day Maks will win! I may have to actually vote to make sure this happens.

  5. November 24, 2010 1:18 pm

    When I saw Palin dance I knew she was done for. It might have been her best of the season, but sloppy dancing nonetheless. Jennifer Grey is a respectable choice, though I haven’t been paying much attention to her during this round of recaps. Kyle should have won. He endeared himself to me through your tireless support of him and also for not being Rick Fox dancing craptastically to the theme from Hill Street Blues.

  6. hsofia permalink
    November 24, 2010 1:30 pm

    I like Kyle Massey’s graceful footwork in that Cha Cha Cha video; his partner is fabulous. I can’t believe that was as good as Bristol Palin had gotten by the END. Wow.

  7. November 24, 2010 1:41 pm

    I like Kyle Massey’s graceful footwork in that Cha Cha Cha video; his partner is fabulous. I can’t believe that was as good as Bristol Palin had gotten by the END. Wow.

    LOL. Exactly. With all that practice and prep, seems like she’d be further along considering all the hoopla surrounded her rise to the top three.

  8. November 24, 2010 2:30 pm

    I tried watching this show once, perhaps for the wrong reason, but I tried. Warren Sapp was someone I looked up to for a awhile. I admired him in college and tried to play like him. I sat down to watch when he was on Dancing. I made it through the first episode…shaking my head. I was disturbed to see someone that I had put on a pedestal for their ferocity and their motor.(thats jock talk for his energy level when he played). I suppose it is the Neanderthal in me that was more interested in the ladies attire than any interest in actually seeing anyone dance. I make no apologies for my stone aged mentality. I am just wired that way. Fast forward to now… I read every Fry Butter post. Even the ones about things I know nothing about. I like yalls style. I will never watch Homicide:Life on the Streets(please don’t hold it against me). I will never watch Dancing With The Stars. But I have found that I look forward to the Dancing articles. It allows me to at least follow along with peoples conversations on the show with out ever having to tune in. Thank you Fry Butter!! You spend hours following this so I will never have to.

  9. IrishUp permalink
    November 24, 2010 3:43 pm

    Hah! I watched the finale, but felt like I had read spoilers, so spot on has the discussion been here.

    @1TO – my mom’s finally got me to watch DWTS the season when Sapp came on (Sapp brought me, Cloris Leachman sold me!). We were soo disappointed when he didn’t win. We felt like the judges were often on him for being the SIZE he was, while underrating his really good footwork and balance. Which, yanno, you’d expect from a pro-bowl calibre DT with 90-some odd career sacks. Anyway, I always enjoyed watching him.

  10. November 26, 2010 10:51 am

    Thank you all for your lovely comments! I love so many people are entertained by my fascination with the show, even if you don’t watch it yourselves. I’m flattered. See you in the spring for season 12!

  11. November 26, 2010 12:26 pm

    Raymond proves quite effectively that one needn’t actually watch a show to be entertained by well written recaps of it! Well played, sir! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. That Meme You’ve Been Ignoring: What Would Tom Bergeron Do? |

Leave a Reply

