Skip to content

Giving Thanks, Pop Culture Style

November 22, 2010

Since it’s Thanksgiving this week, I’d like to give thanks for a few pop culture-related things that made me happy this year.

Reinventing My Must-See TV

In the past few seasons, watching The Office felt awkward and tedious, like a homework assignment. The current season is just plain uncomfortable–it makes me look away from the screen with the same aggrieved desperation I watch horror movies. So this fall I gave up The Office in exchange for Community, and I couldn’t be happier and more entertained.

Also hooray for the return of Parks and Recreation to its old Thursday time slot, without replacing Outsourced on NBC’s schedule. Yes, the person who wrote this post is also sorta thankful for Outsourced. For all of its flaws, the fact that it has an audience could lead to more shows with diverse casts on network television.

Emmy Recognition for Friday Night Lights

Its embarrassing to admit, but tears came to my eyes when I heard Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton’s names announced as Emmy nominees in June. They are just that freaking good. Here’s hoping at least one of them gives an awards show acceptance speech before Friday Night Lights ends next year.

Awesome Podcasts


The following podcasts keep me me great company during work hours: NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour, 50 Great Voices and All Songs Considered, and Hitfix’s Firewall & Iceberg. Entertaining and often educational!

Being Spoiler Free


I’m tempting fate here, but I haven’t seen Toy Story 3 yet, and still haven’t been spoiled in any way regarding what seems like 2010’s most beloved film.(I’ll get to it eventually. It’s #1 with a bullet in the Netflix queue.) Also, I saw Inception right when it came out, and was able to enjoy the movie since I didn’t know a single thing about it beforehand, including [irony, SPOILER!] this.

Being Born Before 1980

This New York Times article about how kids’ brains are changing due to technology freaked me out. Specifically, the idea that this generation’s teens find books boring because they lack the instant gratification of YouTube.

Call me an old fuddy duddy (especially since I used the term “fuddy duddy”), but I’m glad I came of age at the time I did, so I was able to grow up with a love and appreciation for books and reading. Not to mention that I still value the English language enough to compose text messages in complete sentences, rather than using letters and numbers in place of words.

I Fry Mine in Butter


Everything about this blog–from the contributors to the commenters to the FAQ–rocks. Happy to have discovered it this year, and happy to be a part of it!

What are you giving thanks for this year, pop culture or otherwise?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 1:09 am

    aww, this post is so sweet! and a good reminder. I’m grateful for Fry Butter as well and I feel you on the born-before-1980 thing too!

    I’m grateful this is the year I finally discovered Rome and Deadwood.

  2. November 23, 2010 1:19 am

    I am late to the party on most things, yet I am thrilled that Junior and I have started watching Friday Night Lights and we love it. I remember being the football star in small town Texas. The show really shines a light on that kind of life without staring down its nose at it…yet. We are on the fourth or fifth episode. I really don’t recall being that brooding when I was a teenager though.

  3. November 23, 2010 11:09 am

    I’m grateful for finding a cohort of writers who are brilliant, smart, savvy and whose pop culture knowledge is staggering.

    I’m grateful for Damages and Leverage; the only reasons I watch TV anymore.

  4. Glow Ruiz permalink
    November 23, 2010 2:21 pm

    Hi,
    I was born in 1990, so i came of age in the year that internet access got faster and more efficient down ihere in Nicaragua.
    While I agree that all this technology has affected the way people my age communicate and bond, I must say i feel blessed that I was born in the internet-craze, in my country people in general don’t care much about culture and intelectuality, and the internet was my way to find all i wanted, it actually made me a better reader. So, I get your point, but I’m still thankful i’m one of those Gen Y kids.

  5. November 23, 2010 9:14 pm

    @raymondj I need to be grateful for discovering Deadwood pronto!

    @1sttime0ffender I came super late to the party to FNL too. I got tired of hearing how good the show was, so just buckled down and watched it, and glad I did. Really need to use those same instincts for Deadwood.

    @snarkysmachine Please include yourself among the cohort of writers, cuz you are every one of those things and then some.

    @Glow Ruiz Thanks for reading and commenting, you make some good points. Like I said, I’m an old (but unapologetic) fuddy duddy!

  6. hsofia permalink
    November 23, 2010 9:45 pm

    Giving thanks that:
    Hubster found ‘permanent’ employment,
    we moved to a city we both love,
    no major medical procedures for Kidlet this year!
    Doing NaNoWriMo for first time (and on track to complete it),
    meeting Everett Maroon for the short time he’s in Seattle,
    becoming closer friends w/ someone I’ve known for years and always admired.
    Pop culture-wise, I’m so far behind that I can’t cite anything new, but my current faves right now are the tv show “Merlin,” singer Kate Bush, Twitter, and Netflix Instant.

  7. evmaroon permalink
    November 24, 2010 11:30 am

    Aww, thanks for the shoutout, @hsofia! I’m grateful for getting some quality chat time over excellent espresso, and I’m excited that you’ve partaken of the NaNo chaos.

    I’m very grateful for my friends and colleagues at IFMiB—so much sassy insight and analysis of popular culture has really expanded my own understanding, and I deeply appreciate that.

    I’m grateful for the entertainment brought to me by Damages, even if I came a little late to the game. And for DirecTV for giving us even a little more of the series and Glenn Close. If I have to be set up by anyone, I want it to be Patty Hewes.

    I’m also indebted to my MacBook Pro which is hanging on by a thread after four years of near-constant use. Please, Wanda, just a little while longer, okay? (Yes, I name my computers.)

    I hear the music playing now, so I presume it’s time to get off the stage. Great post, popscribblings!

  8. IrishUp permalink
    November 24, 2010 4:53 pm

    I am sending a whole lotta love to all the FryButter writers; I am greatful to each of you for putting your work out there!

    I am thankful that my partner bought a schmancy new computer we can watch TV on, so I have finally had the NFL experience in HD at home like a Normal ‘Merrikan(tm). It also is greatly accelerating my Leverage and Dexter catch-up rate.

    I am grateful that WeeIrish is finally old enough to really get that Mommy can’t see 3D movies because it triggers migraines. PHEEEWWWW! Just in time for the holidaze!

Leave a Reply

