Skip to content

Cause Never Was the Reason For The Evening: The 52 State Pick-Up Mix Intermission

November 13, 2010

This week I’m on the road, driving from Seattle to Spokane to Portland and back to Seattle again, I’m conducting live research for the next mixtape entry and didn’t have time to pick music, so please excuse this week’s hiatus – tune in next week for Part 9.  A lesser blog would leave you with a clips post or a rerun, but not Fry Butter!  As a consolation prize, I give you my top 5 America songs.

The band America.  My top five favorite songs by the band, America.

5.  Ventura Highway.

Classic or cliche?  I’m not sure I care.

4.  Sister Golden Hair

This is that song everyone thinks they don’t know, then it gets to the chorus and they sing along.

3.  Tin Man

Someday I’ll get to see Snarky’s Machine do her Tin Man dance in person.  Until then, I’ll just think about her writing about it, whenever I hear this song.

2.  Daisy Jane

I was pumping gas last year and there was music piping softly out of the speakers which I didn’t realize until I was singing outloud.  My body filled with joy as I reunited with a song I’d forgotten for a few years.  I love the opening beat of highway concrete seams.

1. You Can Do Magic

I will walk into any karaoke bar in any city at any hour of the day and throw down this jam stone cold sober while waiting for my drink order to get filled.  (Enjoy the aquarium, too.)

~~~~~

See you next week!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 8:33 pm

    This post serves to remind me: I’ve been one poor correspondent and I’ve been too too hard to find.

  2. November 13, 2010 10:39 pm

    Damn, your memory is better than mine. I was coming to mention that dance!

    *Tin Man dances*

  3. November 14, 2010 8:12 am

    It’s so funny that I totally think of America as the soundtrack to my road trips, when I’m pretty certain I’ve never actually listened to their music. while driving, though I have all those gas-station-in-hell comp CDs which inexplicable all have “Ventura Highway” as the third track.

    Fucking Oz never did give nothing to the Tin Man, that he didn’t already have!

  4. Lani permalink
    November 14, 2010 11:16 am

    Part of me is pretty sure America only had five songs worth listening to. But who am I kidding, I love them anyway. Also they did a good chunk of the soundtrack for “The Last Unicorn” which was one of my favorite movies (and books) growing up. (Did I request it on DVD for my 20th birthday? Why yes, yes I did.)

  5. November 14, 2010 3:45 pm

    @Lani: The Last Unicorn would be #6 on my list!! I loved that movie too. It holds up better than other childhood favorites, I found.

    It’s hard to find the original song to embed, but here’s the kenny loggins version.

    And there are more America songs! Lonely People, Horse with No Name, and…..um……ok, maybe there are 8 America songs.

  6. November 14, 2010 5:39 pm

    Maybe the Captain and Tenille scored the hit with this, but I think it should count as one of the eight nonetheless:

  7. Lani permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:59 pm

    @raymondj Holy crap! I didn’t even know Kenny Loggins had a version of that. I fail at keeping track of things from my childhood. Also, I’ll take that song total to 9: here’s “Walking Man’s Road,” also from “The Last Unicorn” which is another America song I love. This one didn’t make it onto their greatest hits album, though, sadly!

  8. March 31, 2011 10:57 am

    LOL @Sister Golden Hair. I was like, “ooh a deep…wait, it’s that ‘meet me in the middle’ song.”

  9. March 31, 2011 11:22 am

    hahahah. that’s the song everyone thinks they don’t know, until the chorus comes….wait, that might be a future jukebox post topic!

  10. March 31, 2011 5:55 pm

    “cars never was the reason for the evening” makes just about as much sense as any of the real lyrics in that Tin Man song.

Leave a Reply

