Skip to content

Your Friday Five: 2010 Gems

November 12, 2010

There’s nothing to fix/With one pair of dice/you could roll 66/and make trouble/big trouble

5 releases from 2010 that may have flown under your radar:

  • Sam Phillips – Magic For Everybody. I went looking for a song from Sam Phillips’ fantastic 1994 release, Martinis and Bikinis, and found this EP had been released quietly to little fanfare. Which is a shame, because it’s a tasty little bite of smart, bittersweet, pop music. Yes, Sam’s “I Need Love” was the theme song to the twee (but sometimes great) Gilmore Girls (which she also spent 7 years scoring), but if you weren’t a fan of the show, don’t hold it against her. Sam has a way of taking the maudlin, and sharpening it. The lyrics, “Don’t let perfect make you blind/To this beautiful world” would crumble under lesser songwriters and crappier singers. You can download the 5 song EP from EMusic, or buy that shiz the old school way. At a record shop!
  • Sonny and the Sunsets – “Too Young To Burn” Man, I have listened to this song a lot this year. The album is pretty good and all, but this is the song I keep coming back to. It rolls along with no cares, slightly slack, bare feet, and unwashed hair. Here’s his blog. I kinda hate most musician blogs, but there it is.
  • Male Bonding – Nothing Hurts. Three young dudes from Australia (or is it the UK, goddamn it, internet) make a sweet racket that you can bounce along to. Honestly, their name made me skim over them every time I saw it in print, but a co-worker pal of mine insisted I give ’em a try, and I’m glad. I can not get enough noisy pop. They killed it live at Musicfest Northwest at a showcase that had a weird, difficult, mixed crowd. Catchy songs, you know?
  • The Flips – “I Just Don’t Know Where I Stand Anymore” Bummed that the Pipettes splintered off, got confused, watered down? Here’s a little candy for you. Don’t get down little buddy, put this on repeat and ride your bike to the comic shop.
  • Aloe Blacc – Good Things. Damn, did Aloe’s voice just melt all the chocolate in your house? Ever since I got this album, I can’t keep any candy bars in the house. Howsabout a little tribute to MJ?

What are your under the radar gems from this year?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 2:09 pm

    Ooh this is heaven. I’ve been waiting for this all week. I also have been looking for something on par with The Pipettes, Pony Up and The Ting Tings. So far the only unstoppable track has been Black Cards “Club Called Heaven”. Don’t laugh at me. I’m old and musically unhip. it reminds me of Blue Cantrell and Gwen Stefani, but dressed like the chick from The Ravonettes singing like White Town and Chung King.

  2. November 12, 2010 2:35 pm

    Aloe Blacc! I heard this song earlier this year but wasn’t in a place to get the album, so thanks for the reminder. I love the framed Dolly Parton on the wall behind him.

  3. November 12, 2010 2:44 pm

    speaking of old and musically unhip, I went into an actual record shop last week to see an in-store performance by The 1900s and learned that Tricky has a new album that came out last month which made me real excited. Then I got it and liked it, which is even better.

  4. November 12, 2010 3:04 pm

    As someone who is also a member of the “old and unmusically hip” club, I really appreciate this series! Especially enjoyed Sonny and the Sunsets and Aloe Blacc.

  5. November 12, 2010 3:05 pm

    Woah, Tricky! Man, I used to LOOOOOOOVE him, but gave up on him after several blah albums. I like the track you posted… I’m going to have to listen to some more.

  6. November 12, 2010 3:10 pm

    I am loving that Sonny and the Sunsets muchly. It’s so good. I’m so scared of new music and I’m trying to work harder to overcome that.

  7. November 14, 2010 1:22 pm

    Pop Life. That’s the name of the new Television Series that should be airing on Saturday at about 11am that gives you the lowdown on the best new music. Since American Bandstand and Soul Train aren’t around anymore, someone has to fill that gap!

    and I’m pleased to say I actually have something to contribute to this list!

Leave a Reply

