Skip to content
16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 11:02 am

    I would say this isn’t “old school”, except it’s from 1999 and you used Miss Jackson, so I’m gonna assume you’ll allow.

    Remember when ATCQ broke up and Q-Tip did a solo song and we had big hopes but it was all about wanting to feel “those big ass thighs”? So disappointing. But I totally would spin this song and dance to it in a heartbeat.

  2. November 13, 2010 11:17 am

    You know how the kids be doing things. If it’s not new hotness it’s old school! I don’t understand it either, but I’m desperate to remain relevant in the world of hip hop.

  3. November 13, 2010 11:18 am

    here’s another one that gets more old school love than its sound would indicate. it’s not Biggie’s best verse, by any means.

  4. November 13, 2010 11:24 am

    Okay, so it’s not just me. I do not understand why this song gets all kinds of love and joy when it’s just Diddy’s version of Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It. Not in terms of lyric themes, but in terms of danceable blandness. I love it, but really, it wasn’t that bomb.

  5. November 13, 2010 4:10 pm

    I have no idea why but “This Is How We Do It” always makes me super happy. I also have a tendency to sing the opening line before doing various tasks and activities.

  6. November 13, 2010 4:15 pm

    It’s also from the 90s but this is another crowd pleaser song for me.

  7. November 13, 2010 4:19 pm

    (And I realize that me liking them slightly negates the post’s purpose but I also think it’s weird that “No Diggity” gets a lot of old school love. It’s not that old!!)

  8. November 13, 2010 4:47 pm

    No Diggity! Good call, Chriso. I have been known to sing Montell Jordan about random tasks too. Just like Tom.

  9. KirbyEP permalink
    November 13, 2010 5:53 pm

    I shared this on the FB and my friend Dan said he was surprised this wasn’t on the list….

  10. KirbyEP permalink
    November 13, 2010 5:59 pm

    I suppose, now that I’m seeing it again, it has far less pretense than your other choices. It’s pretty straightforward with it’s “cheeseosity.”

  11. November 13, 2010 10:41 pm

    Oh man, Humpty! Sometimes I forget this was a legitimate groove!!!

  12. November 14, 2010 8:29 am

    It seems like everyone knows the words – at least the chorus (even folks who don’t listen to hip hop) – to this song. I remember when it dropped I thought it was cheesy like some of Too Short’s mid career tracks.

    It became my theme song when I had this weird, blingy, tricked out 1993 Honda Accord, with disco lights and all this other spoiled down. I got the car when my beloved grocerygetter died. I didn’t have a stereo, so I had to bring my iPod and a portable speaker to get my Big Tymers on. Oh Evelyn – the car’s name – was a trip!

  13. November 14, 2010 8:37 am

    Ha. it could be argued that “Still Fly” was my theme song in college.

  14. November 14, 2010 8:40 am

    (And I realize that me liking them slightly negates the post’s purpose but I also think it’s weird that “No Diggity” gets a lot of old school love. It’s not that old!!)

    You’re hip, but not that bad kind of hipster! No Diggity is so infectious!

  15. November 14, 2010 12:48 pm

    Does this one count (at least on the sheer fact that in “inspired” MC Hammer)

  16. Nate permalink
    November 15, 2010 11:41 pm

    This horror is the most awful hiphop song of all time
    Sadly sonys’ music nazis have removed the official video

Leave a Reply

