Skip to content

First Look: ABC’s Off The Map

November 11, 2010

Because the world needs another medical show from Shonda Rhimes, comes Off The Map, which takes a bunch of way-too-hot-to-be-doctors, the time tested tropes of the Shondaverse and surgically relocates the action to a chronically understaffed small medical clinic in a sex drenched, steamy jungle of some fictional South American jungle that looks suspiciously like Hawaii – based on the clip. The show stars a bunch of actors I vaguely recall from other failed or unappreciated midrange fare, most notable, Jason George, who Grey’s fans will remember as the recipient of Bailey’s infamous “Tape and Glue” monologue.

Are you planning on watching this or any midseason replacement? Keeping in mind the midseason fare is considered the JV of pilots do you actually have hopes – based on fall’s varsity line up – the offerings in Jan will be any better?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 5:18 pm

    Given how grim the fall was, I do not have high hopes for midseason pickups. So far I haven’t seen a single promo that made me even vaguely interested.

  2. November 11, 2010 5:32 pm

    Me neither! Though I try to comfort myself with the realization that Grey’s was a midseason replacement! So was Homicide: Life on the street. still none of the previews seems to suggest we’re getting another GA or H:LOTS.

  3. November 11, 2010 5:42 pm

    There’s not a lot of Greys-type diversity among the cast, at least from what I can tell from the promo. Just bland pretty people, which is disappointing. Still kinda intriged by the premise though.

  4. November 11, 2010 5:45 pm

    Yeah, the show looks boring. And we’re back to one black dude = diversity. Also is Shonda really that burnt on black on black love? Man can’t none of her black leads ever get some long term loving from black partners? Don’t bring up the Chief or Bailey or Sam and Naomi. All went el foldo!

    And that’s cool!

  5. evmaroon permalink
    November 12, 2010 7:02 am

    I think the only thing this crop of mid-season replacements will have is that there’s not another wave of shows to fill in airtime if these suck candelabras. I’m not against seeing if it works. Seems like production staffs were missing a reason to film in Hawaii after Lost ended.

  6. November 12, 2010 12:01 pm

    The only midseason replacement I’m waiting for is Harry’s Law.

    David E. Kelley is to legal shows what Shonda Rhimes is to medicals.

  7. November 12, 2010 12:17 pm

    Maybe with the rebuilding year Varsity is having, JV will be where the diamonds in the rough are.

    Damn, will I have to change my name to the Eternal Pop Optimist??

  8. November 12, 2010 1:04 pm

    Harry’s Law had me at pot smoking Kathy Bates!!!

  9. Chi permalink
    November 12, 2010 6:35 pm

    I will at least try it, only because it’s a Shonda show and regardless of any problems that make you want to throw shoes at the TV, I just relish the anticipation and experience of Grey’s/PP night.* It’s a feeling like guilty pleasure, but not even guilty. It’s pour a glass of wine and indulge. If I didn’t know it was one of hers (and how hers is it? I heard “from the producers of”) I probably wouldn’t bother based on promos. Hey, it’s Matt Saracen! Ok, I’m definitely watching the pilot.

    *If anybody’s seen any good commentary on the current PP storyline, I’d love to know.

  10. November 12, 2010 7:10 pm

    @Chi – I haven’t watched PP at all with the exception of the Grey’s cross over in season three and a blink or two after the new Grey’s episodes go off. We do Grey’s around here, but perhaps next season, if I have time to get caught up on PP I’ll start recapping it here as well.

  11. November 14, 2010 1:34 pm

    Considering I know nothing about what people would want to watch, I’m not placing any bets on anything for mid-season. The new shows I thought were the best (based only on the pilots, mind you) were canceled, and the show I gave the lowest mark to became the comedy hit of the season.

    Ultimately TV just copies itself anyhow, so whatever shows are doing the best will get some sort of clone. Grey’s Anatomy meets Lost? Sure… that sounds like a winner.

Leave a Reply

