Skip to content

Your Friday Five: Fall On Me

November 5, 2010

Buy the sky and sell the sky

  • Cocteau Twins – “Cherry Coloured Funk”. This song is 20 years old and it sounds like it walked out of a misty forest yesterday. This is in my top 10 favorite songs ever. No matter how many times I hear this, I still feel drunk and woozy and giddy. The lyrics are surreal bits. “Beetles and eggs and blues and pour a little everything else/ You steam a lens stable eyes and glass/ Not get pissed off through my bird lips as good news” Lovely. Can I curl up in those leaves outside with this on an endless loop please?
  • Sam Cooke – “Lost and Looking” I probably could have thrown any of Sam’s ballads in here. But this song lends itself particularly well to walks alone with headphones on. Windy fall day is optional, but it sure doesn’t hurt.
  • Broadcast – Tender Buttons. Broadcast make being moody sound nice and sexy.
  • R.E.M. – “Fall On Me”. A little vintage R.E.M. A young, shirtless and dewy Stipe sells this song hard even though it sells itself. A fantastic, bittersweet anthem.
  • Beach House – “Zebra”. I want Beach House to sing me to sleep every night.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 1:29 pm

    “Beetles and eggs and blues and pour a little everything else/ You steam a lens stable eyes and glass/ Not get pissed off through my bird lips as good news” Lovely. Can I curl up in those leaves outside with this on an endless loop please?

    If there was a more perfect CT album than Heaven or Las Vegas I haven’t heard it. My favorite cut is a few west:

    Heaven or Las Vegas makes me thinking of Dior’s Poison, Cinnabon, the San Fernando valley, curling up in my room with a journal and being 16 forever. I love this entry!!!!

  2. November 5, 2010 1:46 pm

    “Fifty-Fifty” is awesome! I’m also a big fan of the way that “Frou Frou Foxes…” snakes around and keeps changing and creeps up behind you.

    Damn, look at Stipe whip that rat tail around. How weird is it that that look has come back? Or maybe it’s just here in Portland.

    Man, I could just post mopey shit all day. Here’s some mopey drone-metal with Jesse Sykes on the mic.

  3. November 5, 2010 2:30 pm

    “Frou Frou Foxes…” is off the chain. I love the wind up to the gorgeous “chorus”. Seriously, with the weather like this I could play sad bastard music all day.

Leave a Reply

