Skip to content

Holiday Movies: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt.1

November 5, 2010

For the three people who don’t know, the first installment of the final Harry Potter book Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1 drops in theaters two weeks from today. Of course, folks are probably already sleeping in IMAX parking lots in order to be the first on line for the midnight showing.

And here’s the trailer, which actually makes me excited to see the movie. I am a Potter fan by proxy; my parents are big fans. So how will you pass the next 14 days waiting for the film’s release? I am not mocking. I admire the excitement generated by the books and films. I have own “Harry Potter” and I know what that unbearable wait feels like. Not fun at all!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 4:34 pm

    I will spend the next week telling Offender Jr things like ” ….shut up I know” …”remember before that vampire guy was a vampire and he died in the maze?” ….”say Potter one more damn time and we ain’t going”

  2. November 5, 2010 4:37 pm

    @1sttimeoffender – HA! Are you at all excited about it? It looks pretty cool.

  3. November 5, 2010 5:14 pm

    i actually enjoyed the movies and the books. I even enjoy the hyper active fan girl it turns my child into. I am the grumpy old man now though. I don’t say “EEEEEEeeee” anymore….unless new info comes out Indiana Jones. Its Indiana Jones so I get a pass.

  4. Lani permalink
    November 5, 2010 5:47 pm

    The Harry Potter books have a special place in my heart; my family discovered them the year we were living in Paris and it was like our family-bonding time reading a fun book in English after a long day of trying to navigate our lives in French. I’ve never been really into the movies and I didn’t bother seeing them after the 3rd or 4th, but I too saw that trailer and got a tingle of excitement. I think I’ll pass on the midnight crowds, but I am looking forward to seeing this!

  5. November 5, 2010 5:54 pm

    I am the grumpy old man now though. I don’t say “EEEEEEeeee” anymore….unless new info comes out Indiana Jones. Its Indiana Jones so I get a pass.

    I’m the same way with both Star Trek and Star Wars!

    The Harry Potter books have a special place in my heart; my family discovered them the year we were living in Paris and it was like our family-bonding time reading a fun book in English after a long day of trying to navigate our lives in French. I’ve never been really into the movies and I didn’t bother seeing them after the 3rd or 4th, but I too saw that trailer and got a tingle of excitement. I think I’ll pass on the midnight crowds, but I am looking forward to seeing this!

    This is a totally sweet story! I never made it past the third movie, but I loved listening to the unabridged audiobooks on drives from VT to VA. I think I might the excitement of being pushed and shoved by people wearing capes and wielding plastic wands.

  6. November 5, 2010 9:56 pm

    Oh geez now I’m all worked up with excitement! I will probably get down with my nerd self and go to the midnight showing.

  7. November 6, 2010 12:00 am

    Every time I see one of the trailers I get chills and I squeal like an excited schoolgirl. So that pretty much sums up my state of mind in terms of waiting!

  8. hsofia permalink
    November 6, 2010 2:32 am

    I’ve read all the books and seen all the movies, and just saw the exhibit last weekend, but wouldn’t consider myself a fangirl. The world JK Rowling created (or rather, the England she created) is wonderful, but I don’t let myself get too carried away with it. Fifteen years ago I would have been obsessed, and possibly crying myself to sleep at night for want of magic powers and such clear lines between good and evil. Thank you, Ms. Rowling, for waiting till I was a grown up to write these books!

    Don’t think I’ll be making it to opening night what with Kidlet at all. I always saw these movies with my HP-fan friends, but I’ve moved away! So I have no one to see them with. I think there’s a NaNoWriMo HP-associated write-in scheduled for that day. Maybe I’ll hook up with them!

  9. November 6, 2010 3:19 am

    I’ve read not a page of any of the books and I’ve only seen the films on DVD or television, so I really missed the broom on this. Now, if this all were happening when I was in my teens, I probably would have been all over this. So are you saying I should go see this two part finale in theaters rather than wait for the DVD?

  10. November 6, 2010 1:31 pm

    I am so excited! I’m going to Portland to see it with a friend, with whom I’ve most of the HP movies when they come out. We’ve both read the series multiple times, which makes me feel a bit of a dweeb, but I loooove them! The movies aren’t all great, but they’ve been getting better I think, and this one looks fantastic.

    I’m not rushing out to see it the day it comes out, though. I don’t know that there’s any movie I’d wait in line to see.

  11. evmaroon permalink
    November 6, 2010 2:34 pm

    Okay, fine, I’ll go see it in an IMAX theater. I have a bad history with the Potter movies when I try to see them on opening weekend. I’m not kidding: HP1 had a malfunction and we had no sound. They gave us a refund and sent us home. HP2 got off to a fine start, and then there was a fire alarm 30 minutes in. HP4 suddenly broke in the second reel. I’m not sure what they’re printing these movies onto, but I’m suspicious that it’s rice paper.

Leave a Reply

