Skip to content

DWTS: The Bicentenniel

November 3, 2010

Dancing With the Stars has had 200 episodes!  Well, 201 after last night.  And granted it airs twice a week (or even the bloated three times in a week) and each season is actually taken quite literally – there is one season in the fall and one in the spring, versus most shows whose “season” last anywhere between 6 weeks and 9 months – but still, it’s 201 nights of live ballroom dancing on broadcast television.

 

(L to R) Kyle & Lacey, Cheryl & Rick, Brandy & Maks, Tom & Brook (hosts), Bristol & Mark, Anna & Kurt, Jennifer & Derek

 

DWTS sometimes doesn’t always nail theme weeks so well, but the producers did alright with the anniversary week.  (I wonder if every editor dreams of the day when their boss assigns them to do nothing but montages.)

Monday night saw the return of past cast members, many of whom just awkwardly stood up in the audience when their season was announced (except for season six, because no one was available.  No one.  I mean, Kristi Yamaguchi was there coaching the team dance so she was busy, but really, no one else was available?  Steve Guttenberg and Priscilla Presley were swamped?  Monica Seles is out dominating the senior tennis circuit ?).  I was not surprised, but still vaguely put off at Bachelor Jake Pavelka hamming it up when the camera cut to him.  That dude will never turn down an invite to be on TV, and I guess they sort of had to invite him, but not really – you’re ABC!  Wield your power!

So then there was a team dance-off, where Team Kristy, made up of Rick & Cheryl, Bristol & Mark, and Kyle & Lacey had to do a number inspired by one of her numbers.  The rest of the couples were with Team Apolo – damn, people really love that dude.  A lot.  I don’t get it.  I mean, I know Olympic champ at all, but ok, let’s be real:  it’s the weirdo facial hair.  Anyway, his team recreated his bust a move cha cha cha.  No, really, the dance was to Young MC’s Bust a Move.

I can’t stop thinking of Kurt as the drunk uncle at the wedding, after Carrie Ann mentioned that in judging a few weeks ago.

After the team dances, each couple had to dance an interpolation of a past season’s dance, with the star serving as a guest judge on the panel.  So, for example, Bristol & Palin had Kelly Osbourne judging them as they danced a viennese waltz to the same song she did, using some of the same moves, but not the exact same dance.  Rick & Cheryl did Helio’s quickstep and Kyle & Lacey did Mel B’s paso doble, both of which were in last week’s top 10.   Kurt & Anna were given the softball of one of Emmett Smith’s worst dances, and still just did ok.  Jennifer & Derek did Drew Lachey’s perfect 10 tango, and as Carrie Ann said, “blew the doors down.”  I still have major doubts her ability to go the distance and win the trophy, but I could still see an amazing performance in what she did.   She’ll most likely get to the finals if her body holds up, and she’ll hopefully be there with Brandy & Maks, who did Gilles Marini’s foxtrot, and I think they bested him, save the stumble she made on step.

I like that grumpy Len gave the 10 anyway, after chiding the “pedantic” fussing about of the other judges.  (I got a little turned on when he said pedantic, I can’t lie.)   I don’t believe Brandy’s chaste act for a moment, but she is winning me over as a dancer more each week.

After mediocre results for the TV Show theme week and Rock Week, I’m pleased that they got the anniversary week right.  Tuesday’s results show didn’t really need to be 90 minutes, but you stopped in the middle for election results and it’s your birthday, DWTS, so I let you indulge yourself.  And while I’m not surprised, I am a little disappointed that Cheryl and Rick  were sent packing.  But at least I will never, ever think of the Hill Street Blues song the same again.

~~~~~

Jennifer and Brandy in the finals, but who will be the third spot?  Kyle?  Bristol?!?!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 10:26 am

    here’s Jennifer & Derek:

  2. November 3, 2010 10:49 am

    What? No mention of Taylor Swift?

    Here, I’ll mention her:

    My daughter, while watching/listening to Swift sing, was quick to point out, “They make her sound better when they put it in a recording. She doesn’t sound so good when she’s live.”

  3. November 3, 2010 10:53 am

    (BTW: Said daughter says to tell you she says, “Hi!”)

  4. November 3, 2010 11:03 am

    HA! And that is why I did not mention Taylor Swift. 😉

  5. November 3, 2010 11:04 am

    Good write up, I think I just found my new home for online DWTS decompression. 🙂

    I do have a quick question, did anyone notice who all was in that big ‘ol ‘Professional Dancers of Christmas Past’ number at the beginning of the Monday episode?

    I had a ‘wait, is that Julianne with the long blond hair, or is that Chelsie?’ followed by a ‘wait, Chelsie and Julianne look a lot alike. Like, *a lot* alike.’

  6. November 3, 2010 11:08 am

    thanks so much!! I’d have to watch again to be sure, but I bet it was Chelsie on Monday night — I think if Julianne came back to the show, they’d probably make a huge deal about it. And she’d probably be singing, instead of dancing, unfortunately, don’t you think?

  7. November 3, 2010 11:40 am

    “Professional dancers of Christmas Past” made me LOL. I wasn’t surprised that Cheryl and Rick were sent packing. Well Rick anyway. It never bodes well for someone to hear, “You move really good for a big guy.” Also, that wretched Hill Street Blues dance was probably a nail in the coffin.

    I’m still not sold on Brandy as a dancer. I find her really stiff and uncomfortable looking. But I’ll hang in there.

  8. marcyac permalink
    November 3, 2010 12:49 pm

    Great Recap! Funny too! I will continue reading. Thanks for checking me out.
    Yeah…..I feel the same about Apolo. He seems really nice, but….wow!

  9. November 3, 2010 2:27 pm

    Thanks, marcyac. Glad I’m not alone in not loving Apolo, I sometimes feel like I’m the only one who doesn’t!

  10. November 3, 2010 2:28 pm

    @snarky: Brandy is not amazing by any means. But when grading on a curve, which seems to be the theme of this season of DWTS, she is suddenly an A-student.

  11. chi410 permalink
    November 3, 2010 3:19 pm

    Yep, all this nostalgia, which I’m loving, is pointing up that no one’s blowing it out of the water this season. I like Brandy, Kyle is super-charming and seems to be getting better, Jennifer had a spectacular Argentine tango but isn’t consistent, Kurt blah blah whatever, and poor Bristol seemed like she really wanted it to be over. No one has inspired me to even vote yet.

    Rick was cool, and I wish he’d stayed longer but I’m not broken up about it. I just can’t get over how odd a couple he seems with Eliza Dushku. I mean, how in the world did that happen?? (I had to look up their ages and they’re actually not as far apart as they look.) They seem very happy together, so good for them, but so odd.

    I reflexively said, “Shut up, Jake!” as soon as he appeared onscreen.

    Oh, and has Charlotta (?) ever been seen again after the post Season 1 Dance-Off?

  12. chi410 permalink
    November 3, 2010 3:24 pm

    (Ok, somewhere else I had to actually log into my never-used wordpress account so it logged me in here too – I’m not intentionally trying to change handles, just never got a good handle on my handle. Ugh. Chi)

  13. November 3, 2010 4:49 pm

    Rick was cool, and I wish he’d stayed longer but I’m not broken up about it. I just can’t get over how odd a couple he seems with Eliza Dushku. I mean, how in the world did that happen?? (I had to look up their ages and they’re actually not as far apart as they look.) They seem very happy together, so good for them, but so odd.

    Wait, what???

  14. Chi permalink
    November 3, 2010 6:14 pm

    Yeah, they live together. I guess all kinds of celebs meet each other!

    Hmm, that also makes me wonder if there’s a category for celebs who get paired with a pro who resembles their real life partner, if you squint. Off the top of my head, Cheryl-with-long-hair and Eliza kinda look alike, as do Harry Hamlin and Louis Van Amstel (somebody at TWoP that season called him a “freeze-dried Harry Hamlin” which, ha). Jonathan was paired with Marie Osmond, and looks not unlike Donnie Osmond. 😛

  15. November 3, 2010 6:26 pm

    (somebody at TWoP that season called him a “freeze-dried Harry Hamlin” which, ha)

    Hahahaha. Isn’t that redundant.

  16. karkz permalink
    November 4, 2010 5:35 am

    I’m with Snarky. There’s something uncomfortable about Brandy’s dancing. I think she doesn’t have the attack … or maybe it’s the speed??? that she needs in some of her footwork. There’s a languidity that serves her well in spots but not in the kicks and flicks where she needs that little push. It’s … uncomfortable. Mainly though, she needs to shut it with the whole “I’ve been down and my career isn’t as successful as it should be so I really NEEEEEEED this. I want the trophy so much more than anyone else.” It’s off-putting. Everyone has had their troubles and career ups and downs. (Loved Maks response to that.) They ALL want it and there’s nothing to make Brandy any more entitled to it than anyone else except in her own mind. Other than that, she did good. Don’t think she came close to besting Gilles Marini though.

  17. November 4, 2010 7:10 am

    @Chi: I have the same weirdo feeling about Rick Fox and Eliza Dushku too. And that scene where Eliza stopped by the dance studio and asked Cheryl, “do you want to see how we dance at home?!” and Cheryl was all, um, I’m not sure how to answer that…..

  18. November 4, 2010 7:17 am

    @karkz: ok, I’m starting to see that I’m a little biased towards Brandy’s dancing – mostly just cause I like Maks!! personality wise, she can be sort of a whiney Mya. I think I’m also just desperate to like *somebody* this season. I adore Kyle (and Lacey) but not enough to sustain me.

  19. November 4, 2010 8:13 am

    Steve Guttenberg and Priscilla Presley were swamped?

    HAHAHA.

    About Apolo. It’s not just the facial hair, the dude’s got an overabundance of charisma. He’s doing a book signing thing here this weekend and I see his pic on a sandwichboard sign every time I pass the bookstore. He’s damn cute and he knows it and he’s still got enough left over to get away with it.

  20. November 4, 2010 8:31 am

    He’s damn cute and he knows it and he’s still got enough left over to get away with it.

    exactly, well-put. he’s all, “everyone loves me and it’s ok cause I’m so lovable and easy to love!” and I don’t trust it.

  21. November 4, 2010 12:38 pm

    @Chi: I have the same weirdo feeling about Rick Fox and Eliza Dushku too. And that scene where Eliza stopped by the dance studio and asked Cheryl, “do you want to see how we dance at home?!” and Cheryl was all, um, I’m not sure how to answer that…..

    Hahaha! I think honestly it’s mostly because Dushku seems a bit like a downgrade. I’m sure she’s a nice lady, but she’s no Vanessa Williams.

  22. November 4, 2010 1:52 pm

    Dushku seems a bit like a downgrade.

    exactly. so much so, I almost even feel a little bad for her, because really, who IS Vanessa Williams?

  23. November 4, 2010 3:51 pm

    Vanessa Williams is a tough act to follow. Can Dushku sing with all the voices of the mountain??? Inquiring minds want to know.

  24. November 5, 2010 5:13 am

    My Bristol Palin theory seems to be bearing out. But someone at work had a tweaked theory: all of the GOP supporters have gone out to vote for her to make a statement.

    I’m not really sure what kind of statement it makes, or whether people are voting for her because she really doesn’t deserve to win, and what sort of statement that might make in a couple of years, but it’s enough to continue to keep me from actually watching an episode of this season!

  25. November 5, 2010 8:30 am

    Dean, given the amount of times I said “who is that?” during the 5 year retrospective montage, I feel pretty good about DWTS being the place where neither fame or infamy is held in perpetuity.

Trackbacks

  1. That Meme You’ve Been Ignoring: What Would Tom Bergeron Do? |

Leave a Reply

