Skip to content

It’s That Time Again: National Novel Writing Month!

November 1, 2010

National Novel Writing Month – or Nanowrimo as it’s better known – kicked off early today at 12:01am. For those who don’t know, participants in the month long writing event strive for a word count of 50k by 11:59 on November 30th. This works out to roughly 1667ish words per day or approximately eight pages double spaced at a 12 point font. Like bowling, there are rules governing Nanowrimo, but nobody’s gonna come to your house and stomp your computer into ground, tear up your pages or toss your typewriter out of a window if you don’t adhere to them. Still, part of the fun of Nanomwrimo is following the rules and challenging yourself to produce an original work of fiction within the allotted time frame.

I’ve done Nanowrimo for years and it never stops being fun. I didn’t think I was going to do it this year, but this morning I found myself opening a word document and moving my fingers across the keyboard. I have no idea what my novel’s about or what might happen, but I am looking forward to spending the month in the company of other established and aspiring scribes trying to reach that 50k word count goal.

Here’s a roundup of articles on the subject!

Five Reasons Why You Should Participate in NanoWrimo

Top 10 Tips for NaNoWriMo

The Value of Nanowrimo

Indie Bookstores: ‘Come Write In’ with NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo: Day 1 Strategy

Write a Book this November: It’s NaNoWriMo

Nanowrimo is Coming!

Are you taking the plunge this year? Share your stories, tricks and strategies right here!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 8:43 pm

    I always think of doing this and never do. But maybe I should.

  2. November 1, 2010 8:44 pm

    Now your novel is one I’d LOVE to read. Get to it.

  3. November 1, 2010 8:49 pm

    Ugh, I am still on vacation though and I didn’t bring my laptop. But I guess I could start writing it in my notebook!

  4. November 1, 2010 8:51 pm

    I am actually contemplating alternating between my computer and a notebook. To see if that yields better or more interesting results. Stay tuned.

  5. November 1, 2010 8:53 pm

    Do it! I would love to read yours too.

  6. November 1, 2010 8:54 pm

    I’ve done nano for years but this is the first year I’m being kind of serious with the novel. I’ve been kicking around this idea for ever and done a few short stories/character sketches and I’m really excited.

  7. Lani permalink
    November 1, 2010 9:26 pm

    Hmm, I wonder if writing my master’s thesis this month counts? Though lord help me if it hits 50,000 words.

    Someday I would like to do NaNo for real. I bow to all of you who have made it, heck, anyone who’s even come close. 50K words in 30 days is a lot!

  8. November 1, 2010 9:54 pm

    the times i’ve prepared for NaNoWriMo, I’ve crashed and burned, but the year I did it on a whim, I went all the way to completion — here’s hoping your whim goes the distance as well!

  9. Gillian permalink
    November 1, 2010 9:56 pm

    I’m doing it this year. I’m terrified, but I’m doing it.

  10. hsofia permalink
    November 1, 2010 10:58 pm

    Mostly because of you, Snarkysmachine, I’m doing my first NaNoWriMo this year. I didn’t know it until the night before Nov 1, but now I’m excited. I got day 1 out of the way – only 29 left. My strategy is to write the minimum words by 1pm every day – that gives me the rest of the day to think about what to do next and to not be “sick of it” the next morning. We’ll see.

  11. November 2, 2010 2:13 am

    Ooh, I’m excited to have so many brothers in arms!!! @Raymond – I agree, the years when I have been successful have been the ones when I just wrote and didn’t try to shape or steer the writing.

  12. November 2, 2010 8:58 am

    I’m not super enthusiastic about my story idea, but I made yesterday’s quota of 1600+ words.

    I’ve won a few times, lost a few more. I’d rather not finish, but have something I proud of (or at least editable) than 50,000 words of nothing. I’m going for quality instead of quantity this year.

    By the way, I actually got into the NaNo site this morning, and some people have already written 10,000 words! How?!

  13. Hsofia permalink
    November 2, 2010 10:14 am

    @Kathy – a lot of unemployed folks out there?

  14. evmaroon permalink
    November 2, 2010 3:03 pm

    Woohoo! Go, @hsofia! I’ll be posting a strategy every day this month as I pummel my way through a manuscript. And anyone who wants to buddy up with me on nanowrimo’s site, I’m evmaroon on there, too.

    Back to writing!

  15. November 3, 2010 11:41 am

    @Kathy – on average, without even trying I can crack 8k words per day with all the writing I do (not including emails) so if I worked through lunch I could easily crack 10k.

  16. November 5, 2010 5:14 am

    I hope everyone is having fun and getting a lot accomplished with their novels!

  17. November 5, 2010 6:50 pm

    Raymond made me do this the first time and I’ve done it a few more times since. Last year I brought my middle school students into the mix and it’s been a blast. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

