Skip to content

A Supposedly Fun Movie I’ll Never Watch Again

November 1, 2010

is this the party to whom I’m speaking?

After writing about movies on my to-do list last month, Redlami suggested a variation on the theme: films you’re glad you saw but would never want to live through again.   My definition of glad might be a little broader than most, I have a penchant for movies that make you say, “dang, these people got PROBLEMS”, but with that standard in mind, the thought of re-watching some of these films makes me shudder while even typing their names.

Drugs and Addiction

If it’s a biopic, that’s usually ok, because we know the ending (Ray, Walk the Line); if it’s about the drug trade, that’s ok too (Traffic, television show Weeds), but if it’s about the reality of someone’s headlong crash into their bottomest bottom with little hope of the magical moment of clarity, well, that realness is a bit less pleasant to witness once, let alone twice.  I saw Requiem for a Dream in the theater, and afterwards went with two friends to a diner next door for pancakes to cheer us up.  In the men’s room, I looked down at the urinal and saw a splash guard that said “Don’t Do Drugs” and I began laughing maniacally while the terrible ending montage (including creepy sex parties, giant double dildos, and bone saws) flashed through my head over and over again.   I inexplicably bought this movie on DVD later in a 2-pack for sale that featured the director’s other movie Pi.  Did I ever crack the plastic seal on Requiem?  Hell no!  I gave it away for free years later.

Brutal Behavior

In Bread, Eggs, Milk, & Herzog, I mentioned director Takashi Miike, specifically because he did the movie Audition.  I watched that movie alone, in the second week of living with my new girlfriend.  She came home from a rehearsal and I was frightened to go to sleep next to her, fearing I would wake up to needles in my eyes.  And yet, years later, I decided it would be a good idea to watch his other movie Visitor Q.  Why, oh why?!?  Perhaps like Mt. Everest, simply because it’s there.  Really gruesome horror movies fall into this category for me, too.

Bad Conscience

The third category of film are those that tackle taboo topics and people behaving badly in ways worst than we can think of.  These movies are blowing your mind because people are doing terrible unconscionable acts that we can hardly believe anyone would do, even if most of these films are more often than not based on actual events (or historically recorded similar events).  With these movies, I am so scarred and enthralled by what I’ve seen, I want to talk about desperately with other people, but can’t in good conscience recommend them to anyone.  The Lars von Trier pairing of Manderlay and Dogville come to mind, but also just to prove I will follow Julianne Moore anywhere, I also watched Savage Grace, and I’m not saying anyone should ever watch this movie if they don’t want to….but if you do, please let me know, I’m still dying to talk about it.

~~~~~~~~

What are movies you are glad you saw, but can’t bear to think of sitting through again?

67 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 9:36 am

    “Requiem For a Dream” should probably be on the marquee of the theater for these kinds of movies! The most recent: “Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire” but that’s an easy one. We mentioned “The Sweet Hereafter” when you were talking about Atom Egoyan this past summer. That would fit for me. And I know there are a bunch more that I can’t shake out of my cranium, probably because I really don’t want to remember them right now!

  2. November 1, 2010 9:40 am

    I agree, Requiem is the gold standard for me in this movie category!

  3. xta permalink
    November 1, 2010 9:47 am

    well done, ray!

    also, in the brutal behaviour category, i still can’t get the hideous violent images from “the killer inside me” out of my head… ugh!

  4. November 1, 2010 10:02 am

    now I’m going to have to see it….ugh, I do this to myself!

    p.s. thanks for commenting, xta, and i love that you said “behaviour” — truly embracing your new Brit status.

  5. Amber permalink
    November 1, 2010 12:02 pm

    i have a very visceral memory of seeing Requiem in the movie theater also (landmark, at the theater at the top of the ramp – did we see it together?). i remember thinking, or even saying outloud, “that was one of the best movies i ever saw. i feel like i had a perfect movie experience. and i never want to see it ever again.” certain scenes from that film can still be conjured in my memory with perfect ease.

  6. November 1, 2010 12:07 pm

    I thought the Austrian film Funny Games was amazing but I don’t know if I could sit through it again – it’s incredibly harrowing and stressful and bleak. I felt similarly that The Hours was truly fantastic but I was so incredibly bummed out after watching it that I don’t know if I could imagine sitting through it a second time. Oh man, but the ultimate is Last Exit To Brooklyn. That film was so relentlessly brutal and harsh I don’t think I could ever go there again.

  7. November 1, 2010 12:11 pm

    I think that in my old age I have taken to avoiding all movies in these categories from the get-go.

  8. November 1, 2010 12:21 pm

    @Amber: I saw Requiem with Damon and my friend Lauren at the Village (RIP) and we ate at Mitchell’s afterwards! i think the cinematography is most what made me want to rewatch it, though the content has impeded me.

    @Chriso: The Hours is a movie I saw twice — in the theaters. And again on DVD. But then I was done with that movie, I tried rewatching once more and didn’t get far in before I was too bummed out. Last Exit to Brooklyn is also based on a Hubert Selby Jr novel, just like Requiem, so I’m not surprised to hear that, though I haven’t given it a try myself yet.

    @Coya: I think when I was younger I watched more movies to learn life experiences and now I want to watch more things that distract me from all the “real-life” I have to live.

  9. Lani permalink
    November 1, 2010 12:54 pm

    Pi is definitely in this category for me. It was an interesting film for sure, and I liked the way it was filmed as well, but I’m not sure I could sit through it again. The scene at the end where he takes a drill to his head is still terrifyingly vivid to me.

    Most horror films of any sort are beyond my ability to handle. I have an extremely active imagination, and even cruddy B-grade horror films will leave me unable to sleep for days.

  10. November 1, 2010 1:06 pm

    I don’t love all horror/gore/scary movies, but I certainly enjoy some of them enough to rewatch — however, the recent movie Orphan was so, so icky, I needed to take a bath and hide from the world for several hours before I felt human again. I was scared to death by The Ring, and I’ve been curious to see if I still would be or if it would be silly on the rewatch.

  11. evmaroon permalink
    November 1, 2010 1:22 pm

    I only watched Requiem last spring, and I had to pause twice. I was riveted, but I also felt increasingly infected and would have sworn that there were bugs crawling in my veins. No, I’ll never watch it again. And though I may not watch Dogville again, I still tell people to see it, because come on, it has one of the best climactic payoffs of any movie out there in the last 20 years.

    Movies I thought were great but will never watch again:
    You and Me and Everyone We Know
    The Squid and the Whale
    Life as a House

    Those are just a few that come to mind. Oh, there was that movie about two people getting married and the bride’s little sister had killed the youngest sibling in a drunk driving accident…that was fine but unbearable to watch again. I’m not placing the title right now.

  12. November 1, 2010 2:30 pm

    It’s interesting what sets us all off differently. I’ve been wanting to rewatch The Squid and the Whale (though not priority enough to make it happen anytime soon) and while I wouldn’t choose to rewatch You and Me and Everyone we Know, if I was stuck somewhere with it on, I think I’d be curious to see if my reactions were the same.

    That movie you’re describing is sounding familiar, but I can’t place it and it’s irking me.

  13. November 1, 2010 3:15 pm

    oh, Rachel Getting Married! right?

  14. lil anie permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:24 pm

    Ooooh – good one Life as a House…

    A Clockwork Orange can go on that list – creeped me out when i lived in Germany because that’s what it looks like over there/plus those eye drop scenes… Ugh…

  15. November 1, 2010 3:29 pm

    Oh man, but the ultimate is Last Exit To Brooklyn. That film was so relentlessly brutal and harsh I don’t think I could ever go there again.

    Run and tell it! Once was more than enough for me too, Chriso. That was some harsh ass stuffs. On my list:

    Midnight Express

    Marathon Man (though I’ve seen this movie way too many times)

    Little Children

    The other Crash movie by Cronenberg

    The Gauntlet. It’s not disturbing per se, but there is a graphic description of torture that still freaks me out and it’s been nearly two decades since I saw it.

    The Doom Generation *shudders*

    Leaving Las Vegas

    There’s a subset I call, “shitty things happen to rural white people” which includes:

    Ulee’s Gold
    Rush
    Deliverance

  16. November 1, 2010 3:30 pm

    @lil anie – so true about Clockwork Orange. All the street lights were those lollipop lampposts and they are creepy like whoa!

  17. Jillamina permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:42 pm

    Lars von Trier is the clear “winner” in this category for me. I will never watch Dancer in the Dark again — I had an intense physical/emotional response to that movie, I was crying so hard that I almost hyperventilated. I don’t think that would happen if I watched it again, which is exactly why I will not watch it again. I want to keep the memory of that watching. His film Antichrist, however, is a supposedly fun movie that I did not enjoy and will never watch again. It made me angry.

    In the category of Bad Conscience: the Todd Solondz film Happiness. I think I saw that movie with someone, but I have no memory of who because I was incapable of making eye contact with anyone for about 36 hours after watching that film.

  18. evmaroon permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:53 pm

    OH GOD! Dancer in the Dark! How I hate that I ever spent my time watching that movie! And yes, Raymond, Rachel Getting Married is the one I was thinking of. I always remember the title as Muriel’s Wedding, which is, of course, a completely different movie.

  19. November 1, 2010 3:59 pm

    Lars von Trier is definitely the patron saint of these bleak glimpses into troubling human existence.

    Also gotta add Precious to the list. Bleaky McBleakerson.

  20. November 1, 2010 5:41 pm

    @Jillamina: Todd Solondz!! Another patron saint of this category! Good call.

  21. November 1, 2010 6:59 pm

    @Jillamina and Raymond. Todd Solondz gets his booth at the sad bastard cafe.

  22. November 1, 2010 7:01 pm

    One I never hope to see again but couldn’t stop watching was Boxing Helena. Creepy.

    @Snarky, ditto on Leaving Las Vegas.

  23. November 1, 2010 7:02 pm

    I have often wondered why so many movies I love (a big portion are Eastwood films it seems) sit unopened on my dvd shelf. People ask to borrow them and I tell them no. Yet there they sit. The heartbreak of Million Dollar Baby is more than I can take this soon after seeing it the 1st time. (5 or 6 years ago)

  24. November 1, 2010 7:03 pm

    Of course this category would be like shooting fish in a barrel if we opened it up for documentaries.

  25. November 1, 2010 7:03 pm

    I understand that impulse to buy a movie that was terribly difficult to watch. I bought Dancer in the Dark and have only watched it one and a half times- once all the way through and the other time I just skipped to the musical scenes. which are so Bjorkly awesome.

  26. November 1, 2010 7:08 pm

    1timeoffender – Mystic River FTW. *shudders*

  27. vanessa permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:33 pm

    “requiem” is the defining movie in this category, so good job grabbing that one up. “hard candy” is similar for me in a lot of ways. it’s full of rapiness and has some seriously gruesome moments, but the overarching feeling is a deep, unquenchable rage that i can identify with too strongly. after watching this movie, i have nothing but harsh words for all the men i see.

    also, in general life-ruining-rapiness, “boys don’t cry” is a movie that i never need to watch again.

    i recently saw “winter’s bone” in the theater and left feeling deeply disturbed, but that’s one i could probably see again.

  28. November 1, 2010 8:41 pm

    A friend of mine started telling me the plot of Von Triers’s Antichrist and I was like “WHY WOULD ANYONE WATCH THIS FILM EVER OH MY GOD!!!”

  29. November 1, 2010 9:52 pm

    @Amy: I love the adverb “Bjorkly”, I want to use it much more now!

    @redlami: true, documentaries withdrew their nomination from this category like Candace Bergen and the emmys. Boxing Helena! so true.

    @1stimeoffender: I walked into a room of people watching Million Dollar Baby after having already seen it in the theater, and I started to get drawn in a little, but made myself leave as I remember how brutal that ending is.

  30. Hsofia permalink
    November 1, 2010 11:54 pm

    I haven’t seen any of the movies mentioned in the original post (starting with Requiem). I know they are emotionally brutal and can’t get motivated to watch them. I had Requiem out from Netflix for six months and finally returned it, unwatched.

    I need some redemption in my stories to make the heartbreak worthwhile. The last movie I remember seeing that just left me sobbing and bereft was “The Crucible” with Joan Allen and Daniel Day Lewis. I saw that movie in the theater when it first came out and I still can’t bring myself to rewatch it.

    Oh, I remember one more that effed me up pretty bad – “The Constant Gardner.” Aww, man! Both of those movies had me crying out, “Why, God, why?!” Great movies, but I was devastated mainly because they just remind me of how jacked up the world is.

    For me there is another category of films that I’ll accidentally see that I never want to see again because they are so unpleasant. These are stories about toxic dysfunctional people who scream at each other and generally stew in their own grim juices. When I walked out of a stage production of “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” I likened it to being hit about the head and shoulders with a bag of rocks for 2.5 hours. “Closer” with Julia Roberts and Clive Owen was like that for me. But not as good.

  31. Hsofia permalink
    November 1, 2010 11:56 pm

    I should clarify – I didn’t “walk out” of the Who’s Afraid play; I walked out of the theater when it was done.

  32. November 2, 2010 12:05 am

    @vanessa: Hard Candy is one I waffle on — I could maybe see it again, mostly to watch the performances of the actors after knowing the ending. I saw Boys Don’t Cry twice actually, maybe even three times?!? but I don’t ever need to see it ever again now.

    and unlike @hsofia, I enjoy movies where people insult each other meanly the whole time. I see you, Lion in Winter. (note to hsofia, don’t ever see a Traci Letts play either). and you’re clarification about walking out of the theater made me crack up!

  33. November 2, 2010 2:11 am

    @Hsofia – hahaha. re: Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? Yeah, I remember when I was going to watch the movie I was like, “Let the drunken, screaming white folks commence!” I tend not to like those kinds of films either. People screaming at each other as their lives unravel or turn tragic is just one of those Hollywood things that doesn’t often ring true in real life.

    Also, does anyone know why every Eastwood helmed film – post Play Misty For Me – is so freaking bleak and dire? I won’t even get near one of his directorial efforts (save Unforgiven) if I can help it. My nerves are too bad.

  34. Kia permalink
    November 2, 2010 6:56 am

    Whenever I romanticize my brief stays in Europe I remember anything by the Dardenne brothers.

    Also in the once was enough category The Dreamlife of Angels & Lilya 4 ever.

  35. unscrambled permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:02 pm

    I was just taking a study break to scroll down here and write about Solondz, I think he’s actually worse than von Trier. Maybe not. I can’t decide.

    +1 for all the ‘terrible things happening to rural white people’ category, and I think I can confidently add ‘terrible things happen about prostitution,’ with “Requiem for A Dream” in that category, but also “Monster,” which nearly ruined a vacation in New Mexico. Of course, one krazbillion other horror movies and serial killer movies (where the people in the sex trade get killed) fit easily into this category.

    Actually, maybe another category is movies that nearly ruined my vacation, to which I’d also add “Punch Drunk Love,” which I saw alone in Philadelphia, and “Dirty Pretty Things,” which I saw in Rhode Island. Ugh. What was I thinking?

  36. November 3, 2010 5:29 pm

    The first movie to come to mind ‘ Irreversible,’ Amazing movie, great actors, don’t think I could ever stomach watching it again.

  37. November 4, 2010 7:13 am

    I haven’t seen Irreversible, but it does make me think there could be a separate category just for our cultural obsession with rape in films!

  38. tracijean permalink
    November 4, 2010 9:44 am

    Yes to Requiem.
    HAPPINESS. That movie fucked with me.
    I watched Synecdoche, New York about four times in a row trying to figure it out and fully absorb it, and it so thoroughly depressed me I don’t think I’ll ever be able to watch it again (but I thought it was brilliant).
    Kids. I’m glad I saw it, but there is no need to revisit any of that.

  39. November 4, 2010 12:32 pm

    KIDS. damn, yes. Synchedoche, NY was also a movie I thought I couldn’t watch again, but then I got sucked back into it one afternoon on cable and did just that.

  40. November 4, 2010 12:50 pm

    I want Synchedoche, NY, but now I’m a little scared. I got burnt on Passengers – which just made me sad, but given that it’s winter and the weather is miserable and the days are short, perhaps this is the best time.

  41. evmaroon permalink
    November 4, 2010 1:33 pm

    Clint Eastwood makes movies like I make whittled soap, if I were blindfolded and wearing mittens first.

  42. November 4, 2010 1:42 pm

    I will never watch any of Eastwood’s newer films. They are too upsetting. Not the ones he stars in but the ones he directs. Million Dollar Baby, no thank you.

  43. November 5, 2010 1:27 pm

    As an anime geek, there’s no way I could go without mentioning Grave of the Fireflies. TV Tropes calls it the Most Triumphant Example of tearjerkers in anime… and with very good reason.

  44. November 5, 2010 1:40 pm

    Pan’s Labyrinth–oh that monster! And the above-ground one, too.

  45. November 5, 2010 3:19 pm

    @codeman38 *adds movie to Netflix queue*

  46. November 5, 2010 3:33 pm

    Omg, what’s the creepy cartoon movie about the bunnies? Watership Down???

    NO FREAKING THANK YOU. Once was more than enough.

  47. Jillamina permalink
    November 5, 2010 3:43 pm

    @raymondj I will not be watching Grave of the Fireflies with you. I cried my spleen out the first and only time I watched it.

  48. November 5, 2010 5:08 pm

    I’m so glad to see this discussion! I’m always hearing people talk about these Great Movies, and I wind up avoiding them because I really just can’t visit that kind of mystical bashing damage upon my headspace.

    The Mighty, from the ’90s, was a marvelous, amazing movie, but over a decade later I still don’t have the courage to put myself through it again.

    Also, I made the horrible, awful mistake of watching “Cold Mountain” while six months pregnant with twins. The endless barrage of Horrible Things Happening To Decent People was so much more than I was up for. I was sitting in an aisle seat, and couldn’t stay in my seat until the sobs died down because there were a bunch of people trying to get out. So I staggered up the aisle, and finally stopped just outside the theater doors and cried my guts out while people threw their oversized soda cups into the garbage can right behind me.

    I still have no clue if it’s even that good a movie, or if that was such a heavily hormonal day I would have cried over some Tori Spelling movie on Lifetime just as much, and I am perfectly happy never, EVER finding out.

    And like Lani, I can’t take gory horror movies for anything. My imagination makes my mind a plenty freaksome place to live without any inspiration from Hollywood, thankyouverymuch.

  49. metermouse permalink
    November 5, 2010 5:38 pm

    As soon as I read the intro I was like “REQUIEM FOR A DREAM!!!!” and of course anything Lars Von Trier or Todd Solondz. Even though I must admit that I did watch Happiness once a year for about 4 years after first watching it. Now I’m not sure if I can watch it again.

    This might sound odd because this is a childrens movie but:
    The Dark Crystal. O.M.G. When I was a kid I watched it over and over and over on VHS, I was really into it. Then one day I put it on, and it just SCARED me. Even though I had seen it a million times. Now I can’t watch it, even the music freaks me out.

    American History X – I cannot take watching Ed Norton and the bite the curb part EVER EVER again.

    Oldboy
    Visitor Q – or anything I’ve seen from Takashi Miike

    Moon
    Solaris (the original one)
    Perfect Blue – though I did watch it more than once to try and understand it.
    Trainspotting – the baby

    I know there must be more… but I can’t think of it.

    I also agree with Dancer in the Dark, I cried in the theater, and then my boyfriend- who I told “wow, that was a great movie” bought me the dvd for my birthday. I think I gave it away unopened.

  50. November 5, 2010 9:03 pm

    re: American History X, I am mad at you for even mentioning it, because of traumatic flashbacks I still have — agreed!! And I have the same reaction to Trainspotting for the same reason. That movie came out while I was in college and people loved seeing it more than once, but I couldn’t stop seeing that baby in my head for a few days and didn’t want to risk it ever coming back. Even typing that last sentence was hard.

  51. November 5, 2010 9:45 pm

    I have no idea why I enjoy watching Solaris (either version) over and over. That film is creepy as all get out!

    Also I’m terrified of Trainspotting and America History X. I’ll throw in Romper Stomper (I see you, Russell) too.

  52. hsofia permalink
    November 5, 2010 10:35 pm

    Yeah, I can’t deal with the sidecurb scene in American History X, either. To this day it haunts me. Great movie, though. Featuring the criminally underutilized Avery Brooks.

  53. November 6, 2010 9:24 am

    Avery Brooks! someone needs to give him a series for real. I love that you love him, too.

    HAWK FOREVER!

  54. cindy permalink
    November 6, 2010 11:49 pm

    re. Happiness, when I saw it in the theater I was disturbed and dazed and numb. Then a year later I rented it with a friend and we cracked up through the whole thing. It’s a ridiculous movie, maybe you have to be in a certain mood, but we both found it so over-the-top we couldn’t stop laughing. I think you have to go through the appalling first viewing first though.

  55. November 7, 2010 8:55 am

    that is a good point on Todd Solondz movies — I had a similar experience with Storytelling. I was so appalled the first time I watched it I wasn’t even thinking to laugh, but the second time I could guffaw at how scathing it was.

  56. Neema permalink
    November 7, 2010 6:35 pm

    A little late to this party, but I recently watched some shit that was so disturbing/awful in an uncomfortable and not campy way that I just had to throw it in there to warn others off of it.

    raymondj mentioned “Audition” and while I have not seen that gem last Sunday (had a Halloween mini-marathon) I watched episode after episode of Showtime’s “Masters of Horror” series from a few years back and came across the episode Takashi Miike directed, “Imprint.” I did a little Wikipedia-ing and saw that Showtime yanked it before it ever actually aired. “Awesome,” I thought, ‘the baby-cineaste snob in me loves banned films.” INCORRECT! I felt physically ill watching that episode and literally hid behind my hands for about 1/3 of it. One of the longest hours of my life. The torture scenes were among the most brutal things I have ever witnessed and the rest of the storyline involving the prostitute telling the tale was relentlessly graphic and sick. Miike sure does explore the boundaries of transgressions (read that somewhere) alright. I would warn all of you off of it. A couple of the other episodes in the series hit unsettling and, most rarely of all, genuinely creepy notes, but “Imprint” was like experiencing a psychic trauma.

    For purposes of comparison, I find “Boxing Helena” hilarious in its absurdity, own “Dancer in the Dark” – although some of the songs do make me cry, and I wore that soundtrack out in high school – got through “American History X” and “Trainspotting” just fine although neither were favorites, and watched “Antichrist” by myself about 2 months ago, more baffled about why Von Trier felt the need to make this film than anything else. I guess I’m a hard one to nauseate, is the gist here.

    *But I AM scared to death of “E.T.” So draw you own conclusions! !

  57. November 7, 2010 7:27 pm

    I also find E.T. creepy.

  58. cindy permalink
    November 7, 2010 8:16 pm

    @raymondj – I don’t think I would watch Happiness a third time though, just in case. I’ve never seen Storytelling, so I just watched the trailer for it. Bleh. Even the trailer is over-serious with droning music and faux-intense characters (“If it weren’t for Hitler, we wouldn’t even be here”) so I can see how the movie would be appalling/hilarious. I think the last Solondz movie I saw was Palindromes, where the lead character was played by a bunch of different people, and it just seemed pointless.

  59. Q.V. permalink
    November 7, 2010 8:37 pm

    I mostly protect myself from this category by falling asleep no matter where I am. Watership Down: 10 minutes in; I can’t even get through the first 10 minutes of The Dark Knight again ever since I watched it the first time in the theatre, then had to drive 5 hours home, the last hour at 10mph through fog.

    @evmaroon But I got through You and Me and Everyone We Know OK. I wasn’t falling asleep so I had to take measures to stop watching The Squid and the Whale when they started talking about custody. I knew it would bother me, thanks for letting me know the whole movie would do the same.

    Requiem for Dream, I never saw it, but the soundtrack was on repeat in my house for a few months in 2003. It’s still with me as a mood and general feeling, but I’ll be OK if I never hear it again.

    And @NYCPenpusher, at the same house I watched The Sweet Hereafter six times in a week (and accumulated late fines all over the City of Montreal), to get notes on all the soundtrack editing. I read the book the same week and then wrote a 15-page paper on the soundtrack. That was a rough, rough week.

    I wouldn’t watch The Shipping News again, or any Cronenberg, or probably any Atom Egoyan, either. Year of the Carnivore was OK once, but I’ll put that on the Canadian Creepy Movie shelf too.

  60. November 7, 2010 11:17 pm

    @Neema: I occasionally think about looking at an episode of “Masters of Horror”, but I’m not sure I have the constitution for it. I like the occasional horror movie, but only when watching in a group, and generally nothing involving torture. zombies, possession, ghosts, that’s cool, and even comically ridiculous blood splatter (Robert Rodriguez, Tarantino, etc.), but not torture. I can hardly handle hearing someone cut their fingernails being trimmed int he next room, much less seeing them pulled off. So, thank you for confirming my gut instinct to stay away, even when I’m tempted to click play on netflix instant late at night.

    @Q.V.: your stories make me think about a post for the genre of “Films Ruined Because of What Was Happening In Real Life”.

  61. Q.V. permalink
    November 8, 2010 12:01 am

    @raymondj Seriously. Would I like The Shipping News better if it wasn’t the movie I attended with my then-recent ex that he stomped out on 20 minutes in and, after it was over, I found him waiting for me, fuming, because I didn’t follow him?

    (Also, sorry for the utter failure to end my italics properly. I’m a mark-up language, but I’m not that mark-up language.)

  62. November 8, 2010 7:36 am

    I’m glad someone else upthread mentioned Pan’s Labyrinth. That movie f’d me up, seriously.

    How about… What Dreams May Come. I think I cried for days.

  63. November 8, 2010 10:15 am

    @Q.V.: I fixed your italics for you!

    @G: that movie is definitely one I don’t need to see a second time either.

  64. March 21, 2011 8:27 pm

    The Boys. An Australian film starring David Wenham about a thug getting out of jail and reasserting his dominance over his brothers. It’s based on a true story, and the film ends chillingly, especially to Australians who remember the terrible crime the brothers committed and know what it is that they are about to do.

    David Wenham made this fillm after becoming famous in Australia playing a very nice character on TV. This showed what he was capable of

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0139898/ .

  65. March 21, 2011 10:46 pm

    As much as I loved the powerhouse performances in Animal Kingdom I needn’t ever watch that movie again.

  66. March 22, 2011 8:32 am

    Savage Grave is on Netflix Instant now and for a second I thought about watching it again. Then I remembered my own warning in this post!

  67. July 26, 2013 2:21 pm

    Leaving Las Vegas
    Requiem (but my husband has never seen it, so I’ll have to watch it once more)
    Undertow
    Most Terry Gilliam movies, even though I love them

Leave a Reply

