Skip to content

Your Fall TV Scorecard

October 29, 2010

Jimmy, that better be a call to your agent cause your legal show 'Outlaw' got served.

Have you been keeping track of the new fall television shows? Of course, you haven’t. Here’s your scorecard! I hope there aren’t any Chase fans out there. If so, y’all better fire up the grassroots organizing machine because your show is looking a little cancellicious.

Already Gone:

Lone Star, Outlaw, My Generation, The Whole Truth

So long! We hardly knew you, but what we knew we did not like!

FX's underrated show 'Terriers'

On the Chopping Block:

Terriers, The Good Guys, Life Unexpected, Running Wilde, School Pride

It’s a shame Terriers – a dramedy staring Donal Logue – hasn’t found its audience, because it is really good. An unexpected slice of cop life from the dude who brought television the fictionalized version of the Rampart division (The Shield), Terriers is funny, cheeky and reminiscient of both Reaper and Dead Like Me in terms of tone and comedy to drama ratio. Hopefully, the latter half of the season will help the show find an audience before FX decides to cancel it. It hasn’t made enough of an impression on audiences not paid to watch and review television to prove valuable to another channel.

NBC's fledging series The Event

Saved for now:

Better With You, Chase, The Defenders, The Event, Law & Order: Los Angeles, Outsourced, Raising Hope, Undercovers

Don’t get real attached to any of these shows. Many will likely finish out the season quietly and be canceled with little to no fanfare. Practice your pretend surprise faces now!

Saved and likely for renewal:

$#*! My Dad Says, Blue Bloods, The Defenders, Detroit 1-8-7, Hawaii Five-0, Hellcats, Mike and Molly

Just a garden variety of truly baffling (Mike & Molly), solid performers (Blue Bloods, Detroit 187) and William Shatner! The bulk of these shows will be with us – particularly if they are on CBS – for the next century.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 10:14 am

    I consider myself a major TV fan, so it’s surprising for me to realize I haven’t seen a single show listed above (at least not an entire episode).

    Based on your scorecard, it seems like this is one of the most dismal fall TV seasons in some time.

  2. October 29, 2010 10:36 am

    I’ll be sad if The Defenders doesn’t get a second season pickup. It’s actually turning into a good show, and as a plus, lots of Jurnee Smollett being smart (smarter than the men) and fierce and gorgeous. Who doesn’t need more Jurnee Smollett, just in general, anyway?

  3. October 29, 2010 11:06 am

    I’ll be sad if The Defenders doesn’t get a second season pickup. It’s actually turning into a good show, and as a plus, lots of Jurnee Smollett being smart (smarter than the men) and fierce and gorgeous. Who doesn’t need more Jurnee Smollett, just in general, anyway?

    I’m very nervous about this one too. James Belushi used up a lot of good will with his previous show, so I’m worried CBS might not be as generous as ABC was with him. I too want more Jurnee Smollett on my television or in my films. I’m a little burnt she wasn’t offered a role on a better (read: popular existing show) rather than some upstart.

  4. October 29, 2010 2:14 pm

    My take:

    Running Wilde really should be a whole lot funnier than it is. The writing sucks big time and I don’t even understand why that’s the case. Plus, I’m getting a bit annoyed with the little girl doing the voiceovers. Couldn’t Ron Howard have spared a few minutes once a week to cover that, because the more Arrested Development this show is, the better the campaign to save it will be when Fox inevitably cancels it. (A friend of mine just shot a scene from an upcoming episode so I hope it lasts until then!)

    I caught a few moments of Terriers and if it was supposed to draw me into the world of cops, I couldn’t press the remote fast enough. I know that watching people in more difficult circumstances than your own is some sort of enjoyment/comfort to many, but there are already enough programs like that for me (and I’m not even counting the reality shows)!

    But most importantly was the Mike & Molly discussion. James Burrows was on Tavis Smiley for 30 minutes to discuss the show. He intends to do for “fatties” what Will & Grace did for gays. (What did Will & Grace do for gays, exactly? I guess made them “mainstream?”) The point is that the “fat” jokes that were so much a part of the pilot were just to establish the tone, but have been decreasing since then. Since I haven’t been watching, I haven’t kept track. But since many people are finding this show entertaining… I don’t know?

    Burrows is Mister Television, so I have to say that his track record brings a lot of respect, and the ratings are among the best of all new programs this season. this might still be running into the 20s.

  5. October 29, 2010 2:47 pm

    I caught a few moments of Terriers and if it was supposed to draw me into the world of cops, I couldn’t press the remote fast enough. I know that watching people in more difficult circumstances than your own is some sort of enjoyment/comfort to many, but there are already enough programs like that for me (and I’m not even counting the reality shows)!

    Terriers is good but not great. It needs more time to figure out how to do it. Chief among its problems is Donal Logue who I find especially unpleasant to the eyes and ears. He’s another one of those actors – I see you, Steve Zahn – who keeps getting work despite possessing the screen presence of nails on a chalkboard.

  6. October 29, 2010 4:36 pm

    @Snarky’s you’re right: the Logue element definitely didn’t make me want to stay. But his annoyance factor did date back to the MTV cab driver, so maybe we should list off the actors that have made a career out of playing disgusting/annoying people. Perhaps the granddaddy of them all was the remarkable Charles Lane:

    Granted he was gruff but lovable some of the time, but usually he was the hardass who wouldn’t put up with any tomfoolery… the ultimate antagonist for whatever television regular happened to cross his path!

  7. Peel permalink
    October 30, 2010 11:05 am

    Chief among its problems is Donal Logue who I find especially unpleasant to the eyes and ears. He’s another one of those actors – I see you, Steve Zahn – who keeps getting work despite possessing the screen presence of nails on a chalkboard.

    See, I’ve had this same feeling about Donal Logue since forever, but in the few pieces of Terriers I’ve seen (which have been, I agree, not outstanding but not half bad) I’ve found him kind of endearing. He’s aging into a Jeff Bridges shape just a little bit, no? Likewise, my forevertimes unbridled annoyance with Steve Zahn mellowed into indifference in the face of his same Annoying Guy performance in the comparatively much-better-than-his-other-shows Treme earlier this year. (Though that show was all about Khandi Alexander and Melissa Leo, if you ask me.) So, it’s a weird year for guys who annoy me on TV. What next, a Rob Schneider I don’t want to punch in the face?

  8. October 30, 2010 5:51 pm

    @Peel – I mellowed on Zahn too. He wasn’t half bad on Treme, but I was there for Khandi and Melissa too!

Leave a Reply

