Skip to content

Your Friday Five: Art for Everyone

October 22, 2010

I don’t know about art, but I know what I like…

Here, Fivers, are some resources for affordable art. It may not be an original Klee painting, or some large Impressionist canvas, but the stuff is real good and real pretty and maybe it’ll look good with your couch (though it doesn’t matter if it does…)

  • But boys don't cry

    Plazm magazine is a luscious, lovingly curated “Art Culture” magazine that is created in Portland, Oregon, but draws artists from all over the world. It’s a big, beautiful rag whose pages (if you were so inclined) could be carefully torn out and framed to bung on the wall in your kitchen. I know I wanted to tear out every page of the Storm Tharp feature from a few issues back. The prices fluctuate, but on an average of 10 bones a pop, that’s a damn deal.

  • People Who Matter by Jacob McGraw (I think I see Gilligan in there...)

    Tiny Showcase releases a limited run art print every Tuesday to it’s mailing list members. The prints are usually about 20-25 bucks and, as the name suggests, they are small in size. Usually the size of a postcard, but they have also done larger poster size prints, zines, and papercuts. Sometimes, the work on here can get a little too twee for me, but that’s the beauty… There is something for everyone.

  • Untitled by Greg Allen. Who doesn't love chaps?

    20X200 is a smilar concept. Jen Bekman’s idea was to create art for all budgets, including some higher rollers, so she decided to release art prints (mostly photography) in four different sizes. Each one costing progressively more. Neat idea! Wish I could afford the giant ones… Maybe some day when I’m a grown-up.

  • Fuzzy Cat by Berkley Illustrations. No, it's not a dickey!

    Etsy. I know, I know… But if you have the discipline to dig and have a little patience, there are beautiful gems to be found. I have a soft spot for the awkwardly rendered animal and pet portraits, myself. You will be rewarded, and you’ll be helping support a burgeoning artist/s.

  • I LOVE SERIPOP SOOOOOOO MUCH.

    Rock n’ Roll show posters! There are absolutely TONS of these out there, and some are quite expensive, but I’ll give you a few of my my fave raves to start with and then you can start digging from there.  Seripop from Montreal are my absolute favorite poster artists ever. Ever. I think that more than anyone (save all those musty moustachey dudes like Peter Max from the 60’s-70’s) Seripop actually capture the spirit of rock, noise, punk, whatever you want to call it, better than anyone else out there. Everything is amplified and angry and not always pretty. It’s dirty and goddamnit, so beautiful. Just like rock music. But I appreciate good design too, so here are some others that I dig: Aesthetic Apparatus (check out the Test Prints section!), Gig Posters has become a pretty thorough, but not well organized, site of everything from professional to amateur posters and handbills. Kathleen Judge does nice reductive prints for Neko Case tours. I could spend a whole month of Fry Fives naming these folks off, so go down the bunny hole and start following all those links. BUY SOME DAMN ART. Thanks.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 2:24 pm

    Kathleen Judge does nice reductive prints for Neko Case tours. I could spend a whole month of Fry Fives naming these folks off, so go down the bunny hole and start following all those links. BUY SOME DAMN ART. Thanks.

    OMG Please do. Also, I’m sniffing around Vermont because I heard rumor of Neko Case stopping by the Art Hop place and collaborating with some of the artists there. It’s just a rumor, so don’t quote me. I was really active in the local arts when I lived in North Carolina and loved the accessible art initiatives. Glad to see you back 🙂

  2. October 22, 2010 11:36 pm

    I was just staring at the blank walls in my new room today and thinking about getting new art for my space — this is perfect!

  3. October 23, 2010 10:32 am

    Awesome list! I’m always looking for new places to find cool art so I’ll definitely be checking out some of these places and artists! I already spend way too much time hanging out on etsy so it’ll be good to have even more outlets to peruse.

  4. evmaroon permalink
    October 23, 2010 8:06 pm

    What an awesome post! I love finding little places to get good art, and sometimes it’s more time-consuming than I think it should be or that I can fit in my schedule. So thanks for this, poplife! Will definitely check these out this fall.

  5. October 26, 2010 2:32 pm

    Thanks guys! I can never have too many books or too much art around, you know?

Leave a Reply

