Skip to content

Grey’s Anatomy – 7.5 – “Almost Grown”

October 22, 2010

Normally an episode lacking substantial Bailey screen time would make me go ballistic, but not this week. Chandra Wilson nimbly directs this fast moving, somewhat disjointed but not unsatisfying episode. Now, I realize the episode is entitled “Almost Grown”, but it really should have been called, “The Heart of the Matter” so that’s what I’m pretending it was called.

I got the call today, I didn’t wanna hear/But I knew that it would come

The teaser trailer last week had me all prepared to see Chief Webber give the Grey’s Anatomy equivalent of Rip Torn’s speech in Men in Black and have Alex Karev slide into his navy blue attending scrubs, turn to his cohorts and say, “You know the different between you and me? I make this look good!” Alas, no such thing happen. Chief Webber sauntered into the upscale fancy resident’s locker room in a fierce lavender/pink sweater and shirt combo and handed out the scrubs to everyone, except Lexie, who apparently is the only 3rd year resident in the entire hospital. Chief fired all her cohorts a season or so ago during execution of the great medical drama “cutbacks” trope and the rest were gunned down by that unsatisfied and anguish filled patient in the season six finale.

And I thought of all the bad luck/ and the struggles we went through/And how I lost me and you lost you

They are really dragging out this Cristina story arc and I’ll admit I’ve become incredibly impatient with it. If newborns can age to mid teens in time for the summer youth story arcs on soaps, surely Cristina ought have resolved her PTSD issues by now. This is not to make light of PTSD, but to make light of how dramatic television sets itself up for failure by attempting realistic portrayals of emotionality which is about as dynamic, albeit necessary, as watching paint dry or clothes tumble dry on the only channel at the laundry mat – the wet clothes channel. (I see you, Bobby Hill) Cristina’s arc is made more painful because the more troubled Cristina, the more Owen time we’re subjected to. I don’t know I do not care for the character Owen. Probably because he’s not Burke. (Don’t start).

I’m learning to live without you now/But I miss you sometimes

I am relieved that Mark Sloan has decided stalking Lexie is really not the best use of his time nor is it cute. This week, we got to see shades of the old, lovable crispy Mark as he works with trying-to-hide-her-offscreen-pregnancy Dr. Robbins – who will probably take to carrying around a large potted plant, based on the way the writers have blatantly failed at disguising the pregnancy – to mentor Alex through his out-of-town tryout as a plastic surgical attending. Mark, like the rest of the attending staff (who knew Owen ran a department? When did that happen?) are trying to shake down the Chief for a million dollars cashmoney for their respective departments. Personally, I felt Mark and Bailey had the strongest proposals, though I would have gone with Bailey’s because I’m pragmatic like she is, and her presentation was hilarious. And hizzah for Bailey speaking up for the nurses! Also, was it just me, or was Mark trying to put the moves on the Chief?

Pride and competition cannot fill these empty arms/And the work I put between us doesn’t keep me warm

Oh those presentations were a hot mess. More importantly, Callie was putting “the whammy” on all the other attending physicians – save Derek – and interesting, I felt Callie’s proposal for some geewhizatron machine was the most uninspired of the bunch. No wonder she had to try and psyche out her competition.

I like the India.Arie version better because she never gave me the sideeye at the Sherman Oaks Galleria simply for breathing air.

The more I know, the less I understand/All the things I thought I knew, I’m learning again

What is going on with Jackson Avery? One minute he’s a competent – brilliant, even – surgeon guiding Cristina though the most important surgery of her life and probably her career. Moreover he came up with the diabiolical plan to unplug the life support monitor wires so the Seattle Grace Shooter would think Derek Shepherd was dead and thus leave the OR. Yet, so far this season he’s joined Alex Karev on a reality show dreamed up by the writers I’d like to call, “Who Wants to Assassinate My Character?” C’mon, Grey’s get it together. I’m glad you’re giving April some backbone and demonstrating how smart and brave Lexie is, but y’all gotta stop jacking up Jackson, Mark and Alex. That said, big ups on Teddy coming into her own as a character (finally)!

I’ve been trying to get down to the heart of the matter/But everything changes/and my thoughts seem to scatter

Oh yeah, isn’t this show called Grey’s Anatomy? What’s going on with MerDer. Well Der wants to cure Alzheimer’s because Mer sometimes forgets where her keys are and her mother succumbed to it four seasons ago – or twenty years ago in you’re using the Wonky Grey’s Anatomy time conversion kit. I am not buying the story arc the writers are tossing at MerDer. Neither of them are that sentimental. Next!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 5:27 pm

    I love India Arie’s version of this song and that’s the one I was hearing when I read your title lyrics, and THEN YOU POSTED IT. whoa.

  2. evmaroon permalink
    October 23, 2010 8:13 pm

    Huzzah for Meredith doing her own craniotomy surgery! Woo hoo!

  3. October 23, 2010 8:39 pm

    Remember when that guy who plays Owen was on that show where he traveled through time at “random” to “help people” causing tremendous strain on everything in his real life and nobody watched it so it was cancelled? I wish he would sporadically travel through time on Grey’s — except never come back.

  4. October 23, 2010 8:45 pm

    wait a minute, Lucius Vorenus is on Grey’s Anatomy?!? damn, i am so, so late.

  5. Chris permalink
    October 23, 2010 8:54 pm

    Ray, I think you mean Poseidon.

  6. October 23, 2010 9:05 pm

    ha! i had to google that, i’m so unfamiliar with percy jackson. i am, however, preparing to watch all of Journeyman on Hulu to fill in my education.

  7. October 23, 2010 9:21 pm

    I love India Arie’s version of this song and that’s the one I was hearing when I read your title lyrics, and THEN YOU POSTED IT. whoa.

    Man, bump DH, who darn near sideeyed me down a rusty escalator. I don’t know what i did to him! I love the Eagles.

  8. October 23, 2010 9:54 pm

    I suspect I only like McKidd as Vorenus, and I only like Vorenus with Titus Pullo. Mmm, Titus Pullo.

Leave a Reply

