Skip to content

Quick Pats of Butter: 21 Jump Street, Gwyneth Strong & Dyke DWTS

October 21, 2010

Today I saw my first preview of Gwyneth Paltrow’s new movie, Country Strong.  She plays an alcoholic country star, redemption path, new protege provides inspiration, competition, etc. etc.   I’m not sure if I was buying it.  To her credit, the movie projector was having problems during the preview, so the first 30 seconds were sound only, and I was NOT expecting to see Gwyneth’s face with that accent, so she wasn’t terrible, it was just hard to see past Gwyneth.  To clarify, I’m not saying Gwyneth can’t sing (I see you, Snarky!), I’m just not convinced by her singing country.  It was announced today that Gwyneth would be singing at the Country Music Awards, so we can see if the country world will buy it either.  I also wanted to link the news to that particular Star magazine entry, because they mangled the word “performed” in the title, and it stayed on google news for awhile that way.  Typos in your blog….Star — you’re just like us!

I saw the Gwyneth preview while at a matinee showing of Easy A (save your dollars and wait for Netflix Instant), where I spent much of the movie trying remember what other movie I knew Emma Stone from, but not able to place it.  Afterwards while scanning her IMDB entry (it was The House Bunny: I love it, don’t judge), I saw that she is listed as starring in the upcoming reboot of 21 Jump Street.  Was there a prophecy of this in a Fry Butter comment thread?  I might cast some runes and see what else lies ahead.

No cute segueway into this, but [I found one!] The 21 Jump Street reboot will also star Julianne Hough, former DWTS pro. Speaking of DWTS, my friend yayponies alerted me to the news that the Israeli version of Dancing With the Stars will have it’s first same sex couple!   One of the stars on the show will be Gili Shem Tov, a TV presenter (not sure what she presents), who is also a real-life lesbian.  The show paired her with a female professional (who is heterosexual, they point out).  Of course my favorite part of the article is that they will be alternating each week who gets to lead.  First off, that takes SKILLS.  The queer will have to go above and beyond expectation to win approval, as usual, but whatever, I bet she can do it.  I’m even going to look into finding that version of DWTS somewhere online so I can watch (and vote).  I’m a switch too, so I hope we’ll be favorably represented on the dancefloor!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 4:54 pm

    Re: Gwenie. Can you auto-tune country songs??? Or will Gwyneth end up sounding T-Pain or Roger? This entry was riddled with information information. I’m still trying to figure out what I feel about this reboot of 21 Jump Street. Are they gonna maintain the long 21 Jump Street tradition of casting people who look like they’re in their mid 30s as “undetectable high school narcs”? If so most of the original cast is holding up pretty good, course Holly is busy with her new stinky The View knockoff gabfest and Depp is busy being weird on someone else’s soundstage.

  2. October 21, 2010 5:26 pm

    well, I think Emma stone is approaching late 20s, so they might be on the right track!

    what’s Richard Grieco up to these days? he could play The Sarge.

  3. October 21, 2010 5:55 pm

    It was announced today that Gwyneth would be singing at the Country Music Awards, so we can see if the country world will buy it either.

    That should go over like a lead zeppelin. You have to actually SING on them shows. It’s like the BET/Soul Train Awards but with cowboy hats. They do not mess around! They will thrown beer cans at her.

    I also wanted to link the news to that particular Star magazine entry, because they mangled the word “performed” in the title, and it stayed on google news for awhile that way. Typos in your blog….Star — you’re just like us!

    HAHAH.

  4. hsofia permalink
    October 21, 2010 8:51 pm

    Last time I saw Richard Grieco he was making me feel itchy on Veronica Mars. Re a 21 Jump Street reboot, I wouldn’t watch it; it makes me mad! What’s the point of redoing shows for today’s teens who never saw the original? So that people in their 30s and 40s who watched it as young adults can review it and talk about it? Oh wait, maybe that’s the answer.

    Besides, when was the last really good rebooted (non game show) TV show?

    Regarding Country Strong – eeeeeeeeek. Either this movie is going to suck or it’s a case of a Bad Trailer Maker. I thought Paltrow sang fine in Duets but for heaven’s sakes it was about karaoke-sters. This lady is supposed to be dynamite and I’m not seeing it. The song is so-so but it might sound great if someone were able to really tear into it. The problem with Paltrow is she can sing all right (I’d be happy if I sang as well as she did), but there’s no fire or oomph or energy. Her voice is naptime pleasant and thin and just falls … it’s like flat somehow. That’s why the duet with Huey Lewis was more than just tolerable – you weren’t listening to her sing that whole song by herself!

    On the other hand … that Garrett Hedlund dude is pretty hunky. And I remember him from Four Brothers – he had to hold his own in scenes with Mark Wahlberg, Andre Benjamin, and Tyrese – not exactly shrinking violets onscreen – and the fact that I remember him says something. So I’ll look him up and see what other movies he’s in. I don’t want to see this Country Strong flick unless it gets really good reviews.

    And Gwyneth better watch it. Just because she’s blonde and pretty doesn’t mean she gets a pass. She’s married to a British guy and doesn’t (didn’t?) eat meat, and speaks SPANISH and is cosmopolitan – what exactly about her reads country? But who knows, maybe she’ll win them all over with her wan smile.

    BTW: I used to strongly dislike Gwyneth (thought she was overrated and overexposed), but grew to like her after seeing Sliding Doors. For some reason. So I’m not a hater, I’m just keeping it real. I’ll watch some of her movies, but I’m not buying any albums (or subscribing to Goop).

  5. October 21, 2010 10:05 pm

    the perfect post!!! Emma Stone, 21 Jump Street and a real life lesbian. Unfortunately Richard Grieco perished in a tragic Redbox vending machine accident.

  6. October 22, 2010 4:52 am

    Unfortunately Richard Grieco perished in a tragic Redbox vending machine accident.

    Was he renting If Looks Could Kill?

  7. October 22, 2010 4:57 am

    And Gwyneth better watch it. Just because she’s blonde and pretty doesn’t mean she gets a pass. She’s married to a British guy and doesn’t (didn’t?) eat meat, and speaks SPANISH and is cosmopolitan – what exactly about her reads country? But who knows, maybe she’ll win them all over with her wan smile.

    Gwyneth – like the Gyllenhaal kids – has a lot of good will because of her parents, the hardworking salt-of-the-industry people they are. Bruce Paltrow was a phenomenal television director whose credits include St. Elsewhere and H:LOTS and her mom Blythe Danner I seem to remember from a lot of TV Movies in the 70s and 80s. I don’t have a strong opinion of Gwyneth either way, though I do find her much more tolerable than most blonde actresses. Of course, she’s no Naomi Watts, but that’s a tall order for anyone, with or without blonde hair.

  8. October 22, 2010 8:11 am

    @1sttimeoffender: thanks!

    @hsofia: Besides, when was the last really good rebooted (non game show) TV show?

    Battlestar Galactica is all that comes to mind, but it’s like the exception that proves the rule, because seriously, that’s all I can think of in the way of reboots in the past 10 years that wasn’t terrible. Bionic Woman, Hawaii Five-0, V, 90210 — all ranging from bad to adequate at best.

    But who knows, maybe she’ll win them all over with her wan smile.

    Ha! I feel you on Gwyneth too — I don’t hate her, but I just feel like she has a limited range and this is skating right on past the warning signs.

  9. October 22, 2010 2:48 pm

    Offender jr and I just started watching battlestar on netflix. I wish someone had told me how awesome it was.

  10. October 22, 2010 2:50 pm

    Offender jr and I just started watching battlestar on netflix. I wish someone had told me how awesome it was.

    It’s really intense. Bless Netflix Instant View! What else are you and Offender Jr. watching?

  11. October 22, 2010 3:19 pm

    There are very few things we schedule to watch. I hate the idea of working our lives around what comes on and when. We watch everything together when we do watch. Except for Rescue Me ( my favorite show) and thats Zack and Cody crap( she is on her own with that b.s.). We watch Hellcats(she is 9 and likes ashley tisdale and cheerleaders and I like eye candy). We rarely miss the simpsons. I will watch 1 sporting event a week maybe 2. I love sports but I think its selfish to sit and watch something for three hours when we could be doing some thing else. We abuse the hell out of netflix though(watching when you want is awesome for us). Lois and Clark and now Battlestar ( I think we are on episode 11 now).

  12. hsofia permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:53 pm

    I haven’t seen Battlestar Galactica yet. I’m teetering on whether to start that or not (seeing as how it IS on Netflix Instant). Hubby’s seen it but he got really pissed off in one of the later seasons and just grumbles about it now.

  13. October 22, 2010 11:25 pm

    I think it’s worth the investment — it was imperfect in the ending, but paid off waaaaay better than Lost!

  14. October 22, 2010 11:27 pm

    @1sttimeoffender: remember when we would actually make ourselves be home every ______day night to see the latest episode of ______? yeah, me neither!!! i have a hard enough time watching just one show a week live (DWTS), and sometimes I don’t even do that, since they post them online overnight.

  15. October 22, 2010 11:51 pm

    Yes I do, once entertainment dictates to the user when you will be entertained, it loses its appeal. Watching a good show shouldn’t be a chore. I have watched weeds and breaking bad all on dvd. I want it at my convenience not some networks trying to sell me a Prius.

Leave a Reply

