Skip to content
20 Comments leave one →
  1. hsofia permalink
    October 21, 2010 2:48 pm

    Every time I hear “I Go Crazy” it takes about a minute for me to start singing “Into the Night” in my head. For some reason, their melodies are crosswired in my brain.

  2. October 21, 2010 3:20 pm

    This is the grandmammy of nostalgia songs… even when I was a kid, it used to make me yearn for the hours I’d yet to spend singing and dancing in the tavern.

  3. October 21, 2010 3:24 pm

    this song about relationship nostalgia makes me feel nostalgic for my earnest teen years when i fell in love with this song!

  4. October 21, 2010 3:27 pm

  5. October 21, 2010 3:54 pm

    I feel y’all!

    Shut it down, Michael!!!

  6. October 21, 2010 3:57 pm

    Another bearded gent for Raymond!

    This is another of those songs that evokes “Raybear” whenever I hear it.

  7. October 21, 2010 4:34 pm

    BERTIE!

    damn, I don’t think I’ve heard that Joe Walsh song in forever. I’d be tempted to karaoke it, but there’s 6 minutes of instrumental and 2 minutes of singing! same problem as Styx’s Renegade.

  8. October 21, 2010 4:41 pm

    I raise you this beard:

  9. October 21, 2010 4:45 pm

    omg, that sax solo is STILL going……

  10. October 21, 2010 4:57 pm

    damn, I don’t think I’ve heard that Joe Walsh song in forever. I’d be tempted to karaoke it, but there’s 6 minutes of instrumental and 2 minutes of singing! same problem as Styx’s Renegade.

    HAHAHA. So true. I’ve tried the abridged version of Renegade, but I got wore OUT with the crunching guitar solos. I used all my sauce to get through the talk singing intro/letter to mom.

    omg, that sax solo is STILL going……

    LOL. This made me laugh so damn hard.

  11. October 21, 2010 5:22 pm

    Is Ringo’s “It Don’t Come Easy” about nostalgia? Otherwise it’s just the three beatles.

  12. October 21, 2010 7:39 pm

    “My Brave Face” was all over the radio during the summer of 1989, then it just disappeared forever. For a late-era McCartney song, it wasn’t bad.

    This song was all over radio around the same time, too, and I never hear it anymore except in the supermarket:

  13. October 22, 2010 4:50 am

    So this is another faded gem that Ray Ray and I need to add to our Karaoke review.

    @Kathy – Oh yes! The summer of ’89!!! My Brave Face and Queen’s Breakthrough were the only songs I ever remember. I actually think that P-Mac’s Flowers in the Dirt is one of the best albums he’s ever made. It’s fantastic.

  14. October 22, 2010 8:25 am

    @Kathy — whoa, does that take me back! Next to OMD’s Enola Gay, Pure has my favorite infectious hook. I used to play that song over and over and over. It affected me the same way Sixpence’s Kiss Me did in the 90s… a song which also seems to be in heavy supermarket rotation these days.

  15. October 22, 2010 8:37 am

    Another classic nostalgia song, sung by the one and only Jerry Orbach! Bonus intro by Tom Bosley!

    As many times as I’ve heard this song, I didn’t realize that Orbach had the first recording of it, from the original off-off-Broadway cast album of the Fantasticks!

  16. eieioj permalink
    October 22, 2010 9:32 am

    What, no Glory Days from The Boss?

  17. October 22, 2010 9:34 am

    @eieioj – I have to save some low hanging fruit otherwise it’s no fun!

  18. hsofia permalink
    October 22, 2010 12:16 pm

    @raymondj – I love “Celebrate Me Home.” That opening line, “Home for the holidays …” oh now I’ve got to put on my greatest hits of Kenny Loggins CD. I love his voice.

    When I read this post, the two nostalgic songs I thought of immediately were 80s Back by Luck-One (he is my actual brother, and I love to hear him perform it live):

    And of course, DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince’s Summertime (excuse the corny fan video – BMG/Sony won’t let the official video live on YouTube):

  19. October 22, 2010 2:28 pm

    When I read this post, the two nostalgic songs I thought of immediately were 80s Back by Luck-One (he is my actual brother, and I love to hear him perform it live):

    Oooh! That’s so awesome!

  20. October 23, 2010 8:11 pm

    My love for Summertime by DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince is so deep that I once had a 4 hour long fight with a girlfriend who wouldn’t let me play in on a road trip because her “mom really played it out” when she was a kid. Don’t fight with me because your mom is more awesome than you!

    (Or maybe I should have examined why I had a girlfriend who’s mom and I had more in common than we did.)

Leave a Reply

