Skip to content

DWTS: Best Dance Ever

October 20, 2010

this is not from DWTS, I just like this photo of Ms. Henderson.

Oh, Mrs. Brady, you were just getting started.  I’d really hoped you’d outlast Bristol Palin, but when I watched the segment about preparing for the tango to the Brady Bunch song (it was tv-theme week on the show) and you brought in Barry Williams who made awkward advances at you, I had a feeling she might lose some of her voting bloc — sexy Mrs. Brady is one thing, but sexy Mrs. Brady flirting with TV son might be too much for the ABC set.  Henderson dedicated her dance afterwards to Robert Reed, aka Mr. Brady, who died of AIDS-related illness, and when she said this live, I could hear the air get sucked out of the celebriquarium as Brooke Bland panicked.  She does not have the skills to react to statements in general, much less ones that require sensitivity.  Luckily she had her trusty phrase “let’s get a look at your scores” to fall back on.

Florence received straight 7s, her highest scores of the season, her Best Dance Ever!  Unfortunately, they weren’t enough.  Also in the bottom three where Derek and Jennifer (is America’s crush on her dancing waning?) and Cheryl and Rick.  I suspect the latter couple might be next to go, which is a shame, since they’ve had a couple breakthroughs in their dancing.  The rumba to the Hill Street Blues theme (I see you, Snarky) made me feel a little uncomfortable, which means the judges thought it was super sexy.  Watch what happens in those police locker rooms after hours:

Brandy, who had a breakthrough last week, continued to do well with a quickstep that scored straight 9s.

If she keeps this up, she has a chance at the finals.  We’re halfway through this dancing race, and unlike the past couple seasons, it’s not completely obvious who will make it to the top three.  This makes the home-game version a little more exciting, though it also makes me wistful for those stunning dances that blow us out of the water.  ABC producers must be aware of this gap too, so they are running a contest to vote for the top 10 dances, based on 30 dances they determined to be nominees.   I love a countdown — I know it’s an easy form of entertainment, but I really wish there would instead be revealing the top 10 dances in DWTS history that received the most votes.  Unfortunately, this probably mean the list would contain numbers primarily from the past few seasons, as the audience for the show had increased with each passing season, but only if they’re using raw numbers, they could instead rank based on percentage of total votes, so it wouldn’t matter what the total audience numbers were.  Just a suggestion, ABC.

I watched last night’s show with a fellow DWTS fan and during the discussion of Best Dances Ever, her vote for favorite dance was Cheryl Burke and Gilles Marini doing the Argentine Tango a couple seasons ago:

Watching it again, I realized that dance really sealed my love for Cheryl Burke, actually.  I suspect the top 10 could be heavy on Argentine Tangos, they are often the most dramatic and compelling.  I have a strong distaste for Evan Lysacek, but even I can’t front on how much I liked his version with Anna Trebunskya to “Bust Your Windows”.

My top ten would be heavy on Paso Dobles. I’ve mentioned a hundred times how much I love two of Derek’s dances, his dance from the future with Johanna Krupa and his 50s rockabilly one with Nicole Scherzinger.   I’m posting the latter one again anyway, because I seriously love it so.  Even Len agrees.

It never gets old.  Just like Florence Henderson.

~~~~~

Ok, all you hardcore DWTS fans, what are your favorite dances from the past 11 seasons?  Take us down memory lane.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. JHud permalink
    October 20, 2010 11:02 am

    Raymond-o. You wrote “flirting” but the embedded picture clearly shows junk-cupping, maybe even junk-fondling. awkward. Oedipal-cheese is stinky.

  2. October 20, 2010 11:09 am

    The rumba to the Hill Street Blues theme (I see you, Snarky) made me feel a little uncomfortable, which means the judges thought it was super sexy. Watch what happens in those police locker rooms after hours:

    Just does not compute. LOLOL.

  3. October 20, 2010 11:14 am

    I cannot stop laughing at Rick Fox and the abomination that is the theme from Hill Street Blues. Right now, Tom Fontana’s getting a good chuckle that they shunned the St. Elsewhere theme, which would have easily made for a saucy dance number. I know I danced that bad boy.

  4. Sandra C. Muñoz permalink
    October 20, 2010 11:18 am

    “Brook Bland” Don’t tell me you miss Samantha Harris? Seriously, please don’t tell me that!

  5. October 20, 2010 11:38 am

    I would never believe that a DWTS contestant would have to dance to the Hill Street Blues theme song, unless the clip existed. That’s truly bizarre…

    …as are Flo-Ho’s cheekbones, I’m sad to say. Very Jigsaw-esque. They’re so distracting it’s hard to focus on anything else. Too bad she had to depart before Bristol though.

  6. October 20, 2010 11:47 am

    Is that one of the Brady children having their junk being groped? Oh dearness.

  7. hsofia permalink
    October 20, 2010 12:04 pm

    Oh god, I could not watch that Hill Street blues piece. Rick Fox circulating his waist to that piano music was just not on the sight menu for today.

  8. October 20, 2010 12:06 pm

    @JHud and @snarky: that photo has nothing to do with DWTS, I just liked how dirty she is in it!!!!

    @Sandra: I never thought I would ever utter the phrase “I miss Samantha Harris”, but seriously, Brooke is so terrible it makes me consider saying it!!

    @popscribblings: do you think Flo-Hen has work done? at the discussion last night, we didn’t think she really had, and thought her cheekbones might be naturally that way. but maybe we’re naive.

  9. October 20, 2010 12:09 pm

    @hsofia: I’m having the opposite problem — I can’t stop watching it! it’s a sickness.

  10. October 20, 2010 12:12 pm

    Lil Kim had a great argentine tango with Derek too.

  11. Chi permalink
    October 20, 2010 12:41 pm

    In my memory, nothing will top Drew Lachey’s Thriller paso. It made me jump up and yell.
    I recall that they re-performed it a few times, and it didn’t have quite the same punch, so I don’t know how it would directly compare with something like Gilles & Cheryl’s best dances.

    I wish more winners were like Drew – growing and becoming great on the show itself. Winners like Kristi and Nicole coming in with such huge advantage in training and talent were never inspiring for me, even though I really grew to like Nicole because she took such obvious joy in it (plus Derek’s amazing work).

  12. October 20, 2010 12:47 pm

    Chi, that is a great paso, too. I think it holds up!

    I agree with you, I like seeing a dancer progress and get better — that’s why Kelly Osbourne kept our interest, I think. She came out and surprised us by doing well the first dance, then she had some shakey weeks, but kept steadily improving and transforming herself as a dancer. I would love a competition where we had 3 or 4 of those per season. not just one. (But like you, I grew to like watching Nicole and Derek too, just because they were so undeniably talented and joyful together.)

  13. renniejoy permalink
    October 20, 2010 2:05 pm

    Mel B. and Maks dancing paso doble to “Free Your Mind” – just beautiful!

  14. cara permalink
    October 20, 2010 2:12 pm

    im glad that she dedicated it to “mr brady”

  15. October 20, 2010 2:30 pm

    cara, it was a very sweet moment to hear.

    renniejoy, that clip really makes me want to do an all paso doble post! then again, this might be that post already.

  16. October 20, 2010 2:34 pm

    I think, Jennifer & Derek’s placement in the bottom 3 (which we must remember is manipulation, not necessarily a reflection of votes, and they always drop a top couple in the red light midway through the season as hype) notwithstanding, the top 3 are pretty clear now to be them, Audrina & Tony and Brandy & Maks, though apparently Kurt Warner has some huge undeserved fan base that keeps putting his jerky self through, which could be dangerous.

    I remain continually disheartened by people voting Bristol through. She just stopped dancing for three bars of her song this week, and Florence goes with a personal best score? People voting for Bristol are clearly the sort of people who voted for her mother: for them, qualifications do not matter.

    Speaking of qualifications, can we drop Brooke Bland and get Drew Lachey back as the co-host? His time filling in when Samantha was on maternity leave was a lot of fun, and he has screen presence that Brooke can only dream of.

  17. October 20, 2010 3:02 pm

    I guess Audrina still seems like a maybe to me, she could either bloom or falter — same with Brandy. Kyle has the potential to breakthrough, I think, though maybe I’m overestimating Lacey’s popularity, too. And yeah, what is up with Kurt Warner? I underestimated his fan base and how much judges like him too.

    I think I prefer when DWTS is showing during American Idol, because maybe there are less young bored voters clogging up the queue, outnumbering people who vote based on the performances week to week (plus our personal preferences). I have certainly voted for people I personally disliked, but they won me over with their dancing, but I suspect I’m in a minority now.

  18. October 20, 2010 3:33 pm

    I think, Jennifer & Derek’s placement in the bottom 3 (which we must remember is manipulation, not necessarily a reflection of votes, and they always drop a top couple in the red light midway through the season as hype) notwithstanding, the top 3 are pretty clear now to be them, Audrina & Tony and Brandy & Maks, though apparently Kurt Warner has some huge undeserved fan base that keeps putting his jerky self through, which could be dangerous.

    Kurt Warner annoys me to NO END. Ugh. He can take his jerky attitude and his sometimey “god” and get hell up on out of here.

  19. Chi permalink
    October 20, 2010 10:34 pm

    Ooh, another early season favorite – Monique & Louis. Here’s the dance that sticks in my head from her – where she leapt *backwards* off the stage into his arms (if I can embed this right). I couldn’t remember which dance it was, but I remembered the yellow dress and scrolled until I found it. This is fun!

  20. October 20, 2010 10:52 pm

    daaaamn, that was awesome. and look how brunette Louis was!!

Leave a Reply

