Skip to content
12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 2:34 pm

    I didn’t even click on Tennessee. I was afraid it would get stuck in my head for the rest of the day. 😉

  2. October 9, 2010 2:36 pm

    I have to say that since rap is basically an “urban” expression, it’s not easy to find raps about whole states (except states that have several big cities, like California). So, that’s a toughie. Even New York doesn’t really work because… who’s rapping about Buffalo or Syracuse? No, when you’re talking about NY, as Mayor Giuliani pointed out to Governor Pataki on that post 9/11 episode of SNL, “We’re talking city, not state!”

    But great choices here. And I guess whole states would get the rap treatment if they were critically bad, like the Arizona rap from Public Enemy. In that sense, I wonder why the entire south doesn’t have dozens of raps about it!

  3. October 9, 2010 2:50 pm

    instead, there are love songs:

  4. October 9, 2010 2:52 pm

    @Krista: I didn’t have to click on it for it to already happen to me!!!

  5. eieioj permalink
    October 9, 2010 3:16 pm

    I can’t think of any with the name of the state in the title, but there was Petey Pablo’s “Raise Up” about NC:

  6. October 9, 2010 3:18 pm

    @eieioj: did you see the movie Drumline? his cameo with that song made me crack up.

  7. October 9, 2010 4:50 pm

    And I am still thirsty! Count me as another who was afraid to get “Tennessee” stuck in my head!

    I couldn’t leave this one alone!

  8. October 9, 2010 4:52 pm

    I agree with Dean. Unless your state is whack, or the MC has uneasy relationship with the state, most of the time the song are about a city or neighborhood. I swear there are a million songs about ATL and they all seem to be by Outkast.

  9. October 9, 2010 5:20 pm

    I wish there was a Kansas hip hop song. I guess wheatfields and the yellow brick road* aren’t hardcore enough. There are a lot of songs with “Kansas City” in them but that feels like its more than cheating. Kansas City isn’t even IN Kansas.

    *The Yellow Brick Road is not in Kansas. It was in Oz which is NOT in Kansas which is why Dorothy specifically tells us she’s not in Kansas anymore. This is a large portion of why I don’t understand Wizard of Oz jokes about Kansas.

  10. October 10, 2010 11:50 am

    Chris, I was almost secretly hoping for a Nelly song about Missouri, but he just sticks to St. Louis. Maybe he could do one of those Kansas City songs. And I promise to not bring Wizard of Oz into the discussion when they are up on the roster!

  11. October 10, 2010 10:25 pm

    Without even doing a mild google search I know there are no hip hop anthems reppin’ Burlington, Vermont. And with good reason. We don’t even get BET!

  12. October 16, 2010 1:08 pm

    West Coast is definitely Cali. Nothing for the states of Oregon or Washington or their cities. Must be all that rain.

Leave a Reply

