Skip to content

Recap: Grey’s Anatomy – 7.3 – “Superfreak”

October 8, 2010

Oh snap, y’all. Spoilers are a helluva drug…

When I make my move to her room it’s the right time…

Cristina and Meredith step up the ladybonding with hilarious results. Owen’s on call, and instead of making it a Blockbuster night (too soon?) Cristina decides she’ll go crash at Mer’s house – like the old days! Except, well now Mer’s Post-It married and Derek’s sleeping soundly next to her. No worries. Mer pats the space next to her and Cristina crawls into bed. Once artfully arranged, naturally Derek wakes up, palms around his marital bed for his wife and discovers an extra body! Proving himself to be the ultimate anti-Sloan, Derek sighs and goes back to sleep. Derek later evokes the little known “E.T. ladyfriendship clause” to explain away his resignation to Owen like this, “you and I are like the government guys in the white Hazmat suits. We try to steer them in the right direction, but in the end we just don’t understand.” Surprisingly, Owen has both seen E.T. and accepts Derek’s prognosis as accurate. I wish I would try to explain some complex human behavior with some fatuous E.T. logic. I don’t think half the people I encounter online would know what the hell I was talking about and would be demanding sources and maps to Spielberg’s house.

When I get there she’s got incense, wine and candles

Oh Teddy Altman! Teddy’s three episode boyfriend is gigatity gone! Girl, you got caught up. Stop listening to Arizona and Callie! They are about as helpful as Grey’s Anatomy writers in terms of steering you towards a story arc worthy of your character. Listen to Bailey; well except when she’s screaming in the OR like 3rd season Mulder. Teddy, you in danger, girl. Didn’t you read all the season seven spoilers and casting notes? Perkins was only slated to appear in THREE episodes. Honey, he was your “red shirt lover”, but at least you got to say goodbye.

He (She) says that I’m his (her) all-time favorite

Alex is either rocking 8th grade dance cologne – Drakkar – or he’s been running up and down the stairs in order to avoid the elevator where he dragged his gunshot riddled body in an ill-fated attempt at a best supporting Emmy. Yeah, I’d be scared of elevators after that too. Because according to the Chief, Alex smells like ass. Fortunately, the newly returned Chief, has nothing to do, but model his endless collection of expensive sweaters, clearly STOLEN from my dad’s closet. Seriously, La Mommie, you might want to take inventory. For some reason, I was always under the impression there was only one elevator at Seattle Grace. Apparently, I’m wrong, because the Chief and Alex spend the bulk of the episode like surgical hobos riding up and down the elevator with no clear destination. Remember, the road to healing is a journey, not a destination. No sign of any kerchiefs tied to sticks.

Surgical elevator riding hobo Alex and 50 ton whoop ass drum wielder April

She’s all right, she’s all right, That girl’s all right with me, yeah

One of this week’s medical cases involved a woman with something in her lungs. The something turned out to be a condom, which came as quite a shock to her fiancée who believed she was a virgin. It’s okay though, because she inhaled the condom during her bachelorette party so the couple was able to love again and resume wedding prep. Old School Grey’s would have the woman end up dying anyway because her fiancée was being jerky, but they didn’t. Shadow Shepherd/April laid the smack down. Despite being doctors and seeing any number of medical mysteries and miracles, the idea of April choosing to be a virgin was beyond comprehension. Well April might not know much about sexual activity, but she seemed to know an awful lot about opening a 50 ton drum of verbal whoop ass, which she did, calling out all those haters and earning an unnecessary, “I really like this girl,” from Meredith. April had me last season at “little red notebook”. She has great taste in office supplies.

Temptations sing!

Derek has a sister named Amelia. Amelia is also a neurosurgeon. It’s kind of like how lots of the people in my family are also black. Amelia is “hot” because she told us so. Mark can’t think about her that way because he told us so. Later Mark/Dr. Sloan/Derek’s best friend/McSteamy and Dr. Amelia Shepherd will go at it like lions on Wild Kingdom and unfortunately it’ll happen right about the time Lexie finishes applying her last layer of lip gloss in the hallway of Mark’s apartment. Oops.

Wait! what about McSteamy? What about HPV warts? What about Jackson? What about Dr. Amelia Shepard? What about Bailey…If you want more, be sure to check out the Grey’s Anatomy round table!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 12:45 pm

    This episode was so full of “oh snap!” moments. But I think my favorite moment was when Derek finally decided that even if he didn’t like Cristina, she was family and so he needed to take care of her (and by extension, his yanno actual family member, to whom he spent 40 minutes being a jerk). I also liked that his attempt to cure her, while different than Owen’s, was no more effective. I am getting a little nervous about whether Cristina will ever get over the shooting, but hey, that’s how the world turns.

  2. evmaroon permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:54 pm

    I have no doubt that Cristina will be whiling away plenty more hours in a thoracic-focused setting, but my girl’s just taking a break right now.

    Two of my favorite words of the episode: ATTACHMENT BARBIE. Oh my word, that was perfect!

    What’s with ABC and the plumbers this week? First there’s a plumber stuck in the bathroom on Modern Family and then plumbing as an alternative option for Dr. Yang? Is Disney being paid by the Association to Mention Plumbing in Television?

    And wow, I was maybe not ready to hear everyone’s tale of losing their virginity. Yowzers, Dr. Avery!

  3. October 8, 2010 1:39 pm

    Yeah really, a little TMI in that scene! Woah to the nelly.

    I think we’re going to see Cristina back behind the scalpel again, but it’ll take some time. Can Grey’s walk that nice fine line between dragging it out too long and reminding viewers that you don’t recover from trauma in a day?

  4. October 8, 2010 2:11 pm

    @s.e. – I am wondering how they’re going to achieve that balance. H:LOTS had a similar challenge when one of its own had a serious medical complication. It was difficult for viewers to allow the healing process to unfold in a holistic manner. I think Grey’s writers will find that sweet spot, particularly the ones who are alums from Six Feet Under.

    @Everett – Jackson Avery! Lawd, he’s going to be a lot more interesting to watch in the coming weeks. And Attachment Barbie. Finally some Teddy worthy lines! Now if they can just get Teddy an apartment, some backstory and it’s not too much to ask, perhaps a family (she came from a sperm and an egg, right?) we’d be cooking with gas. I mean we’ve already seen Owen’s ex fiancee.

  5. October 8, 2010 6:29 pm

    @Everett, I loved this point you made:

    And I wonder why there was a queer erasure in talking about virginity, since it was only framed as intercourse, and it was only discussed by the straight characters.

    Definitely a point that got overshadowed with those fatuous commenters.

  6. October 8, 2010 6:32 pm

    Was it just me, or was this a particularly sex-negative episode? Sex threatens a marriage, sex turns you into a freak, sex embarrasses your roomies, sex makes someone else sad, sex makes boys brag about their experiences and makes everyone bully the virgins.

  7. Acceptable permalink
    October 8, 2010 9:29 pm

    ” It’s kind of like how lots of the people in my family are also black.”

    That sentence owns me. I love your recaps! (and the roundtables).

    What is H:LOTS?When trying to figure out my brain decided it is Hospital: Land of the Sick, which seems unlikely to be anything, but now I can’t think it’s anything but that.

    I am glad that there they are showing long term effects of their trauma, but I am worried about Cristina.

    I would agree that it was a pretty sex negative episode in many ways. Though the evidence of Callie and Arizona’s happy sex life pleased me.

  8. October 9, 2010 6:06 pm

    Because I have resorted to watching Greys in real time at the gym because gym memberships are cheaper than cable, and also because I am a fat kid who also watches 30 Rock, I was somewhat distracted by my own heavy breathing after over an hour of cardio and missed the Arizona/Callie scene which is now the low point of my week.

    In other news, I screamed with Bailey when that spider crawled out. I’m sorry but no matter what you’ve seen and been through, there are some things that you are just not ready for – but how did that spider get in there to begin with?

  9. October 9, 2010 6:16 pm

    @Chris: I was wondering that too. I thought it was going to hold the key to a better medical intervention. Turned out it was just a cheap shot. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

