Skip to content

Friday Fashion Flash: Late Night Edition

October 8, 2010

Left to right: 3.1 Philip Lim, Dolce & Gabbana, Lanvin

I was inspired by my date last night to do a feature on some nightlife looks for both fatshionistas and nonfatshionistas. Drawing from the runway looks (which, being expensive and intricately made, are hard to duplicate), and using the color and style as a springboard, I came up with these selections that will have you looking discolicious in no time.


Clockwise from top: ASOS Curve Twisted Red Velvet Dress, Evans black sequined hanky hem top, ASOS Curve Frill Sleeve Blue Tunic Dress, See by Chloe Black Sequined Dress, Diane Von Furstenberg Yadira tulle wrap dress, Fergalicious by Fergie Red Peep Toe Pumps, Torrid Black Sparkle One Shoulder Dress.

Stay classy and stay singing “I Love the Nightlife”, because that’s what I was singing in my head as I wrote this.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. freakysparks permalink
    October 9, 2010 1:52 am

    I love the fashion in this post, and also Alicia Bridges’ in that video. She was ahead of her time!

  2. October 9, 2010 7:28 am

    That shoe is very close to my platonic ideal of shoes. Too bad I can’t acquire a pair because they don’t go down to size five!

  3. October 9, 2010 8:49 am

    I love that you included a soundtrack with your post! I still sometimes like to say “ACK-shuun” the way Alicia Bridges does. I wonder if she’s still DJing in lesbian nightclubs in Atlanta.

  4. October 9, 2010 12:39 pm

    I love that you included a soundtrack with your post! I still sometimes like to say “ACK-shuun” the way Alicia Bridges does. I wonder if she’s still DJing in lesbian nightclubs in Atlanta.

    Yes! Definitely pronounce it, “ACK-shuun”. So was I the only person who was surprised to discover Ms. Bridges was uh, white? I had a whole different picture in my head. Something in the Nona Hendrix family.

  5. October 9, 2010 12:57 pm

    SM: I used to think she was black, too!

    Ray: I seriously was singing it the whole time I put together the post.

    s.e.: I have the opposite problem, I wear size 11 and very few cute shoes go up to that size.

  6. Kia permalink
    October 9, 2010 7:14 pm

    I love to wear sequins but usually chicken out and only wear it as an accent. Maybe I’ll take the plunge this season as I’m revamping my wardrobe and trying to change things up.

    And as a kid I assumed Alicia Bridges, France Joli and whoever sang More, More, More where all black.

  7. evmaroon permalink
    October 10, 2010 1:55 am

    Let’s hear it for women with size 11 feet! This is why good cobblers are good friends to make…they can often duplicate the shoes you want in the sizes you need, for less than you think it would cost…

    I love soundtracks, too! Thanks for putting that one in my head, Tasha!

  8. thepants permalink
    October 10, 2010 2:09 am

    @tasha fierce- I just saw several pairs of shoes very similar to the ones in your post on a supply site for drag queens. Queens always have the very best shoes (I’m about to direct my local drag troupe’s X-mas extravaganza so I’ve been shopping). Try Drag Factory.

  9. IrishUp permalink
    October 12, 2010 9:21 am

    I would be happy to be seen doing the walk of shame in ANY of those delish dresses, though leaning heavily towards the red crushed velvet number. YUMMM!

    @ Kia “More More More” is the Andrea True Connection; I love that song!

    John Fluevog is my favorite shoe designer. His styles always go up to the large sizes; these are also usually the ones that can be found on sale. The price-point is high, but lasting value, handmade shoes that provide the shoe makers living wages, benefits & good working conditions, and the sale prices put them in the same range as say, 9 West.
    http://www.fluevog.com/index.html

  10. Kawika permalink
    October 12, 2010 10:37 pm

    It’s 1978 and I’m roller skating backwards under what seem like 17 disco balls and hopefully in that Evans black sequined hanky hem top. I was sassy!

  11. October 13, 2010 8:59 am

    Kawika, I would like to see you recreate that tableau today!

Leave a Reply

