Skip to content

Friday Fashion Flash: 2 More Trends You Can Rock

October 1, 2010

Left to right: Alexander Wang, Ann Demulemeester, Alexander Wang

All Black Everything is the philosophy I stand behind, and the goth look is having a well-deserved return to the spotlight. While I can’t afford the unimaginably luxe looks above, I did poke around and find a few things that get the job done at a lower price point (for thins and fats):


Clockwise from top: Carmakoma Chung dress, ASOS Curve 3/4 Sleeve Empire Maxi Dress, REPORT Aster shoes, Elizabeth & James Alexandra silk-chiffon blouse,
Acne Moholy leather skirt.

Left to right: Ann Demulemeester, Maison Martin Margiela, Marc Jacobs

Just like my love of leopard print, my love of fur knows no season. But apparently this season fur is all the rage again, so I lucked out. I’d die for a recycled fur coat or even a faux fur coat as decadent as the ones above. Alas, I’m not so monetarily advantaged and I’m guessing you’re not either (but if you are, I’ll e-mail you my PayPal address!), so here’s some less expensive yet still furry selections.


Clockwise from top: Forever 21 faux fur skirt, Evans gray faux fur coat, Evans reversible vest, Robert Rodriguez faux fur and leather skirt, Democracy of Nevermind faux fur vest.

Hope you enjoyed these selections. Stay classy, fry butts!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 9:09 pm

    I love that Alexander Wang striped skirt on the far right! And that Evans gray faux fur.

    I have a bear coat that I acquired from someone else’s family, and it fits me like a glove, though I’ve never worn it in public. It is full-length, and I feel like I should be shaking a pennant at an ivy league homecoming football game in 1937.

  2. October 1, 2010 9:14 pm

    oh wait, i guess those are raccoon coats, not bear coats. mine looks better than this!

  3. October 1, 2010 9:23 pm

    I have a bear coat that I acquired from someone else’s family, and it fits me like a glove, though I’ve never worn it in public. It is full-length, and I feel like I should be shaking a pennant at an ivy league homecoming football game in 1937.

    LOL!!!

    I’m excited that black is back in fashion – not that it ever goes away – because it was getting too expensive to pair gray clothes together, since none of the retailers could agree on which gray was “the gray” of the season.

  4. October 1, 2010 10:15 pm

    I have no shame, I’ll wear two different shades of gray together.

    I wish that Robert Rodriguez faux fur skirt came in my size!

  5. October 1, 2010 10:16 pm

    And Ray I love that you have a bear coat. Give it some use!

  6. October 1, 2010 10:38 pm

    Um…. was Goth ever out of fashion? Seriously, I love that Alexander Wang dress… I would never feel comfortable wearing it, but I love it.

    I’m glad the fur thing is back in; I have a knee-length purple suede coat with a pimpin’ purple faux fur collar. And it needs wearing. I hope I can still get my arms to fit in it.

  7. evmaroon permalink
    October 1, 2010 11:43 pm

    I want to see you take a similar picture to that model, Raymond, and put it up as your Facebook profile photo!

    I appreciate black as fashion, Tasha. Can I ask a silly question? Can I wear black jeans?

  8. October 1, 2010 11:47 pm

    Goth. Oh. Yes. I think I really need that Asos dress. I have one that’s similar but it is so damn old. At any rate Old Goth is Old and very pleased.

  9. IrishUp permalink
    October 2, 2010 10:14 am

    ZOMFG BLACK LEATHER AND FUR SKIRTS EXIST!!!!!!!!! I need some smelling salts over here!
    Coming from NYC, black is what we wear – at least until someone invents something darker. I adore that tunic top with the cowl neck.

  10. Kia permalink
    October 2, 2010 12:44 pm

    @raymondj count me in for wanting a picture of the bear coat.

    I’ve never been black to the max fashion wise so taking color out of my wardrobe has been an experiment on the wild side. I’ve ordered a bunch of stuff that should come in the next week or so and I hope to feel chic and not funereal!

Leave a Reply

